Force re-install (download) of package (kernel-source)

This forum is dedicated to basic help and support :

Ask here your questions about basic installation and usage of Mageia. For example you may post here all your questions about getting Mageia isos and installing it, configuring your printer, using your word processor etc.

Try to ask your questions in the right sub-forum with as much details as you can gather. the more precise the question will be, the more likely you are to get a useful answer

Force re-install (download) of package (kernel-source)

Postby superbee » Oct 28th, '21, 02:49

Hello,

Mageia noob here. I am following some instructions to compile the kernel from source to solve some driver issues. Usually I can just do

Code: Select all
$ cd /usr/src
$ urpmi kernel-source-5.10.62-1.mga8

then a folder is created in /usr/src which contains the relevant files, which I can build. But if I try to do this then I get

Code: Select all
$ urpmi kernel-source-5.10.62-1.mga8
Package kernel-source-5.10.62-1.mga8-1-1.mga8.noarch is already installed

I don't know why I already have this package installed. I am scared to uninstall and reinstall it because I don't want to brick my system (I don't fully understand how the kernel works). How do I install (download) the files?
superbee

Re: Force re-install (download) of package (kernel-source)

Postby doktor5000 » Oct 28th, '21, 16:56

If it's already installed, then you already have the relevant files, probably because you installed it at some point in time (kernel-source is not installed by default)
But why do you want to install/download it again?

Apart from that, you can't brick anything by uninstalling / installing kernel-source again, it's not required for the system.

It would also help, if you would mention what driver issues you have in particular that you want to fix.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----