I have a working FreeCAD installation!

This forum is dedicated to basic help and support :

Ask here your questions about basic installation and usage of Mageia. For example you may post here all your questions about getting Mageia isos and installing it, configuring your printer, using your word processor etc.

Try to ask your questions in the right sub-forum with as much details as you can gather. the more precise the question will be, the more likely you are to get a useful answer

I have a working FreeCAD installation!

Postby pedro » Jan 2nd, '18, 19:23

I just installed FreeCad from the AppImage Package!

I went here and read about the AppImage packages:
https://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/Download

Then I went here and downloaded the latest 0.17 AppImage file:
https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/releases

Then here to find out how to run it (The "How to run an AppImage?" video :
https://appimage.org/

Then I simply added the command to the start menu, under "Grafic"

And at last I have a working FreeCad on my system :)
pedro
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Jun 13th, '14, 09:46

Re: I have a working FreeCAD installation!

Postby morgano » Jan 6th, '18, 01:12

Thanks, Pedro!
So now i have 0.17 (version is in development) as an Appimage and it seem to run nicely (quick check, i have not learned how to use it...)
And still I also have 0.16 working, installed by MCC;

We do have 0.16 packaged in Mageia 6, and 0.15 in Mageia 5 backports.
Hopefully 0.17 will be ready and packaged in Mageia 7.
Mandriva since 2006, then Mageia since 2011 at home & work. Thinkpad T40 T42p T43 T60 T61 T400. Aspire 7. Fileserver. Workstation using LVM, LUKS, VirtualBox, BOINC, Dropbox, CAD, urpmi-proxy, NextCloud...
morgano
 
Posts: 538
Joined: Jun 15th, '11, 17:51
Location: Kivik, Sweden

Re: I have a working FreeCAD installation!

Postby pedro » Jan 8th, '18, 19:15

Working on some FreeCad tutorials I had some trouble with the Unstable "FreeCAD-0.17.9747.glibc2.17-oce17.1-ng.x86_64.AppImage".
But then I just downloaded the stable Appimage and continnued with that one :) Now I have both versions and can chose witch one to work with.
Just remember to make the file executable :)
pedro
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Jun 13th, '14, 09:46

Re: I have a working FreeCAD installation!

Postby morgano » Mar 13th, '18, 11:58

On topic of technical programs available in Mageia, see an attempt on listing them at https://bugs.mageia.org/show_bug.cgi?id=531
Mandriva since 2006, then Mageia since 2011 at home & work. Thinkpad T40 T42p T43 T60 T61 T400. Aspire 7. Fileserver. Workstation using LVM, LUKS, VirtualBox, BOINC, Dropbox, CAD, urpmi-proxy, NextCloud...
morgano
 
Posts: 538
Joined: Jun 15th, '11, 17:51
Location: Kivik, Sweden

Re: I have a working FreeCAD installation!

Postby wintpe » Mar 15th, '18, 17:08

appimage has some nice apps, ive been trying them, and raised this in the developer forum, as its a nice way to get apps.
im not convinced about the other two competing versions, flatpak and snap.

mageia already has snap, and i must say i dont like it at all.

appimage has a very mac dmg like aproach.

its certainly one way to reduce the overheads on the mageia packaging team, so that they can focus on things that are important to mageia

regards peter
Redhat 6 Certified Engineer (RHCE)
Sometimes my posts will sound short, or snappy, however its realy not my intention to offend, so accept my apologies in advance.
wintpe
 
Posts: 1168
Joined: May 22nd, '11, 17:08
Location: Rayleigh,, Essex , UK

Re: I have a working FreeCAD installation!

Postby morgano » Mar 16th, '18, 02:14

Yes, i have been suggesting QElectrotech developer to package it as Appimage, and possibly drop a couple or more distro specific formats :)
( That program is almost always in development version is rarely packaged by us, but David will push it when our new Qt is finished )
Mandriva since 2006, then Mageia since 2011 at home & work. Thinkpad T40 T42p T43 T60 T61 T400. Aspire 7. Fileserver. Workstation using LVM, LUKS, VirtualBox, BOINC, Dropbox, CAD, urpmi-proxy, NextCloud...
morgano
 
Posts: 538
Joined: Jun 15th, '11, 17:51
Location: Kivik, Sweden

Re: I have a working FreeCAD installation!

Postby morgano » Mar 21st, '18, 01:56

wintpe wrote:mageia already has snap.

Do we really? How do we use it?

I am trying to write up all not too-hard ways to install programs on Mageia at https://wiki.mageia.org/en/Ways_to_install_programs

Welcome to correct, improve, extend...
Mandriva since 2006, then Mageia since 2011 at home & work. Thinkpad T40 T42p T43 T60 T61 T400. Aspire 7. Fileserver. Workstation using LVM, LUKS, VirtualBox, BOINC, Dropbox, CAD, urpmi-proxy, NextCloud...
morgano
 
Posts: 538
Joined: Jun 15th, '11, 17:51
Location: Kivik, Sweden

Re: I have a working FreeCAD installation!

Postby wintpe » Mar 21st, '18, 13:14

its flatpak in mageia my mistake

urpmi flatpak

then

https://fedoramagazine.org/getting-started-flatpak/


regards peter
Redhat 6 Certified Engineer (RHCE)
Sometimes my posts will sound short, or snappy, however its realy not my intention to offend, so accept my apologies in advance.
wintpe
 
Posts: 1168
Joined: May 22nd, '11, 17:08
Location: Rayleigh,, Essex , UK

Re: I have a working FreeCAD installation!

Postby papoteur » Apr 18th, '18, 08:18

Hello,
Me too !
And this version is the 0.16 and comes from testing repositories.
Your tests are wanted ;) in the bugzilla report. There is a test case in comment 0.
https://bugs.mageia.org/show_bug.cgi?id=22858
There was a problem with opencascade.
papoteur
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Oct 27th, '11, 22:28

Re: I have a working FreeCAD installation!

Postby morgano » Jul 11th, '18, 17:45

morgano wrote:Yes, i have been suggesting QElectrotech developer to package it as Appimage

...and now they have appimages of 0.5, 0.6 and 0.7 https://qelectrotech.org/forum/viewtopi ... 8334#p8334
Mandriva since 2006, then Mageia since 2011 at home & work. Thinkpad T40 T42p T43 T60 T61 T400. Aspire 7. Fileserver. Workstation using LVM, LUKS, VirtualBox, BOINC, Dropbox, CAD, urpmi-proxy, NextCloud...
morgano
 
Posts: 538
Joined: Jun 15th, '11, 17:51
Location: Kivik, Sweden


Return to Basic support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest