[SOLVED] Gsconnect problem

[SOLVED] Gsconnect problem

Postby christianvl » Jul 20th, '19, 16:08

Hi there.

I'm using Mageia 7, Gnome desktop, with only the "Core" repo enabled. I want to stay as close as possible to only free software.

When trying to connect to gsconnect it fails to find my device. I also fail to find my computer from my mobile. I have other distros installed in this same computer and gsconnect and kde connect works fine. I supect this may be related to some firewall rule that I lack the knowkedge to identify.

Could anyone give me some tips here?

Code: Select all
christian@localhost ~> inxi -Fz
System:    Host: localhost.localdomain Kernel: 5.1.14-desktop-1.mga7 x86_64 bits: 64
           Desktop: Gnome 3.32.1 Distro: Mageia 7 mga7
Machine:   Type: Portable System: Dell product: Inspiron 7347 v: 00h serial: <filter>
           Mobo: Dell model: 0THD6P v: A00 serial: <filter> UEFI [Legacy]: Dell v: A09
           date: 10/17/2016
Battery:   ID-1: BAT0 charge: 30.6 Wh condition: 34.4/45.1 Wh (76%)
CPU:       Topology: Dual Core model: Intel Core i5-4210U bits: 64 type: MT MCP
           L2 cache: 3072 KiB
           Speed: 798 MHz min/max: 800/2700 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 798 2: 798 3: 798
           4: 798
Graphics:  Device-1: Intel Haswell-ULT Integrated Graphics driver: i915 v: kernel
           Display: x11 server: Mageia X.org 1.20.4 driver: intel,v4l
           resolution: 1920x1080~60Hz
           OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Haswell Mobile v: 4.5 Mesa 19.1.0
Audio:     Device-1: Intel Haswell-ULT HD Audio driver: snd_hda_intel
           Device-2: Intel 8 Series HD Audio driver: snd_hda_intel
           Sound Server: ALSA v: k5.1.14-desktop-1.mga7
Network:   Device-1: Qualcomm Atheros QCA9565 / AR9565 Wireless Network Adapter
           driver: ath9k
           IF: wlp1s0 state: up mac: <filter>
           Device-2: Qualcomm Atheros type: USB driver: btusb
Drives:    Local Storage: total: 223.57 GiB used: 6.58 GiB (2.9%)
           ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Kingston model: SA400S37240G size: 223.57 GiB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 46.21 GiB used: 6.58 GiB (14.2%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/dm-1
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 7.45 GiB used: 0 KiB (0.0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/dm-0
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 50.0 C mobo: 47.0 C sodimm: 40.0 C
           Fan Speeds (RPM): cpu: 0
Info:      Processes: 207 Uptime: 22m Memory: 7.72 GiB used: 1.21 GiB (15.7%) Shell: fish
           inxi: 3.0.33
Last edited by christianvl on Jul 22nd, '19, 14:34, edited 2 times in total.
christianvl
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Feb 14th, '19, 19:11

Re: Gsconnect problem

Postby doktor5000 » Jul 20th, '19, 23:26

You may want to add some context information what you refer to with gsconnect, and how you attempt to connect to it.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 17629
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: Gsconnect problem

Postby christianvl » Jul 21st, '19, 01:32

Thank you doktor5000 for the quick reply.

GSConnect is a Gnome extension that integrates "KDE connect" to the Gnome desktop. You have to pair the extension with your mobile phone, using the corresponding KDE connect app. The app integrates your phone with your computer, sharing notifications, clipboard, allowing to answer some messages directly from the notification in Gnome, muting your computer sound during phone calls and lots of other useful functions.

The problem is that I can't pair my devices. One can't find the other (both are connected to the same wifi network). I suppose the firewall may be blocking it as it used to happen with me in the Plasma desktop, but I couldn't figure out how to set a specific rule for the gsconnect extension
christianvl
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Feb 14th, '19, 19:11

Re: Gsconnect problem

Postby doktor5000 » Jul 21st, '19, 22:40

You may want to check https://github.com/andyholmes/gnome-she ... oid-device for some more details regarding the firewall rule:
Check your Firewall, Proxy, Router and VPN

Open ports 1716-1764 for TCP and UDP and allow broadcasts.

Then check http://doc.mageia.org/mcc/7/en/content/ ... akfirewall and add the firewall rule via drakfirewall.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 17629
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: Gsconnect problem

Postby jiml8 » Jul 22nd, '19, 10:06

If, for whatever reason, you do not want to use drakfirewall (shorewall) to set this up, the exact iptables rules you need are these:
Code: Select all
/sbin/iptables -A INPUT -d <myhostip> -p tcp --dport 1714:1764 -j ACCEPT
/sbin/iptables -A INPUT -d <myhostip> -p udp --dport 1714:1764 -j ACCEPT

where <myhostip> is the ip address of your computer. This will allow inbound connections from your phone.

I personally ditched shorewall awhile ago and replaced it with my own handwritten firewall, but my needs tend to be rather complex and I found shorewall to be difficult to use; for you it likely is not a problem.

Even before I stopped using shorewall, I had a number of scripts that would allow me to change my firewall "on the fly" to accommodate some particular thing I was doing today that I would not be doing tomorrow. I presently have about a dozen different scripts that configure my workstation in "standard" ways to set it up for particular work that I might be doing.

You might find that to be desirable with kdeconnect; you might not want those ports open except when you wanted to have the phone and the computer connected. In this case, you could place these firewall rules in a script that you store in ~/bin and just run the script when you wanted to allow kdeconnect to work.

When you were done and no longer wanted kdeconnect to be able to connect, you could have a second script to remove the rules.
jiml8
 
Posts: 1253
Joined: Jul 7th, '13, 18:09

Re: Gsconnect problem

Postby christianvl » Jul 22nd, '19, 14:32

Thank you all very much. I've used the drakfirewall tool (figure it's more suitable for the kind of use I'll have with this computer).

BTW, jiml8, thanks for the heads up on keeping those ports open.
christianvl
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Feb 14th, '19, 19:11

Re: [SOLVED] Gsconnect problem

Postby doktor5000 » Jul 22nd, '19, 23:26

Ok, but is it working now?
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 17629
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: [SOLVED] Gsconnect problem

Postby christianvl » Jul 23rd, '19, 01:09

Oh yes, it is, thanks again.
christianvl
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Feb 14th, '19, 19:11


Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest