Locked user

This forum is dedicated to basic help and support :

Ask here your questions about basic installation and usage of Mageia. For example you may post here all your questions about getting Mageia isos and installing it, configuring your printer, using your word processor etc.

Try to ask your questions in the right sub-forum with as much details as you can gather. the more precise the question will be, the more likely you are to get a useful answer

Locked user

Postby janpihlgren » May 7th, '21, 05:37

I use Mageia 8 , Lenovo ThinkPad Aniversary Edition25
Suddenly when I tried to login the keybord frees: I write username and then password. When I had to hit the Returkey nothing happens, no respons.
After some tries I succeeded to login as root. That give me the possibiliity to set up for a new user. With that user I succeeded to login.
My questin is:
How do I do to unlock the first user?
Some reason to use the first user is that I use VirtualBox and to set up new OS in VirtualBox will make big impact on the size of usefull discspace.
User avatar
janpihlgren
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Mar 30th, '11, 12:23
Location: Marsta, Sweden

Re: Locked user

Postby doktor5000 » May 7th, '21, 15:58

Where do you login, in the login manager in a graphical session or in a tty ?

If nothing happened, then you didn't actually login. What happens as root when you switch to that user via
Code: Select all
su - username

(you obviously need to replace username with your actual user name).
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16725
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: Locked user

Postby janpihlgren » May 7th, '21, 17:30

I'm logog in at the graphical session at th beginning.
This is whats happen when I follow your whish:
Code: Select all
[jan3@Myran ~]$ su jan
Lösenord:
[jan@Myran jan3]$ exit
exit
[jan3@Myran ~]$

------------------------------------------
When I först loged in as root and there follow your wish: I get this:
Code: Select all
[root@Myran ~]# su jan
[jan@Myran root]$ cd /home
[jan@Myran home]$ ls
------------------------
[root@Myran ~]# su jan2
[jan2@Myran root]$ cd /home
[jan2@Myran home]$ ls -l
totalt 28
drwxr-x--x 32 jan  jan   4096 maj  7 17:16 jan/
drwxr-x--x 36 jan2 jan2  4096 maj  7 17:17 jan2/
drwxr-x--- 29 jan3 jan3  4096 maj  7 17:17 jan3/
drwx------  2 root root 16384 mar 26 10:05 lost+found/
[jan2@Myran home]$ cd jan2
[jan2@Myran ~]$ ls -l
totalt 60
drwxrwxr-x 3 jan2 jan2 4096 apr 22 09:02  Backup/
drwxr-xr-x 2 jan2 jan2 4096 maj  3 12:16  Bilder/
drwxrwxr-x 2 jan2 jan2 4096 apr 23 14:30  Desktop/
drwxr-xr-x 5 jan2 jan2 4096 apr 17 04:11  Development/
drwxr-xr-x 2 jan2 jan2 4096 maj  1 06:02  Dokument/
drwxr-xr-x 4 jan2 jan2 4096 maj  5 15:06  Hämtningar/
drwxr-xr-x 2 jan2 jan2 4096 mar 27 05:32  Mallar/
drwxr-xr-x 2 jan2 jan2 4096 mar 27 05:32  Musik/
drwxrwxr-x 4 jan2 jan2 4096 apr 17 02:57  Notebooks/
drwxrwxr-x 2 jan2 jan2 4096 apr 23 07:43  Program/
drwxr-xr-x 3 jan2 jan2 4096 maj  1 11:36  Raspberry/
drwxr-xr-x 2 jan2 jan2 4096 maj  3 14:16  Script/
drwx--x--x 2 jan2 jan2 4096 feb 11  2020  tmp/
drwxr-xr-x 2 jan2 jan2 4096 mar 27 05:32  Video/
drwxr-xr-x 6 jan2 jan2 4096 apr 29 09:28 'VirtualBox VMs'/
[jan2@Myran ~]$

I hope this is what you wanted.
Last edited by isadora on May 7th, '21, 18:23, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Please place command-output between [CODE]-tags, to improve readability, thanks ahead!!! ;)
User avatar
janpihlgren
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Mar 30th, '11, 12:23
Location: Marsta, Sweden

Re: Locked user

Postby doktor5000 » May 7th, '21, 19:05

Out of curiosity, why do you have a jan2 and jan3 user ?
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16725
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: Locked user

Postby janpihlgren » May 8th, '21, 03:31

I had to have a new user to login as a normal user. Than the same thing happends again and I have to make a new user agan. The reason is that I will not run as root.
The easiest way was tom justad a number to my username.
I now alse tried log in as root an change , as you told me, as my first name. But I still is a root-user and work in the root directory.
The only good thing is that I can use the old(user) libtraries but not their setup.
======================
But my problem is how do I unlock the user jan (and Jan2).
The computer locks when I try to login as jan or jan1.
User avatar
janpihlgren
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Mar 30th, '11, 12:23
Location: Marsta, Sweden

Re: Locked user

Postby doktor5000 » May 8th, '21, 11:24

janpihlgren wrote:Than the same thing happends again and I have to make a new user agan. The reason is that I will not run as root.

Could you please explain that in a bit more detail? I don't understand the "not run as root" part.


Apart from that, what login manager and what desktop environment do you use? Best would probably to do a fresh reboot, then try to login as your regular user, wait a minute or so and then do the following:
Switch to a tty via e.g. Ctrl+Alt+F2, login as root and run the following command:
Code: Select all
journalctl -ab > /tmp/journal.log

and then later attach the file /tmp/journal.log here.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16725
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: Locked user

Postby janpihlgren » May 9th, '21, 02:32

First "run as root" I aim at "working when loged in as root"
Second: I use Plasma and kdm

Here I apend th file journal.log
Attachments
journal.log
(165.92 KiB) Downloaded 24 times
User avatar
janpihlgren
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Mar 30th, '11, 12:23
Location: Marsta, Sweden

Re: Locked user

Postby doktor5000 » May 9th, '21, 15:21

janpihlgren wrote:First "run as root" I aim at "working when loged in as root"
Could you rephrase that please? I still don't know what that is supposed to mean.

For the log, I don't see any obvious issues, and also nothing relevant after you started your login. At 02:12:36 you started your Plasma/KDE session, and at 02:13:28 you logged into the tty as root.

Can you login normally as any of the other 2 users, jan2 and jan3? Or as a freshly created new user - this is just to rule out any other issues that might exist.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16725
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: Locked user

Postby janpihlgren » May 9th, '21, 16:36

janpihlgren wrote:
First "run as root" I aim at "working when loged in as root"

Could you rephrase that please? I still don't know what that is supposed to mean.

I mean that I have to login as root, make a new user and then logout and login as the new user. That because I wan't work with the computer when I'm loged in as root.
=========================
Well hera are 2 journel files:
journal2.log is when I logged in as jan3 and run the command as jan3
journal3.log is when I logged in as jan3 but run the comman as root

Ihope that this is what you need.
Attachments
journal3.log
(206.78 KiB) Downloaded 26 times
journal2.log
(38.94 KiB) Downloaded 28 times
User avatar
janpihlgren
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Mar 30th, '11, 12:23
Location: Marsta, Sweden

Re: Locked user

Postby doktor5000 » May 10th, '21, 00:51

doktor5000 wrote:Can you login normally as any of the other 2 users, jan2 and jan3?

You posted the logs, but you didn't really answer the question :?
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16725
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: Locked user

Postby janpihlgren » May 10th, '21, 01:14

OK I try to explain.

The first time the problem occur ( aould not login as jan) the only way to use the computer was to login as root.
I don't wanted to work with the computer loged in as root. Because of that i created user jan2..
The same problem occur again. Again I make a new useraccount, jan3
At booth times I coud only login as root.
This was the reason why I created the user jan2 and jan3
I hope this will clear why. Else I don't understand your question.
User avatar
janpihlgren
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Mar 30th, '11, 12:23
Location: Marsta, Sweden

Re: Locked user

Postby doktor5000 » May 10th, '21, 01:26

So both for your first user jan and for jan2 you have the problem that you cannot login normally anymore? But for jan3 normal login still works? Did I understand that correctly ?
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16725
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: Locked user

Postby janpihlgren » May 10th, '21, 01:36

Yes
User avatar
janpihlgren
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Mar 30th, '11, 12:23
Location: Marsta, Sweden

Re: Locked user

Postby doktor5000 » May 10th, '21, 16:31

I'd suggest you move away at least the ~/.config folder for one of the affected users, then try to login again.

As root after a fresh boot:
Code: Select all
mv /home/jan/.config /home/jan/.config-old


Then try to login as jan - your desktop should be mostly reset to defaults, and some autostart entries should not run.

Does that help in any way with the login?
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16725
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: Locked user

Postby janpihlgren » May 10th, '21, 18:18

I moved .config as you say and I also checked tha the library was moved and ther was no ,config lib
No this did not helped.
The result is still a locked keyboar/computer
User avatar
janpihlgren
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Mar 30th, '11, 12:23
Location: Marsta, Sweden

Re: Locked user

Postby doktor5000 » May 10th, '21, 20:00

Well, you can try that with the other . folders in your home folder as well.

But it would probably make more sense to find out what is actually hanging during that time. I'd suggest to use
Code: Select all
ps auxwww
pstree -aplt
and maybe
Code: Select all
lsof
as root to get some information on what is going on. Best post that here.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16725
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: Locked user

Postby janpihlgren » May 11th, '21, 05:49

I hope this is what you whant
the third file, lsof.log, will not attach, I supose its to large, 21.3 MByte
Attachments
pstree.log
(23.14 KiB) Downloaded 22 times
auxwww.log
(22.36 KiB) Downloaded 18 times
User avatar
janpihlgren
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Mar 30th, '11, 12:23
Location: Marsta, Sweden

Re: Locked user

Postby doktor5000 » May 11th, '21, 16:47

janpihlgren wrote:the third file, lsof.log, will not attach, I supose its to large, 21.3 MByte

Are you sure about that? Then you should have a look through that list to see why you have that many files/network connections open.
You can also compress ith using gz, bzip2, xz or something the like and attach the compressed file.

Apart from that, it looks like you ran the command within a normally running KDE session, with firefox, thunderbird running already.
That doesn't look like the session that hangs up during login.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16725
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: Locked user

Postby janpihlgren » May 11th, '21, 17:25

Ok Here is the fil as bzip2;
Attachments
lsof.log.bz2
(659.27 KiB) Downloaded 19 times
User avatar
janpihlgren
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Mar 30th, '11, 12:23
Location: Marsta, Sweden

Re: Locked user

Postby doktor5000 » May 11th, '21, 17:53

doktor5000 wrote:Apart from that, it looks like you ran the command within a normally running KDE session, with firefox, thunderbird running already.
That doesn't look like the session that hangs up during login.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16725
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany


Return to Basic support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest

cron