Installing open-vm-tools in Mageia possible? (Solved)

This forum is dedicated to advanced help and support :

Ask here your questions about advanced usage of Mageia. For example you may post here all your questions about network and automated installs, complex server configurations, kernel tuning, creating your own Mageia mirrors, and all tasks likely to be touchy even for skilled users.

Installing open-vm-tools in Mageia possible? (Solved)

Postby buster » Jan 29th, '19, 22:07

I use a Linux vm distro many hours a day in VMWare on my Windows 10 laptop. Any distros I have used have open-vm-tools and -desktop in the repositories. I would love to use Mageia. My three questions are:

#1. Why doesn't Mageia include this software in the repositories?
#2. Is there another source for the software, possibly even compiling? (Not eager to do this :) )
#3. Can anyone give me a simple step by step process for installing the VMWare software, which I mess up each time?

Buster, a 'mature' former Mandrake user.
Last edited by buster on Feb 1st, '19, 15:14, edited 1 time in total.
buster
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Jun 14th, '15, 20:38

Re: Installing open-vm-tools in Mageia possible?

Postby doktor5000 » Jan 31st, '19, 20:42

buster wrote:My three questions are:

#1. Why doesn't Mageia include this software in the repositories?


You may want to check again, they are in the repos since mga4.
https://madb.mageia.org/package/list/ap ... n-vm-tools

buster wrote:#3. Can anyone give me a simple step by step process for installing the VMWare software, which I mess up each time?

You're asking about open-vm-tools, or about some other VMWare software ?
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 14689
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: Installing open-vm-tools in Mageia possible?

Postby buster » Feb 1st, '19, 00:39

Thank you very much doktor5000!

I checked my repositories over and over, looked up ways of using vmware's software, and what I needed to do was change the selection before the search in the software management to "all". Once I knew the search error was my fault, I found it without trouble.

Thanks again.
buster
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Jun 14th, '15, 20:38

Re: Installing open-vm-tools in Mageia possible?

Postby isadora » Feb 1st, '19, 09:21

Would you mind, marking this topic [SOLVED]?
You can do so by editing the title/subject of the first message in the topic.
Place [SOLVED] in front of subject/title.

Thanks ahead buster. :)
..........bird from paradise..........

Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.
—Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
User avatar
isadora
 
Posts: 2435
Joined: Mar 25th, '11, 16:03
Location: Amsterdam, the Netherlands


Return to Advanced support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron