mageia 7 to 8 upgrade

This forum is dedicated to basic help and support :

Ask here your questions about basic installation and usage of Mageia. For example you may post here all your questions about getting Mageia isos and installing it, configuring your printer, using your word processor etc.

Try to ask your questions in the right sub-forum with as much details as you can gather. the more precise the question will be, the more likely you are to get a useful answer

mageia 7 to 8 upgrade

Postby gch3 » Apr 6th, '21, 20:38

Started upgrade to Mageia 8 and as with 7 got ctrl alt 2 command warning after a while which I tried and left unit to finish downloading and installing . after a couple of hours came back and attempted to bring the new 8 up and got nothing but a black screen with a cursor in the upper left corner. I can acess Mageia 7 under crtl alt 2 but don't know the command to reactivate the gui. Don't know what went wrong but sure need my Mageia 7 or 8 back.
gch3
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Dec 25th, '13, 21:06

Re: mageia 7 to 8 upgrade

Postby doktor5000 » Apr 6th, '21, 22:19

Would be helpful if you would mention what graphics card/driver you're using.

You could also run drakx11 as root to select a different graphics driver, then reboot to see if that helps.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16463
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: mageia 7 to 8 upgrade

Postby gch3 » Apr 7th, '21, 02:23

card from what I can see is an ROHS hd5670 1g gddr 5 pci-e. I'll try the drakx thing.
gch3
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Dec 25th, '13, 21:06

Re: mageia 7 to 8 upgrade

Postby gch3 » Apr 7th, '21, 02:42

tried drakx11 and same event occurs. This is a dual boot system and boots into win 10 with no problem but that has to be manually chosen from the screen. The mag 7 is automatic if left alone and I think the problem may be there. Not advanced enough with linux to check such things. It did the same thing when I upgraded from 6 to 7 but corrected itself after rebooting. Unfortunately not this time. Thanks for the quick reply Doc.
gch3
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Dec 25th, '13, 21:06

Re: mageia 7 to 8 upgrade

Postby gch3 » Apr 9th, '21, 03:25

If anyone has had this problem I'd sure like to know how they resolved it. If there is a way to restart the upgrade to 8 I could try that or just a way to get the GUI on 7 to work again. I know it's there because I can acess it in console pressing ctrl=alt=f2. Drakx11 doesn't work and I can get into MCC but don't know what to try to do to get the GUI up and running again. Hate to do it if I don't have to but I can download 8 and install it and wipe out everything out but I've got some records in there that I'd hate to loose. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
gch3
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Dec 25th, '13, 21:06

Re: mageia 7 to 8 upgrade

Postby morgano » Apr 9th, '21, 09:29

gch3 wrote:a way to restart the upgrade to 8


Boot classic installer ISO

You can choose to repair/upgrade existing install.

Especially for upgrade/repair it is important you configure online repos when asked.

For instead a fresh install format / and any other system partition ( i.e if you have separate /boot )

Remeber to NOT format /home.

I've got some records in there that I'd hate to loose. Any suggestions would be appreciated.


In any case you should back them up first :)


https://wiki.mageia.org/en/Mageia_8_Rel ... m_Mageia_7
Mandriva since 2006, then Mageia since 2011 at home & work. Thinkpad T43 & T400, Dell M4400, Acer Aspire 7. Workstation using LVM, LUKS, VirtualBox, BOINC
morgano
 
Posts: 745
Joined: Jun 15th, '11, 17:51
Location: Kivik, Sweden

Re: mageia 7 to 8 upgrade

Postby gch3 » Apr 10th, '21, 03:24

Thanks for the suggestions morgano, I was hoping to get a command line that would activate the gui in the old mageia 7 that is functioning in terminal when I screen switch. That may or may not be possible but if I could I could save a lot of info I'd like to not loose. Guess I'll get a thumb drive and download the upgrade and try to run it again. Funny how I've been running Mandrake,Mandriva,Mageia for years and always have something crash on initial install. Maybe it's the dual boot set-up I use. Anyway any further suggesstions I'll try and see if they work. I've only had to reload one time so I guess I've had a pretty lucky run of it.
gch3
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Dec 25th, '13, 21:06

Re: mageia 7 to 8 upgrade

Postby morgano » Apr 10th, '21, 11:58

OK
First make sure you have gone through preparations, in case something there was a cause of problem
https://wiki.mageia.org/en/Mageia_8_Rel ... eparations

Then try the command line method
https://wiki.mageia.org/en/Mageia_8_Rel ... _.28CLI.29

As said there "The best method for performing an upgrade is to use run-level 3 so that the X server and graphical environment is not running. ", but you can also run it in a graphical console. If you are using Plasma, it may refuse rebooting afterwards - if so, issue "reboot".

