7 to 8 update - GUI update not available

This forum is dedicated to basic help and support :

Ask here your questions about basic installation and usage of Mageia. For example you may post here all your questions about getting Mageia isos and installing it, configuring your printer, using your word processor etc.

Try to ask your questions in the right sub-forum with as much details as you can gather. the more precise the question will be, the more likely you are to get a useful answer

7 to 8 update - GUI update not available

Postby varrin » Mar 10th, '21, 01:04

Updated existing mga7 install to the latest packages. Set the GUI updater to check for newer Mageia releases. No dice.

Ran:
Code: Select all
su -c 'mgaapplet-upgrade-helper --new_distro_version=8'


Result was:
Code: Select all
Ignore the following Glib::Object::Introspection & Gtk3 warnings
Subroutine Gtk3::main redefined at /usr/share/perl5/vendor_perl/Gtk3.pm line 525.
retrieved   x86_64?product=Default&version=7&mgaonline_version=3.30
could not find version '8' in the distro update list


What am I missing?

V-
varrin
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Nov 20th, '11, 03:12

Re: 7 to 8 update - GUI update not available

Postby doktor5000 » Mar 10th, '21, 02:16

Hi there, what mirror do you use currently? Could you please post the output of
Code: Select all
urpmq --list-media active --list-url

You may want to compare that to http://mirrors.mageia.org/status as some mirrors might not be completely synced. Also one of our tier 1 mirrors, distrib-coffee recently had or still has a major issue, from what I can tell.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16463
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: 7 to 8 update - GUI update not available

Postby varrin » Mar 10th, '21, 05:36

doktor5000 wrote:Hi there, what mirror do you use currently? Could you please post the output of
Code: Select all
urpmq --list-media active --list-url

You may want to compare that to http://mirrors.mageia.org/status as some mirrors might not be completely synced. Also one of our tier 1 mirrors, distrib-coffee recently had or still has a major issue, from what I can tell.


http://mirror.math.princeton.edu.....

Shows green for mga8 x86_64.

Switched mirrors to kernel.org. Same result.

V-
varrin
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Nov 20th, '11, 03:12

Re: 7 to 8 update - GUI update not available

Postby morgano » Mar 10th, '21, 10:00

I believe we have not enabled this just yet, wanting to polish a couple upgrade issues first.
Mandriva since 2006, then Mageia since 2011 at home & work. Thinkpad T43 & T400, Dell M4400, Acer Aspire 7. Workstation using LVM, LUKS, VirtualBox, BOINC
morgano
 
Posts: 745
Joined: Jun 15th, '11, 17:51
Location: Kivik, Sweden

Re: 7 to 8 update - GUI update not available

Postby varrin » Mar 10th, '21, 18:36

Ahh, okay. Thank you for letting me know! I presume the icon will pop up for the upgrade when the time is right?

V-
Last edited by doktor5000 on Mar 10th, '21, 18:42, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: removed fullquote
varrin
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Nov 20th, '11, 03:12

Re: 7 to 8 update - GUI update not available

Postby filip » Mar 15th, '21, 00:33

varrin wrote:I presume the icon will pop up for the upgrade when the time is right?

Yeah, it should.
filip
 
Posts: 443
Joined: May 4th, '11, 22:10
Location: Kranj, Slovenia

Re: 7 to 8 update - GUI update not available

Postby yoho » Mar 17th, '21, 23:08

A quick inspection of the source code reveals the applet is checking https://releases.mageia.org/api/b/x86_6 ... rsion=3.30 for a new release before notifying you. So you can check from time to time this url with your browser: I believe version 8 will appear at the top once officially available via the applet.
yoho
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Jun 8th, '12, 10:18

Re: 7 to 8 update - GUI update not available

Postby daniewicz » Mar 18th, '21, 22:57

Thank you for this information.
The dude abides.
User avatar
daniewicz
 
Posts: 163
Joined: Feb 10th, '13, 03:37

Re: 7 to 8 update - GUI update not available

Postby daniewicz » Mar 31st, '21, 03:57

Getting closer?
The dude abides.
User avatar
daniewicz
 
Posts: 163
Joined: Feb 10th, '13, 03:37

Re: 7 to 8 update - GUI update not available

Postby morgano » Mar 31st, '21, 16:32

daniewicz wrote:Getting closer?


Step by step :) https://wiki.mageia.org/en/Mageia_8_Err ... ade_issues
Mandriva since 2006, then Mageia since 2011 at home & work. Thinkpad T43 & T400, Dell M4400, Acer Aspire 7. Workstation using LVM, LUKS, VirtualBox, BOINC
morgano
 
Posts: 745
Joined: Jun 15th, '11, 17:51
Location: Kivik, Sweden

Re: 7 to 8 update - GUI update not available

Postby daniewicz » Mar 31st, '21, 19:40

Thanks 8-)
The dude abides.
User avatar
daniewicz
 
Posts: 163
Joined: Feb 10th, '13, 03:37

Re: 7 to 8 update - GUI update not available

Postby adhefe » Apr 5th, '21, 20:42

May I take this topic for a moment?

The mgaapplet advising a new version is here.

In my case, it is said it will download about 16GB and then update.

I'd like to know if this 16GB refers to updates to my installation only. I mean, if I had a lighter install of MGA 7 would it be less than 16GB?

I'd would also like to know if in case of any updating problem (packages that are no longer maintained or was not rebuild or any other problem), the updating script will prompt an advise of this issue and ask for go/no go answer ...

Thanks a lot
adhefe
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Mar 11th, '19, 02:08

Re: 7 to 8 update - GUI update not available

Postby doktor5000 » Apr 6th, '21, 00:19

adhefe wrote:I'd like to know if this 16GB refers to updates to my installation only. I mean, if I had a lighter install of MGA 7 would it be less than 16GB?

Yes and yes. You probably have a lot of bigger packages installed, e.g. games.

IIRC you can also enable a checkbox to first download everything in advance, if you have that much space available in your / filesystem.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16463
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: 7 to 8 update - GUI update not available

Postby morgano » Apr 6th, '21, 14:00

doktor5000 wrote:IIRC you can also enable a checkbox to first download everything in advance, if you have that much space available in your / filesystem.


That option also is supposed to be able to download to a custom location where user know he have space available.

For me that was not working, i created Bug 28724 - mgaapplet upgrade: asks where to first download all packages but dont respect neither location nor "all first"

If you are low on space, you may be better off uninstalling the largest packages before upgrade, and reinstall again afterwards.

Remove old kernels, and consider other stuff (i had a couple really big flatpak).
Mandriva since 2006, then Mageia since 2011 at home & work. Thinkpad T43 & T400, Dell M4400, Acer Aspire 7. Workstation using LVM, LUKS, VirtualBox, BOINC
morgano
 
Posts: 745
Joined: Jun 15th, '11, 17:51
Location: Kivik, Sweden

Re: 7 to 8 update - GUI update not available

Postby adhefe » Apr 10th, '21, 05:36

Ok!
So, please, what mgaapplet really does? I'm still scared of having problems and stop my regular work for a long period without a solution....

I would like the mgaapplet does the proper changes in repos list, respect my options of where to download and install only after I tell it to install.

I'm really afraid because I work with packages like texlive with a huge tree of related packages. The point is that if some of the packages were discontinued, installation will likely failed.

A fresh install woud be safer but I would have to reconstruct and configure all tools from the start and it usually takes a lot of time.

Thanks for any comments
adhefe
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Mar 11th, '19, 02:08

Re: 7 to 8 update - GUI update not available

Postby morgano » Apr 10th, '21, 12:36

Two good friends are the test option of urpmi, and to try download all first. From command line you have best control.

First make sure you have gone through preparations, in case something there was a cause of problem
https://wiki.mageia.org/en/Mageia_8_Rel ... eparations

Then perform the command line method
https://wiki.mageia.org/en/Mageia_8_Rel ... _.28CLI.29

As said there "The best method for performing an upgrade is to use run-level 3 so that the X server and graphical environment is not running. ", but you can also run it in a graphical console. If you are using Plasma, it may refuse rebooting afterwards - if so, issue "reboot".

If you do not have a super stable internet connection, try downloading all first as described in the note.
Mandriva since 2006, then Mageia since 2011 at home & work. Thinkpad T43 & T400, Dell M4400, Acer Aspire 7. Workstation using LVM, LUKS, VirtualBox, BOINC
morgano
 
Posts: 745
Joined: Jun 15th, '11, 17:51
Location: Kivik, Sweden

Re: 7 to 8 update - GUI update not available

Postby adhefe » Apr 11th, '21, 06:02

I guess I understand almost everything but one point.
I'm going to follow the advice to download first and test but it seems there is a kind of conflict between two steps of preparation.
The point is that in one procedure it is recommended to first update rpm and urpmi with MGA 8 repos, then update everything. The download and test option is simply

Code: Select all
urpmi --auto-update --auto --force --download-all --test


with nothing said about updating rpm and urpmi.

Thus I wonder if urpmi scripts is already read to update itself first before updating the whole system...

Thanks again
adhefe
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Mar 11th, '19, 02:08

Re: 7 to 8 update - GUI update not available

Postby sturmvogel » Apr 11th, '21, 09:03

You have to read carefully. There is no conflict in the description, because it makes sense that you exchange the sources to MAG8 before you can test the update. This are the steps described in the release notes.

Code: Select all
#Make sure your MAG7 is up to date with MAG7 repos
urpmi --auto-update --auto --force

#Remove the existing MAG7 repos
urpmi.removemedia -a

#Add the new MAG8 repos
urpmi.addmedia --distrib --mirrorlist 'http://mirrors.mageia.org/api/mageia.8.$ARCH.list'

#Test if an update would run fine. Nothing is updated yet
urpmi --auto-update --auto --force --download-all --test


#IF THERE ARE NO ERRORS, you can run the real update
urpmi --auto-update --auto --force --download-all

#IF THERE ARE ERRORS IN THE TEST RUN, you can either switch back to the MAG7 repos or better solve the issues
#Switch back to MAG7 repos, if required
urpmi.removemedia -a
urpmi.addmedia --distrib --mirrorlist 'http://mirrors.mageia.org/api/mageia.7.$ARCH.list'

sturmvogel
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Jul 30th, '12, 00:39

Re: 7 to 8 update - GUI update not available

Postby adhefe » Apr 11th, '21, 15:51

Yes, I've confused the lines in "Preparation"

Preparations

Back up any important data.
Perform a full system update (most importantly rpm and urpmi).


with a recomendation to first update rpm and urpmi to the mga8 versions...

Sorry and thanks again
adhefe
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Mar 11th, '19, 02:08


Return to Basic support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest