[SOLVED] wvdial problem

[SOLVED] wvdial problem

Postby mackowiakp » May 28th, '13, 09:08

Because of many reasons I have to use wvdial to manually run 3G/4G Internet connection on my laptop. It connects but strange error is dislayed:
Code: Select all
[root@piotr-l ~]# wvdial play
--> WvDial: Internet dialer version 1.61
--> Initializing modem.
--> Sending: ATH
ATH
OK
--> Sending: ATE1
ATE1
OK
--> Sending: AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","internet"
AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","internet"
OK
--> Modem initialized.
--> Sending: ATD*99#
--> Waiting for carrier.
ATD*99#
CONNECT
--> Carrier detected.  Starting PPP immediately.
--> Starting pppd at Tue May 28 08:58:21 2013
--> Pid of pppd: 4816
wvdial: utils/wvtask.cc:304: static int WvTaskMan::yield(int): Assertion `*current_task->stack_magic == 0x123678' failed.
Aborted


The /etc/wvdial.conf file looks like:

Code: Select all
[Dialer play]
Modem Type = Analog Modem
Modem = /dev/ttyUSB0
Baud = 57600
Init1 = ATH
Init2 = ATE1
Init3 = AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","internet"
Dial Command = ATD
Phone = *99#
Stupid mode = yes
Username = "blank"
Password = "blank"
Auto DNS = no


What I am doing wrong?
Last edited by mackowiakp on Jun 9th, '13, 20:20, edited 1 time in total.
Linux is like wigwam. No Windows, no Gates but Apache inside

WARNING ! The administrator has the right to refuse to install WINDOWS, invoking the conscience clause
mackowiakp
 
Posts: 646
Joined: May 23rd, '13, 07:32
Location: Gdynia, Poland

Re: wvdial problem

Postby rhtopics » Jun 2nd, '13, 20:24

You are not doing anything wrong.

I did a Google search on the error message generated by wvdial and found a relevent hit on a Fedora bug report ( https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=812651 ).

In the comments of the bug report here is what is stated as the problem and the solution to fix it:

Fabrice Bellet 2012-06-12 03:28:23 EDT

after bissecting the optimizations used by gcc in -O2 mode, it seems to me that the problem is caused by two specific ones : -ftree-dce and -foptimize-sibling-calls

Reverting these two options generates a library that works for me (not with wvdial, but with another application --retchmail-- that shows the same error message with the version of libwvstreams compiled with gcc-4.7.0):

$RPM_OPT_FLAGS -fPIC -fpermissive -fno-strict-aliasing -fno-tree-dce -fno-optimize-sibling-calls

HTH

Comment 15 Philippe Troin 2012-06-13 20:58:25 EDT

(In reply to comment #14)
> after bissecting the optimizations used by gcc in -O2 mode, it seems to me
> that the problem is caused by two specific ones : -ftree-dce and
> -foptimize-sibling-calls

Yes, thanks Fabrice!

I confirm that adding these two gcc options fixes the wvdial problem for me.
No more SIGABRTs.


I am assuming you are using Mageia 3. You should submit a bug report for it.

I am currently testing Mageia 3 KDE using the Live CD and maybe running into a related problem with Net_Applet aborting with a segfault when trying to disconnect my Mobile Broadband modem which was configured as an Analog Telephone Modem (POTS).
rhtopics
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Jun 3rd, '11, 20:16

Re: wvdial problem

Postby rolf » Jun 9th, '13, 00:01

I got here googling the same error/crash with wvdial. So, I got the source rpm, modified the specfile with the switches in the cited bug report and built lib64wvstreams4.6-4.6.1-7.mga3.x86_64.rpm

I installed that along with the wvdial 64-bit rpm in Mageia 3 repositories. This negotiates a connection with my isp and retrieves DNS servers.
Image


Code: Select all
$ wvdial
--> WvDial: Internet dialer version 1.61
--> Cannot set information for serial port.
--> Initializing modem.
--> Sending: ATZ
ATZ
OK
--> Sending: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
OK
--> Modem initialized.
--> Sending: ATDT2880177
--> Waiting for carrier.
ATDT2880177
CONNECT 57600/V32b 14400/V42b/SREJ
--> Carrier detected.  Starting PPP immediately.
--> Starting pppd at Sat Jun  8 14:30:06 2013
--> Pid of pppd: 1000
--> Using interface ppp0
--> pppd: Connect: ppp0 <--> /dev/ttyUSB1
--> pppd: PAP authentication succeeded
--> local  IP address 66.249.175.102
--> remote IP address 69.19.217.13
--> primary   DNS address 207.69.188.187
--> secondary DNS address 207.69.188.186



/etc/resolv.conf has the dns servers but I get "network unreachable", ultimately. ping directly an ip doesn't work, either. I simply disconnect by `ifconfig eth0 down` or the network manager my broadband connection before trying this and there might be some interference from that, idk, I'm not very network savvy. I do get this:

Code: Select all
# route
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
default         *               0.0.0.0         U     0      0        0 ppp0
69.19.217.13    *               255.255.255.255 UH    0      0        0 ppp0


Maybe someone wants to try the rpm with their app on a 64-bit machine: lib64wvstreams4.6-4.6.1-7.mga3.x86_64.rpm
rolf
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Mar 25th, '11, 02:58

Re: wvdial problem

Postby mackowiakp » Jun 9th, '13, 08:30

I just install Your rpm, but still I got wvdial error. The connection works, but the error still exist. I use 64 bit M3 too.

[root@piotr-l Pobrane]# wvdial play
--> WvDial: Internet dialer version 1.61
--> Initializing modem.
--> Sending: ATH
ATH
OK
--> Sending: ATE1
ATE1
OK
--> Sending: AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","internet"
AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","internet"
OK
--> Modem initialized.
--> Sending: ATD*99#
--> Waiting for carrier.
ATD*99#
CONNECT
--> Carrier detected. Starting PPP immediately.
--> Starting pppd at Sun Jun 9 08:17:34 2013
--> Pid of pppd: 4197
wvdial: utils/wvtask.cc:304: static int WvTaskMan::yield(int): Assertion `*current_task->stack_magic == 0x123678' failed.
Przerwane
Linux is like wigwam. No Windows, no Gates but Apache inside

WARNING ! The administrator has the right to refuse to install WINDOWS, invoking the conscience clause
mackowiakp
 
Posts: 646
Joined: May 23rd, '13, 07:32
Location: Gdynia, Poland

Re: wvdial problem

Postby rolf » Jun 9th, '13, 15:35

:( That's disappointing. What method did you use to install it? I ask because I did not change the name of the rpm and that fact could be a source of confusion for rpm/urpmi.

To be sure, what I did was to remove both packages, wvdial-1.61-4.mga3 and lib64wvstreams4.6-4.6.1-7.mga3. Then, I installed the modified lib64wvstreams4.6-4.6.1-7.mga3 by giving urpmi the path to the rpm (url would work). Then, I installed wvdial.

It's all more of a mystery than anything else, to me. I only just made a stab in the dark about where and how to modify the spec file. Also, the connection I get looks valid but the network is unreachable :?:
rolf
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Mar 25th, '11, 02:58

Re: wvdial problem

Postby mackowiakp » Jun 9th, '13, 17:32

Hmmm. So I just install Your rpm by clicking on link in Your message.
As I understand, first I have to unsinstall wvdial, then install Your rmp and reinstall wvdial again. I am right?
Linux is like wigwam. No Windows, no Gates but Apache inside

WARNING ! The administrator has the right to refuse to install WINDOWS, invoking the conscience clause
mackowiakp
 
Posts: 646
Joined: May 23rd, '13, 07:32
Location: Gdynia, Poland

Re: wvdial problem

Postby rolf » Jun 9th, '13, 17:54

Uninstall both, to copy what I did.

Get to be root in a terminal program. Do the following, and copy/paste the history of the commands and messages back here, in case there is some problem.

Code: Select all
urpme wvdial lib64wvstreams4.6


Then, you should be able to install my rpm by clicking on the link. Then, back to the terminal:

Code: Select all
urpmi wvdial


You should be able to see, in the terminal messages, the rpm is fetched from a Mageia mirror, maybe your DVD.

ISTR, in the past, using the gui software installer from the web browser, there is some situation, such as "package already installed" that does not get reported, so nothing gets installed.
rolf
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Mar 25th, '11, 02:58

Re: wvdial problem

Postby rolf » Jun 9th, '13, 18:32

Further to this, I performed the steps I advised in the previous message and wvdial works for me as reported. I am even allowed to use the internet after I workaround a separate problem in Mageia 3: https://bugs.mageia.org/show_bug.cgi?id=9723#c17
rolf
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Mar 25th, '11, 02:58

Re: wvdial problem

Postby mackowiakp » Jun 9th, '13, 18:37

I try both solution. Still the same error :-(
Linux is like wigwam. No Windows, no Gates but Apache inside

WARNING ! The administrator has the right to refuse to install WINDOWS, invoking the conscience clause
mackowiakp
 
Posts: 646
Joined: May 23rd, '13, 07:32
Location: Gdynia, Poland

Re: wvdial problem

Postby rolf » Jun 9th, '13, 18:45

rolf wrote:Get to be root in a terminal program. Do the following, and copy/paste the history of the commands and messages back here, in case there is some problem.

Code: Select all
urpme wvdial lib64wvstreams4.6


Then, you should be able to install my rpm by clicking on the link. Then, back to the terminal:

Code: Select all
urpmi wvdial


You should be able to see, in the terminal messages, the rpm is fetched from a Mageia mirror, maybe your DVD.


You did exactly this? Could you copy and paste the terminal contents from beginning to end for all this?
rolf
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Mar 25th, '11, 02:58

Re: wvdial problem

Postby mackowiakp » Jun 9th, '13, 19:07

So You have. Sorry, but some wors are in my language but I think everything is understandable.

Code: Select all
[maciek@piotr-l ~]$ lsusb
Bus 004 Device 002: ID 08ff:2580 AuthenTec, Inc. AES2501 Fingerprint Sensor
Bus 007 Device 005: ID 12d1:1436 Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd. E173 3G Modem (modem-mode)
Bus 007 Device 003: ID 0408:030c Quanta Computer, Inc. HP Webcam
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 006 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 007 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub

Code: Select all
[maciek@piotr-l ~]$ su -
Hasło:
[root@piotr-l ~]# urpme wvdial lib64wvstreams4.6
usuwanie lib64wvstreams4.6-4.6.1-7.mga3.x86_64 wvdial-1.61-4.mga3.x86_64
usuwanie pakietu wvdial-1:1.61-4.mga3.x86_64
      1/2: usuwanie wvdial-1:1.61-4.mga3.x86_64
                                 ########################################
usuwanie pakietu lib64wvstreams4.6-4.6.1-7.mga3.x86_64
      2/2: usuwanie lib64wvstreams4.6-4.6.1-7.mga3.x86_64
                                 ########################################

[root@piotr-l ~]# urpmi wvdial
W celu spełnienia zależności zostaną zainstalowane następujące pakiety:
  Pakiet                         Wersja       Wydanie       Architektura
(nośnik "Core Release (distrib1)")
  lib64wvstreams4.6              4.6.1        7.mga3        x86_64 
  wvdial                         1.61         4.mga3        x86_64 
Zostanie wykorzystany dodatkowy obszar na dysku: 2.3MB
Zostanie pobranych 655KB pakietów.
Rozpocząć instalację 2 pakietów? (T/n) T


    $MIRRORLIST: media/core/release/lib64wvstreams4.6-4.6.1-7.mga3.x86_64.rpm
    $MIRRORLIST: media/core/release/wvdial-1.61-4.mga3.x86_64.rpm         
instalowanie lib64wvstreams4.6-4.6.1-7.mga3.x86_64.rpm wvdial-1.61-4.mga3.x86_64.rpm z /var/cache/urpmi/rpms
Przygotowywanie...               ########################################
      1/2: lib64wvstreams4.6     ########################################
      2/2: wvdial                ########################################

Code: Select all
[root@piotr-l ~]# wvdi
wvdial      wvdialconf 
[root@piotr-l ~]# wvdial play
--> WvDial: Internet dialer version 1.61
--> Initializing modem.
--> Sending: ATH
ATH
OK
--> Sending: ATE1
ATE1
OK
--> Sending: AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","internet"
AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","internet"
OK
--> Modem initialized.
--> Sending: ATD*99#
--> Waiting for carrier.
ATD*99#
CONNECT
--> Carrier detected.  Starting PPP immediately.
--> Starting pppd at Sun Jun  9 19:00:56 2013
--> Pid of pppd: 4829
wvdial: utils/wvtask.cc:304: static int WvTaskMan::yield(int): Assertion `*current_task->stack_magic == 0x123678' failed.
Przerwane
Last edited by doktor5000 on Jun 9th, '13, 20:53, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: added code tags, to improve on clarity
Linux is like wigwam. No Windows, no Gates but Apache inside

WARNING ! The administrator has the right to refuse to install WINDOWS, invoking the conscience clause
mackowiakp
 
Posts: 646
Joined: May 23rd, '13, 07:32
Location: Gdynia, Poland

Re: wvdial problem

Postby rolf » Jun 9th, '13, 19:52

Get to be root in a terminal program. Do the following, and copy/paste the history of the commands and messages back here, in case there is some problem.

Code: Select all
urpme wvdial lib64wvstreams4.6

Then, you should be able to install my rpm by clicking on the link. Then, back to the terminal:


Your terminal shows that you skipped this step. Accordingly, urpmi installed the mageia rpm for lib64wvstreams4.6 from the mirror.

Code: Select all
$MIRRORLIST: media/core/release/lib64wvstreams4.6-4.6.1-7.mga3.x86_64.rpm


Start over, remove the two rpms with the first urpme command. Then, install my rpm. Just click on the link and let software installer do it. Then, install wvdial, which comes from the mageia mirrors, which is working, for me. :)

Code: Select all
urpmi wvdial

^^^^The very last move, installing wvdial by itself.
rolf
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Mar 25th, '11, 02:58

Re: wvdial problem

Postby mackowiakp » Jun 9th, '13, 20:19

Thank You Mate! Its good to have contact with REAL expert.
WORKS!!!
Linux is like wigwam. No Windows, no Gates but Apache inside

WARNING ! The administrator has the right to refuse to install WINDOWS, invoking the conscience clause
mackowiakp
 
Posts: 646
Joined: May 23rd, '13, 07:32
Location: Gdynia, Poland

Re: [SOLVED] wvdial problem

Postby rolf » Jun 9th, '13, 20:27

Very good! I should go look at bugzilla and make or join a bug. Will report back.
rolf
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Mar 25th, '11, 02:58

Re: [SOLVED] wvdial problem

Postby isadora » Jun 29th, '13, 11:51

~topic moved by moderator
..........bird from paradise..........

Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.
—Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
User avatar
isadora
 
Posts: 2744
Joined: Mar 25th, '11, 16:03
Location: Netherlands

Re: [SOLVED] wvdial problem

Postby djennings » Jul 3rd, '13, 20:40

There are updated RPMS for Mageia 3 in the Core/Updates_Testing repository. Enable the repository temporarily in Mageia Control Centre to install it.

If you could report back your experiences on bugzilla at https://bugs.mageia.org/show_bug.cgi?id=10470 it will help the QA team get it validated as an official update.

When building the update package I used Fedora's compile flags instead of Rolf's so it would be kinda nice to have confirmation that it works.

Thanks
User avatar
djennings
 
Posts: 613
Joined: Jun 2nd, '11, 23:51
Location: Wokingham, UK


Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron