Installing Mageia on USB for LIVE version

This forum is dedicated to basic help and support :

Ask here your questions about basic installation and usage of Mageia. For example you may post here all your questions about getting Mageia isos and installing it, configuring your printer, using your word processor etc.

Try to ask your questions in the right sub-forum with as much details as you can gather. the more precise the question will be, the more likely you are to get a useful answer

Installing Mageia on USB for LIVE version

Postby HermesLaws » May 8th, '11, 15:55

Hello Mageia Community,

im a near total Linux noob, worked a long time on windows, changed on SuSe a while back tested Ubuntu but came back to Windows (sad gaming addicts), but now its time to get a computer system that does what the user wants it to do.

So im here :)

I got an 4GB USB Stick and an 16GB USB 3.0 stick,
got the 4GB boot able with DSL and Boot as HDD
the 16GB stick had to be formated as ZIP, but now both are able to boot on my Laptop Sony VGN-FW

I installed Fedora on the 16GB and got it boot able + sound + internet .. nice feeling even when i get with YUM the errors with the PGP--Keys .. so no real update or installation of files is possible.

Sadly i dont get Mageia running,

The newest error is
"bio too big device loop0 (2>0)
squashfs error: squashfs_read_data failed to read 0x0
squashfs_super_block

Freeing unused kernel: unable to read 552k freed
"

on F3
i get
cant open /dev/tty2/
cant open /dev/tty3/
cant open /dev/tty4/

Also i got the problem with usbhid
after the 552k freed hes talking about

found alternate module ata_piix for drive ahci
have to insmode ata_piix
have to insmode usbhid

So sadly im working on Windows, trying the sticks sometimes with virtual box, there i get the same error, or sometimes root write problems, still testing some setups.

So when i compare the append of my working fedora
LABEL linux #fedora installition working
kernel vmlinuz0