labels for hard drive partitions

This forum is dedicated to basic help and support :

Ask here your questions about basic installation and usage of Mageia. For example you may post here all your questions about getting Mageia isos and installing it, configuring your printer, using your word processor etc.

Try to ask your questions in the right sub-forum with as much details as you can gather. the more precise the question will be, the more likely you are to get a useful answer

labels for hard drive partitions

Postby BrotherAdam » Apr 25th, '14, 12:51

I know I am new to this language, etc... but can I ask why there is no way to label the partitions unless they are windows partitions... Fat... I mean, I am running several partitions and trying to remember that sdax is the partition for mageia and sday is the partition for ubuntu is hard for me... I have a fat partition that shows in all versions of Linux as My Files, as that is what I named that partition when I created it, so I can share the same files between versions... but I really want to know, and it probably is handled somewhere but I cannot find it yet, how do I create a file system that keeps my basic files safe and usable between all forms of linux as I figure out which one I want to use, and experiment with stuff... I tried a separate sda but when I tried to automount it, it was being renamed by each version. Thus it created an error for automounting in the other versions...

Thank you.
BrotherAdam

Re: labels for hard drive partitions

Postby jkerr82508 » Apr 25th, '14, 13:27

You can set volume labels using drakdisk expert options:

http://doc.mageia.org/mcc/4/en/content/drakdisk.html

Scroll to the end of that page.

Jim
jkerr82508

Postby BrotherAdam » Apr 25th, '14, 13:54