If you do not have a super stable internet connection, try downloading all first as described in the note.
Mandriva since 2006, then Mageia since 2011 at home & work. Thinkpad T43 & T400, Dell M4400, Acer Aspire 7. Workstation using LVM, LUKS, VirtualBox, BOINC
morgano
 
Posts: 745
Joined: Jun 15th, '11, 17:51
Location: Kivik, Sweden

Re: mageia 7 to 8 upgrade

Postby doktor5000 » Apr 10th, '21, 14:20

It would be helpful if you would add some more details. You wrote that you tried drakx11, and "same event" occurs and "Drakx11 doesn't work" - which event would that be, and what driver did you select ?
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16463
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: mageia 7 to 8 upgrade

Postby gch3 » Apr 11th, '21, 05:25

Used several drivers doktor. vesa, ati Xorg, radeon/flgrx, xati, got similar results in all with end result being a black screen with a small flashing cursor in the upper left hand corner. Don't get me wrong ,drakx11 does work amd I can even access mcc for 7 , just not sure what to check on to fix the problem. Thanks for the response.
gch3
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Dec 25th, '13, 21:06

Re: mageia 7 to 8 upgrade

Postby doktor5000 » Apr 11th, '21, 10:55

Well, you should check journal logs and/or /var/log/Xorg.0.log to see if you can spot any issues, or attach the logs here.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16463
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: mageia 7 to 8 upgrade

Postby morgano » Apr 11th, '21, 18:24

It may be interesting to boot a Mageia Live and see what graphics driver it use successfully.
Mandriva since 2006, then Mageia since 2011 at home & work. Thinkpad T43 & T400, Dell M4400, Acer Aspire 7. Workstation using LVM, LUKS, VirtualBox, BOINC
morgano
 
Posts: 745
Joined: Jun 15th, '11, 17:51
Location: Kivik, Sweden

Re: mageia 7 to 8 upgrade

Postby gch3 » Apr 16th, '21, 04:10

Started to fresh install mga 8 and got to this error after install started to go it was [ DRM:RADEON_init [RADEON] * ERROR* NO UMS SUPPORT IN RADEON MODULE. It prints that three times then goes no further. Any way around that guys or buy a new vid card?
gch3
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Dec 25th, '13, 21:06

Re: mageia 7 to 8 upgrade

Postby morgano » Apr 16th, '21, 13:58

I leave other to answer that. - If not, a bug is to be opened.

If you are lucky the Live boots, and if so it can be installed using its Live installer.
Mandriva since 2006, then Mageia since 2011 at home & work. Thinkpad T43 & T400, Dell M4400, Acer Aspire 7. Workstation using LVM, LUKS, VirtualBox, BOINC
morgano
 
Posts: 745
Joined: Jun 15th, '11, 17:51
Location: Kivik, Sweden

Re: mageia 7 to 8 upgrade

Postby doktor5000 » Apr 16th, '21, 16:50

You could try to remove the nomodeset kernel boot option for the installer and see if it boots that way.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16463
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: mageia 7 to 8 upgrade

Postby gch3 » Apr 17th, '21, 02:48

How do I remove nomodset and where is it? At a loss as you can tell.
gch3
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Dec 25th, '13, 21:06

Re: mageia 7 to 8 upgrade

Postby doktor5000 » Apr 17th, '21, 15:39

Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16463
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: mageia 7 to 8 upgrade

Postby gch3 » Apr 18th, '21, 03:22

Thanks Dok, I'll give it a shot.
gch3
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Dec 25th, '13, 21:06


Return to Basic support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest