5b2: Unable to open listen socket for [v1.::1]:631 SOLVED

This forum is dedicated to advanced help and support :

Ask here your questions about advanced usage of Mageia. For example you may post here all your questions about network and automated installs, complex server configurations, kernel tuning, creating your own Mageia mirrors, and all tasks likely to be touchy even for skilled users.

5b2: Unable to open listen socket for [v1.::1]:631 SOLVED

Postby bittwister » Jan 23rd, '15, 11:49

I am unable to communicate with my HP_Photoshop_C3100 series usb printer.
It appears it wants an inv6 address. System is set for ipv4 addresses.
The basic error is:
Unable to open listen socket for address [v1.::1]:631

Clean install of Mageia-5-beta2-x86_64-DVD.iso
No problems running in Mageia release 4 vanilla install.

tried localhost:631 in cups conf file. Still wants ipv6.

Code: Select all
$ grep localhost /etc/hosts
127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost


Code: Select all
$ cat  /etc/sysconfig/network
NEEDHOSTNAME=no
NETWORKING=yes
HOSTNAME=wb.hom.test
CRDA_DOMAIN=US
IPV6_AUTOCONF=no


Code: Select all
$ route -n
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
0.0.0.0         192.168.0.1     0.0.0.0         UG    10     0        0 enp3s0
169.254.0.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.0.0     U     10     0        0 enp3s0
192.168.0.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U     10     0        0 enp3s0


Suggestions anyone?
Last edited by bittwister on Jan 24th, '15, 22:54, edited 2 times in total.
bittwister
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Oct 5th, '13, 21:48

Re: 5b2: Unable to open listen socket for address [v1.::1]:6

Postby jiml8 » Jan 23rd, '15, 16:51

Why are you attempting to establish a network connection to a USB device?
jiml8
 
Posts: 1253
Joined: Jul 7th, '13, 18:09

Re: 5b2: Unable to open listen socket for address [v1.::1]:6

Postby doktor5000 » Jan 23rd, '15, 20:40

Please show the output of
Code: Select all
getent hosts localhost

and relevant lines of your /etc/cups/printers.conf

Apart from that, hostname should not be configured in /etc/sysconfig/network
Best use either hostnamectl to set it or put only the short hostname into /etc/hostname
and in /etc/hosts in the format
Code: Select all
127.0.0.1 yourshorthostname localhost

and any further aliases that you want to use at the end of the line.
localhost.locadomain should not be used - according to your route output, there seems also avahi running, and avahi will handle requests against .local domain
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 17659
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: 5b2: Unable to open listen socket for address [v1.::1]:6

Postby bittwister » Jan 24th, '15, 11:41

jiml8 wrote:Why are you attempting to establish a network connection to a USB device?


I am trying to print a text file my HP_Photoshop_C3100 series usb printer.
Guessing the first time the printer comes up maybe the HP driver is trying to push some firmware to the printer.
bittwister
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Oct 5th, '13, 21:48

Re: 5b2: Unable to open listen socket for address [v1.::1]:6

Postby bittwister » Jan 24th, '15, 12:49

doktor5000 wrote:Please show the output of getent hosts localhost and relevant lines of your /etc/cups/printers.conf


Code: Select all
# grep 1 /etc/cups/printers.conf | egrep -v "\#|Time"
<DefaultPrinter HP_Photosmart_C3100_series>
UUID urn:uuid:2742c291-5731-3854-4e9f-e44e86aa683b
DeviceURI hp:/usb/Photosmart_C3100_series?serial=CN65FB21RJ04KV


Code: Select all
$ getent hosts localhost
::1             localhost


Now that just bites and is a bit of a lie if I understand getent usage correctly because there are no ipv6 values for localhost.
Code: Select all
$ grep loc /etc/hosts
127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost


Apart from that, hostname should not be configured in /etc/sysconfig/network


Heheh, out of the box install puts it there. Only reason I showed /etc/sysconfig/network was to show I had disabled some ipv6 stuff.

Best use either hostnamectl to set it

Oh NO, surly NOT a systemd gotcha. :-(

or put only the short hostname into /etc/hostname

Hmmm, not the short name. During network setup section of install, you/I always enter the FQDN which will set it both /etc/sysconfig/network (since Mandrake/Mandriva) and. /etc/hostname (Mageia 3, I think) unless your setup is getting the domain from some upstream source.

and in /etc/hosts in the format
Code: Select all
127.0.0.1 yourshorthostname localhost

and any further aliases that you want to use at the end of the line.
localhost.locadomain should not be used - according to your route output, there seems also avahi running, and avahi will handle requests against .local domain


Hm, been using "127.0.0.1 localhost.locadomain localhost" on all my installs and I think had enabled avahi to see if would help and forgot to disable it and reboot before posting.

Looking in my VirtualBox mga5b2 with /etc/hosts which has
Code: Select all
127.0.0.1 localhost

I see
Code: Select all
$ getent hosts localhost
::1             localhost


Offhand I say systemctl is causing all my grief.

If no other suggestions, I believe I need to open a bug report.
Last edited by doktor5000 on Jan 24th, '15, 16:10, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: added code tags
bittwister
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Oct 5th, '13, 21:48

Re: 5b2: Unable to open listen socket for address [v1.::1]:6

Postby doktor5000 » Jan 24th, '15, 16:15

bittwister wrote:Offhand I say systemctl is causing all my grief.

Can you please explain the relation between systemd and name resolution? systemd isn't the scapegoat for everything ...

And you should read up on getent - it directly queries the name resolver when you query it for hosts.
As far as I'm aware it's the most correct way to resolve names, respecting order configured in /etc/nsswitch.conf.

Aprt from that, recently there has been a discussion about hostname and maybe name resolver regressions, might be related:
https://ml.mageia.org/wwsympa-wrapper.f ... 00325.html
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 17659
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: 5b2: Unable to open listen socket for address [v1.::1]:6

Postby bittwister » Jan 24th, '15, 17:44

doktor5000 wrote:
bittwister wrote:Offhand I say systemctl is causing all my grief.

Can you please explain the relation between systemd and name resolution? systemd isn't the scapegoat for everything ...


You could be correct. When you indicated hostnamectl I just figured it was systemd and I would be required to run it to set localhost as just 127.0.0.1.

And you should read up on getent - it directly queries the name resolver when you query it for hosts.
As far as I'm aware it's the most correct way to resolve names, respecting order configured in /etc/nsswitch.conf.


I thought getent just hit the indicated /etc/file. Examples: getent group $USER or getent passwd $USER

Lets look at your suggestions:

Code: Select all
$ grep ^hosts: /etc/nsswitch.conf
hosts:          files dns myhostname


Suggests /etc/hosts is checked first, so
Code: Select all
$ grep  localhost /etc/hosts
127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost


If not there ask dns resolver
Code: Select all
$ dig +short localhost
127.0.0.1


Hm, what happens if using node name.
Code: Select all
$ hostname
wb.home.test


Code: Select all
$ grep $(hostname) /etc/hosts
192.168.0.132 wb.home.test wb


Code: Select all
$ dig +short $(hostname)
192.168.0.132


Code: Select all
$ getent hosts $(hostname)
::1             wb.home.test
:(

FYI: added NOZEROCONF=yes to /etc/sysconfig/network to suppress the avahi route.
Code: Select all
$ route -n
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
0.0.0.0         192.168.0.1     0.0.0.0         UG    10     0        0 enp3s0
192.168.0.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U     10     0        0 enp3s0


And do not have the the daemon running.
Code: Select all
$ systemctl status avahi-daemon | grep -i active
   Active: inactive (dead)



Apart from that, recently there has been a discussion about hostname and maybe name resolver regressions, might be related:
https://ml.mageia.org/wwsympa-wrapper.f ... 00325.html


Ok, I guess I will open a bug report against getent returning ipv6 addresses and another bug against the udevxxxxx.service returning a address [v1.::1 error and indicating it might be related to my getent bug.
Last edited by doktor5000 on Jan 24th, '15, 21:11, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: added code tags
bittwister
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Oct 5th, '13, 21:48

Re: 5b2: Unable to open listen socket for address [v1.::1]:6

Postby bittwister » Jan 24th, '15, 23:22

bittwister wrote:Ok, I guess I will open a bug report against getent returning ipv6 addresses


Opened https://bugs.mageia.org/show_bug.cgi?id=15126 about the getent returning ipv6 address.

Marking this thread solved since I can hide the problem by changing
Code: Select all
Listening *:651
to
Code: Select all
Listening 127.0.0.1:651
in /etc/cups/cupsd.conf

Going to guess there will be a few complaints from mga 4 ipv4 users converting to mga 5.
It was hard enough to stop named from complaining about ipv6 addresses.

That solution was to create a custom conf file in /etc/modprobe.d/ with the directive
Code: Select all
options ipv6 disable=1
bittwister
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Oct 5th, '13, 21:48

Re: 5b2: Unable to open listen socket for address [v1.::1]:6

Postby doktor5000 » Jan 25th, '15, 02:35

bittwister wrote:That solution was to create a custom conf file in /etc/modprobe.d/ with the directive
Code: Select all
options ipv6 disable=1

Can be easily done via draknetcenter in advanced options.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 17659
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: 5b2: Unable to open listen socket for address [v1.::1]:6

Postby bittwister » Jan 25th, '15, 07:51

doktor5000 wrote:
bittwister wrote:That solution was to create a custom conf file in /etc/modprobe.d/ with the directive
Code: Select all
options ipv6 disable=1

Can be easily done via draknetcenter in advanced options.


Creating an ipv6 to ipv4 tunnel seems like a waste of resources on a ipv4 setup.
I originally created the disable line to get named to quit complaining about accessing a whole bunch of ipv6 servers.

Flipping my LAN to ipv6 would cost $250+ to replace my two SiliconDust TV tuners and add an inferred detector for the TV remote then waste the WAN router's time converting it all back to my ISP's ipv4 network. :(

I do Thank you for all your time helping users and your Mageia work.
bittwister
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Oct 5th, '13, 21:48

Re: 5b2: Unable to open listen socket for address [v1.::1]:6

Postby doktor5000 » Jan 25th, '15, 12:13

bittwister wrote:
doktor5000 wrote:
bittwister wrote:That solution was to create a custom conf file in /etc/modprobe.d/ with the directive
Code: Select all
options ipv6 disable=1

Can be easily done via draknetcenter in advanced options.


Creating an ipv6 to ipv4 tunnel seems like a waste of resources on a ipv4 setup.

Huh? It says "Disable IPv6" in draknetcenter ...
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 17659
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: 5b2: Unable to open listen socket for address [v1.::1]:6

Postby bittwister » Jan 25th, '15, 15:34

doktor5000 wrote:
bittwister wrote:
doktor5000 wrote:
bittwister wrote:That solution was to create a custom conf file in /etc/modprobe.d/ with the directive
Code: Select all
options ipv6 disable=1

Can be easily done via draknetcenter in advanced options.


Creating an ipv6 to ipv4 tunnel seems like a waste of resources on a ipv4 setup.

Huh? It says "Disable IPv6" in draknetcenter ...


Well, duh. Back to speed reading 101 for me.
I had clicked my nic interface and drilled down to Adv instead of seeing the "Advanced settings" button next to the Quit button at bottom of Network Center.

I am off to remove my custom change, reboot and see what happens.
bittwister
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Oct 5th, '13, 21:48


Return to Advanced support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron