How To: using swap on zram.

This forum is dedicated to advanced help and support :

Ask here your questions about advanced usage of Mageia. For example you may post here all your questions about network and automated installs, complex server configurations, kernel tuning, creating your own Mageia mirrors, and all tasks likely to be touchy even for skilled users.

How To: using swap on zram.

Postby JY » Feb 13th, '21, 17:39

Hello!
Do you know an easy way to use zram as swap in Mageia?
I guess one of these packages?:
https://madb.mageia.org/package/list/t_ ... rch/x86_64

Thanks for the help!)
JY
 
Posts: 15
Joined: May 9th, '20, 12:49

Re: How To: using swap on zram.

Postby doktor5000 » Feb 13th, '21, 19:33

Hi there, what amount of RAM do you currently have, and why do you think zram would help, and with what in particular ?
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16463
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: How To: using swap on zram.

Postby JY » Feb 13th, '21, 23:03

Hi! I have a few machines, having from 1.5 to 2 GB of ram...
Swapping is constant and slows everything as soon as browser is used...
So swapping on zram instead of hard disk may be of some help...
JY
 
Posts: 15
Joined: May 9th, '20, 12:49

Re: How To: using swap on zram.

Postby doktor5000 » Feb 14th, '21, 12:18

From a quick look, seems you could try it by installing zramstart package and manually running zramstart as root.
If you want it permanently you should enable mkzram.service which should activate automatically after swap.target and run zramstart.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16463
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: How To: using swap on zram.

Postby morgano » Feb 15th, '21, 17:29

You could also try if a lighter browser suit your needs, like otter-browser, Falkon, and Midori which we have packaged, plus a few more alternatives.
And a light desktop.
Mandriva since 2006, then Mageia since 2011 at home & work. Thinkpad T43 & T400, Dell M4400, Acer Aspire 7. Workstation using LVM, LUKS, VirtualBox, BOINC
morgano
 
Posts: 745
Joined: Jun 15th, '11, 17:51
Location: Kivik, Sweden

Re: How To: using swap on zram.

Postby JY » Feb 16th, '21, 18:57

Thanks to take the time to answer... i'll test zramstart and mkzram.service....
Yes i know other browsers are lighter... but you know, protected contents (more and more commonly used, following Netfilxe's path...) are only in firefox or widevine-enabled browsers, not the light ones...
JY
 
Posts: 15
Joined: May 9th, '20, 12:49


Return to Advanced support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest