Problem with Dual Monitor Plasma KDE nouveau

Problem with Dual Monitor Plasma KDE nouveau

Postby Spinnifex » May 14th, '21, 15:46

Hello

I have now more problems with my new dual monitor setup.

After I re installed mageia without nvidia driver
the second monitor (Asus) have the taskbar. Same as
with Nvidia. But when I try to deactivate and reactivate the monitor
the screen went black. If I hover the mouse over to this (Asus)
I only see very scrambled text. I read the following:

Code: Select all
nouveau 0000:02:00.0: bus: MMIO read of 00000000 FAULT at 122124 [ IBUS ]

Note: this is copied from
Code: Select all
dmesg


When I switch to a other tty and back to the old the screen is again okay.
Here is what
Code: Select all
xrandr -q

said
Code: Select all
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 4479 x 1440, maximum 16384 x 16384
DVI-D-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI-1 connected 1920x1080+2559+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 521mm x 293mm
   1920x1080     60.00*+  50.00    59.94 
   1920x1080i    60.00    50.00    59.94 
   1680x1050     59.88 
   1280x1024     75.02    60.02 
   1440x900      59.90 
   1280x960      60.00 
   1152x864      75.00 
   1280x720      60.00    50.00    59.94 
   1440x576      50.00 
   1024x768      75.03    70.07    60.00 
   1440x480      60.00    59.94 
   832x624       74.55 
   800x600       72.19    75.00    60.32    56.25 
   720x576       50.00 
   720x480       60.00    59.94 
   640x480       75.00    72.81    66.67    60.00    59.94 
   720x400       70.08 
DP-1 connected primary 2560x1440+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 597mm x 336mm
   2560x1440     59.95*+
   1920x1080     60.00    60.00    50.00    59.94 
   1680x1050     59.95 
   1600x900      60.00 
   1280x1024     75.02    60.02 
   1280x800      59.81 
   1152x864      75.00 
   1280x720      60.00    50.00    59.94 
   1024x768      75.03    60.00 
   832x624       74.55 
   800x600       75.00    60.32 
   720x576       50.00 
   720x480       60.00    59.94 
   640x480       75.00    60.00    59.94 
   720x400       70.08


What I wonder is that the number after DP or HDMI is now 1 and not 0.
On my old nvidia based install this was zero.?

Code: Select all
lspcidrake -v|grep -i vga


Code: Select all
Card:Intel 810 and later: Intel Corporation|CometLake-S GT2 [UHD Graphics 630] [DISPLAY_VGA] (vendor:8086 device:3e92 subv:1043 subd:8694)
Card:NVIDIA GeForce 635 series and later: NVIDIA Corporation|GP107 [GeForce GTX 1050] [DISPLAY_VGA] (vendor:10de device:1c81 subv:1043 subd:8616) (rev: a1)



I attach a screenshot showing some strange things.
As you can see kscreen tell me that my new monitor
is primary whereas the second is not.

I also attach Xorg.log and
dmesg output.

looking forward
to hear from anyone.

best regards
Spinnifex
Attachments
start.log
dmesg log
(93.06 KiB) Downloaded 12 times
GadiMagaia.png
Snapshot
GadiMagaia.png (1.99 MiB) Viewed 286 times
Xorg.0.log
Xorg
(69.89 KiB) Downloaded 14 times
Spinnifex
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Nov 25th, '19, 12:38
Location: Europe / Potsdam

Re: Problem with Dual Monitor Plasma KDE nouveau

Postby doktor5000 » May 14th, '21, 18:22

And what is the actual problem now, that that panel stayed on the secondary monitor? According to kscreen and xrandr the Benq connected via DisplayPort is the primary monitor.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16793
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: Problem with Dual Monitor Plasma KDE nouveau

Postby Spinnifex » May 15th, '21, 15:51

Hello

I have several problems.

1. The second monitor (Asus) is bugged. I can not use it.
If you try to move a window to this monitor the window goes to full screen
on the new monitor. Every Application you start open on the primary
monitor. I have only the taskbar on the Asus Monitor. Nothing else .
As you can see in the screeshot the menu of taskbar is opened on the new monitor also.
2. If I try to deactivate the second monitor to get the taskbar back to the new monior
and reactivate the Asus monior the screen is black.
If I hover the mouse to the Asus Monitor there will be nothing than a unreadable small text
with the info of the startup message ( Page fault )

So for now I have one monitor BenQ with is okay and the taskbar on the bugged Asus Monitor.

thanks
Spinnifex
Spinnifex
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Nov 25th, '19, 12:38
Location: Europe / Potsdam

Re: Problem with Dual Monitor Plasma KDE nouveau

Postby Spinnifex » May 19th, '21, 18:57

I installed the nvidia driver via MCC
and the monitor now is working better.
I have the taskbar on the primary monitor.
And it remain there after reboot.

Well see whether this will be stable.

Spinnifex
Spinnifex
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Nov 25th, '19, 12:38
Location: Europe / Potsdam


Return to Video

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests