Error trying to upgrade from m7 to m8

This forum is dedicated to advanced help and support :

Ask here your questions about advanced usage of Mageia. For example you may post here all your questions about network and automated installs, complex server configurations, kernel tuning, creating your own Mageia mirrors, and all tasks likely to be touchy even for skilled users.

Error trying to upgrade from m7 to m8

Postby janpihlgren » Mar 10th, '21, 13:49

I have tried to upgrade my Lenovo ThinkPadAnniversary Edision 25 from Mageia 7 to Mageia 8.
I have tried to do the upgrad from both DVD and USB.
Both times I get an error telling me that there are 48 packages missing and then listen many many files. As I can observe a lot of them is Gtk related.
So what to do next?

Every time I start the ThinkPad i try to use both wifi and cabel net. I then have to shutdown the cable connection.
User avatar
janpihlgren
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Mar 30th, '11, 12:23
Location: Marsta, Sweden

Re: Error trying to upgrade from m7 to m8

Postby morgano » Mar 10th, '21, 15:59

Hej Jan

Did you enable updates repos during upgrade?
I think you need them, and a wired ethernet connection.

https://wiki.mageia.org/en/Mageia_8_Rel ... m_Mageia_7
Mandriva since 2006, then Mageia since 2011 at home & work. Thinkpad T43 & T400, Dell M4400, Acer Aspire 7. Workstation using LVM, LUKS, VirtualBox, BOINC
morgano
 
Posts: 796
Joined: Jun 15th, '11, 17:51
Location: Kivik, Sweden

Re: Error trying to upgrade from m7 to m8

Postby janpihlgren » Mar 23rd, '21, 05:24

I run this command:
rpm -qa --queryformat "%{devel}-%{version}-%{RELEASE}-%{ARCH}\n" |grep i586 |grep devel

That gave nothing, an emty line
I need a more detailed instructions.
Regards//Jan P

This is a part of the error I get when trying to upgrade:
file /usr/lib64/libEGL.s0.1 from install of lib64egl1-1.3.2-16.mga8.x86_64 conflicts with file from package lib64mesaegl1-20.2.3-1.mga7.x86_64
file /usr/imclude/KHR/khrplatform.h from install of lib64glvnd-devel-1.3.2-16.mga8.x86_64 conflicts with file from package lib64mesakhr-devel-20.2.3-1.mga7.x86_64
file /etc/rpm/macros.d/sip.macros from install of python3-sip-1:4.19.24-1.mga8.x86_64 conflicts with file from package python-sip-1:4.18.1-1.mga6.x86_64
python(abi) = 3.8 is needed by x11-proto-devel-2020.1-2.mga8.noarch

then a list of a lot of files(to long to write down manual)
User avatar
janpihlgren
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Mar 30th, '11, 12:23
Location: Marsta, Sweden

Re: Error trying to upgrade from m7 to m8

Postby filip » Mar 23rd, '21, 16:19

I noticed you used different rpm command then the one on wiki. There is a:
Code: Select all
rpm -qa --queryformat "%{NAME}-%{version}-%{RELEASE}-%{ARCH}\n" |grep i586 |grep devel
filip
 
Posts: 455
Joined: May 4th, '11, 22:10
Location: Kranj, Slovenia

Re: Error trying to upgrade from m7 to m8

Postby janpihlgren » Mar 23rd, '21, 16:53

[jan@Myran ~]$ rpm -qa --queryformat "%{NAME}-%{version}-%{RELEASE}-%{ARCH}\n" |grep i586 |grep devel
[jan@Myran ~]$

That does give the same result -- nothing
User avatar
janpihlgren
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Mar 30th, '11, 12:23
Location: Marsta, Sweden

Re: Error trying to upgrade from m7 to m8

Postby doktor5000 » Mar 24th, '21, 00:02

That only means you don't have any i586 -devel packages installed.

The errors you posted look like packaging errors and should be fixed. Seems a file has been moved across packages.
Not sure about the third line due to the mga6 python-sip package. From only glancing at that part I'd say those should be reported as bugs.

What happens if you try to upgrade via urpmi as explained in https://wiki.mageia.org/en/Mageia_8_Rel ... _.28CLI.29
If you have the space available on your / filesystem (or /var if that's a separate filesystem on your box you can download all packages in advance and test via
Code: Select all
urpmi --auto-update --auto --force --download-all --test
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16738
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: Error trying to upgrade from m7 to m8

Postby morgano » Mar 24th, '21, 14:18

Thank you Jan, I see you issued https://bugs.mageia.org/show_bug.cgi?id=28634
Mandriva since 2006, then Mageia since 2011 at home & work. Thinkpad T43 & T400, Dell M4400, Acer Aspire 7. Workstation using LVM, LUKS, VirtualBox, BOINC
morgano
 
Posts: 796
Joined: Jun 15th, '11, 17:51
Location: Kivik, Sweden

Re: Error trying to upgrade from m7 to m8

Postby janpihlgren » Mar 26th, '21, 13:00

My patience have ended.
I done a clean instalation and now have a lot of work to do. ;) That doesn't matter because as beeing an old man I hav a lot of time. but...
I thanks for the help/information Iget so far.
Regards// Jan P
User avatar
janpihlgren
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Mar 30th, '11, 12:23
Location: Marsta, Sweden

Re: Error trying to upgrade from m7 to m8

Postby spring » Apr 5th, '21, 14:32

I had this problem also.

Enabling the online repos during the install (ftp) fixed the issue.

During the install there were many long pauses - using CTRL_ALT_F1 and CTRL_ALT_F4 helped by showing things were happening in the background.
You can also run TOP in CTRL_ALT_F2 and see there is plenty going on even if the other 2 terminals show nothing happening.

When Returning to the GUI CTRL_ALT_F7 - you may need to move Your mouse about a bit to show it's actually there.

After the install, just before the POST INSTALL CONFIG, i was shown a massive list of fails - i ignored this and all was OK for the reboot.

My nVidia graphics driver appeared to be ignoring the xorg.conf, and i was stuck in a stupid low resolution. Forcing the resolution through my DVI in the MCC setup for Graphical server, and then using the SYSTEM SETTINGS to select the newly available max resolution fixed this.

Greetings from MG8 :)
spring
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Jul 13th, '12, 23:05

Re: Error trying to upgrade from m7 to m8

Postby morgano » Apr 6th, '21, 14:16

I know what you mean about it not showing progress. I now issued Bug 28735 - Enhance progress indication, especially during upgrade.

Many "fails" is normal. Sorry to scare you ;)

Yes xorg.conf is meant to be getting less used, i dont remember the details.
Mandriva since 2006, then Mageia since 2011 at home & work. Thinkpad T43 & T400, Dell M4400, Acer Aspire 7. Workstation using LVM, LUKS, VirtualBox, BOINC
morgano
 
Posts: 796
Joined: Jun 15th, '11, 17:51
Location: Kivik, Sweden

Re: Error trying to upgrade from m7 to m8

Postby spring » Apr 9th, '21, 00:26

The Graphics issue is very annoying. Whatever has changed, it's now not possible to force the exactly correct resolution and refresh rate now as before with the xorg.conf

I'm stuck in sub optimal refresh rate now, and some fonts have rainbow coloured edges.

That's the only issue so far, everything else is totally solid, perfectly updated or slightly enhanced. As updates between versions go, this one has been a smooth ride.

:)
spring
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Jul 13th, '12, 23:05

Re: Error trying to upgrade from m7 to m8

Postby morgano » Apr 9th, '21, 09:45

For the graphics, it is nowadays more controlled by the desktop.
I.e in Plasma system settings.
Which desktop do you use?

If all methods fail it need to be investigated and solved. It should default to correct automatically
Upgrade is more a problem than fresh install - we already know at least three cases (in errata) where new Plasma dont read other settings of previous version correctly.
Mandriva since 2006, then Mageia since 2011 at home & work. Thinkpad T43 & T400, Dell M4400, Acer Aspire 7. Workstation using LVM, LUKS, VirtualBox, BOINC
morgano
 
Posts: 796
Joined: Jun 15th, '11, 17:51
Location: Kivik, Sweden

Re: Error trying to upgrade from m7 to m8

Postby spring » Apr 9th, '21, 18:20

In plasma here. The settings for DISPLAY AND MONITOR and in the NVIDIA DISPLAY SETTINGS app both are set to 1080 60hz, as is my custom (and only) profile in the .conf - previously this worked perfectly - a crisp clean images, all fonts clear and no rough edges or strange rainbows on edges.

The DISPLAY DEVICE INFORMATION panel in the nvidia app show it's actually 59.93Hz - this is where the problem is i think. If things really were at 60hz, i would not see the distortions. DIGITAL VIBRENCE has to be set at -100 of the fonts look really bad.

I will try messing with options and restarting X a few times, see if it locks in.
spring
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Jul 13th, '12, 23:05

Re: Error trying to upgrade from m7 to m8

Postby doktor5000 » Apr 9th, '21, 20:55

Please don't hijack other people's threads. Create a new one, that would be greatly appreciated.

Apart from that you should provide at least your /etc/X11/xorg.conf and also etc/X11/xorg.conf.d config droplets if there are any, and also xrandr -q output.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16738
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany


Return to Advanced support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest