can't complete an upgrade from 6.x to 7.1

This forum is dedicated to advanced help and support :

Ask here your questions about advanced usage of Mageia. For example you may post here all your questions about network and automated installs, complex server configurations, kernel tuning, creating your own Mageia mirrors, and all tasks likely to be touchy even for skilled users.

can't complete an upgrade from 6.x to 7.1

Postby danbuchanan » Mar 10th, '21, 22:48

I received direction to open up an new ticket, even though there are other tickets with this topic. I had a failed upgrade to 7.1 from 6.1 using the online method. One of my partitions went offline during the upgrade so i now have an issue there. But the system was able to reboot and sort of function. I keep getting invalid local set from many of the command line calls. So i've burned a cd and am trying to goto 7.1 that way. My install also is getting stuck at the finding packages to upgrade, I am able to use the rpm command and return a list of packages. If i try to run some of the rpm upgrade commands I've found i get urpm is not installed. This was running the rpm command from the 7.1 recovery shell on the mounted 6.x install. I have e-mail on this so I'm trying to not do a wipe install.

danbuchanan

Posts: 1
Joined: Mar 10th, '21, 18:27

Top
danbuchanan
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mar 10th, '21, 18:27

Re: can't complete an upgrade from 6.x to 7.1

Postby doktor5000 » Mar 10th, '21, 23:16

danbuchanan wrote:even though there are other tickets with this topic.

Well, the golden rule is: one issue per thread, and those should not be mixed / mangled.
Also the causes and the fixes are usually different, in your cases it's a failing filesystem/partition, and now seems your rpm database is damaged.

The latter is the first you would need to fix. Have a look at the lower half of https://rpm.org/user_doc/db_recovery.html
Code: Select all
rpm -v --rebuilddb
might already fix this.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16798
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: can't complete an upgrade from 6.x to 7.1

Postby danbuchanan » Mar 10th, '21, 23:59

ok it looks like there was a failed rebuild attempt as well. some of the rebuild dirs were already existing. I'm going to try the upgrade again. As for the topic thing, some boards don't like separate threads for the same general item. i've noted that this one does :).
danbuchanan
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mar 10th, '21, 18:27

Re: can't complete an upgrade from 6.x to 7.1

Postby danbuchanan » Mar 11th, '21, 00:51

nope, it appears to still be stuck :(.
danbuchanan
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mar 10th, '21, 18:27

Re: can't complete an upgrade from 6.x to 7.1

Postby doktor5000 » Mar 11th, '21, 01:19

Did you run rpm --rebuilddb, and if so what was the output ?
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16798
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: can't complete an upgrade from 6.x to 7.1

Postby danbuchanan » Mar 11th, '21, 01:25

i did run it and it completed successfully. I can't seem to find the log file to upload. but screen f4 shows the same error over and over gain. it's going too fast for me to grab the error...
danbuchanan
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mar 10th, '21, 18:27

Re: can't complete an upgrade from 6.x to 7.1

Postby danbuchanan » Mar 11th, '21, 22:45

ok so when i run the command, it finishes with no message and gives back the command prompt. I let it run the update for several hours after and it still never moved on from finding packages. I've poked around some more and found nothing helpful so what's the next thing to try?
danbuchanan
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mar 10th, '21, 18:27

Re: can't complete an upgrade from 6.x to 7.1

Postby morgano » Mar 12th, '21, 00:01

Maybe it is easier, at least more clean, to do a fresh install, keeping /home ?
And in that case i suggest to go for Mageia 8.
Actually, to avoid configuration issues i would go for a total fresh install, after backing up, making fresh user and when everything is up and running well, import my old data to the new user.
Mandriva since 2006, then Mageia since 2011 at home & work. Thinkpad T43 & T400, Dell M4400, Acer Aspire 7. Workstation using LVM, LUKS, VirtualBox, BOINC
morgano
 
Posts: 817
Joined: Jun 15th, '11, 17:51
Location: Kivik, Sweden


Return to Advanced support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest