Cannot install chrome.

This forum is dedicated to basic help and support :

Ask here your questions about basic installation and usage of Mageia. For example you may post here all your questions about getting Mageia isos and installing it, configuring your printer, using your word processor etc.

Try to ask your questions in the right sub-forum with as much details as you can gather. the more precise the question will be, the more likely you are to get a useful answer

Cannot install chrome.

Postby nigelc » Jan 9th, '21, 05:34

I am having trouble instating chrome to mageia 7.1


[
Code: Select all
] 4. Installing Chrome

Finally, to Install Google-Chrome on Mageia 7
First, Access the Target location
(Usually Downloads go in the Home folder or when Downloaded with Firefox may be into the Temporary directory /tmp/mozilla*)
With:
Copy

cd ~/Downloads

To Verify that it’s there List the contents with:
Copy

ls . | grep chrome

Then to Setup it with dnf run:
Copy

su -c "dnf install ./google-chrome*.rpm"

Or by urpmi:
Copy

su -c "urpmi ./google-chrome*.rpm"




Don't know where the missing file is??

/tmp/mozilla*)

thanks..
nigelc
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Aug 28th, '11, 09:35

Re: Cannot install chrome.

Postby sturmvogel » Jan 9th, '21, 16:08

Where did you find this instruction?

Please follow the official installation instruction from our Mageia Wiki: https://wiki.mageia.org/en/Installing_Google_Chrome_in_Mageia
sturmvogel
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Jul 30th, '12, 00:39

Re: Cannot install chrome.

Postby tis » Jan 9th, '21, 22:35

If you would like to install without automatic updates, you could
1, download from: https://www.google.com/intl/en_en/chrome/
2, Select RPM package (Fedora/openSuse)
3, open with sotwareinstaller (default)
4, if asked enter administrator password
And it will work... :-)

Better choice if you add repo as wiki describes (https://wiki.mageia.org/en/Installing_G ... ome-stable) and the the key if necessary, then you can install from e.g. MCC or urpmi.
tis
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sep 30th, '19, 20:19

Re: Cannot install chrome.

Postby nigelc » Jan 10th, '21, 03:12

Hello,
I must have missed out something.

Code: Select all
rpmi google-chrome-stable
A requested package cannot be installed:
google-chrome-stable-87.0.4280.141-1.x86_64 (due to unsatisfied libvulkan.so.1()(64bit))
Continue installation anyway? (Y/n) y
While some packages may have been installed, there were failures.
A requested package cannot be installed:
google-chrome-stable-87.0.4280.141-1.x86_64 (due to unsatisfied libvulkan.so.1()(64bit))
Continue installation anyway?
nigelc
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Aug 28th, '11, 09:35

Re: Cannot install chrome.

Postby doktor5000 » Jan 10th, '21, 05:10

What repositories do you have configured, seems like you're missing some basic ones.
Code: Select all
urpmq --list-media active --list-url
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16212
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: Cannot install chrome.

Postby nigelc » Jan 10th, '21, 05:48

Hello,
This is what i've got

Code: Select all
[nigel@localhost Desktop]$ urpmq --list-media active --list-url
Core Release cdrom://x86_64/media/core
Nonfree Release cdrom://x86_64/media/nonfree
Core Release2 http://mirror.aarnet.edu.au/pub/mageia/distrib/6/x86_64/media/core/release
Core Updates http://mirror.aarnet.edu.au/pub/mageia/distrib/6/x86_64/media/core/updates
Nonfree Release2 http://mirror.aarnet.edu.au/pub/mageia/distrib/6/x86_64/media/nonfree/release
Nonfree Updates http://mirror.aarnet.edu.au/pub/mageia/distrib/6/x86_64/media/nonfree/updates
Tainted Release http://mirror.aarnet.edu.au/pub/mageia/distrib/6/x86_64/media/tainted/release
Tainted Updates http://mirror.aarnet.edu.au/pub/mageia/distrib/6/x86_64/media/tainted/updates
Core 32bit Release http://mirror.aarnet.edu.au/pub/mageia/distrib/6/i586/media/core/release
Core 32bit Updates http://mirror.aarnet.edu.au/pub/mageia/distrib/6/i586/media/core/updates
Nonfree 32bit Release http://mirror.aarnet.edu.au/pub/mageia/distrib/6/i586/media/nonfree/release
Nonfree 32bit Updates http://mirror.aarnet.edu.au/pub/mageia/distrib/6/i586/media/nonfree/updates
google-chrome http://dl.google.com/linux/chrome/rpm/stable/x86_64
[nigel@localhos
Last edited by doktor5000 on Jan 10th, '21, 16:49, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: removed duplicate information
nigelc
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Aug 28th, '11, 09:35

Re: Cannot install chrome.

Postby tis » Jan 10th, '21, 09:56

What version of libvulcan do you have?

try to install libvulcan then chrome
Code: Select all
urpmi lib64vulkan-loader1


Another question if it is a Mageia 7 why are you using repos for mga6? please send one of:
Code: Select all
uname -a
uname -r
tis
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sep 30th, '19, 20:19

Re: Cannot install chrome.

Postby nigelc » Jan 11th, '21, 00:44

Hello,
Code: Select all
nigel@localhost Desktop]$
[nigel@localhost Desktop]$
 urpmi lib64vulkan-loader1
bash: urpmi: command not found
[nigel@localhost Desktop]$ su -
Password:
[root@localhost ~]# urpmi lib64vulkan-loader1
No package named lib64vulkan-loader1
[root@localhost ~]# uname -a
Linux localhost 4.14.145-desktop-2.mga6 #1 SMP Fri Sep 20 14:07:10 UTC 2019 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
[root@localhost ~]#

nigelc
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Aug 28th, '11, 09:35

Re: Cannot install chrome.

Postby doktor5000 » Jan 11th, '21, 01:03

I'd heavily suggest that you upgrade to or install Mageia 7 fresh. You simply cannot expect to install the newest software versions on older, outdated OS releases. Mageia 6 is now nearly 3 years old.

libvulkan.so.1 does not exist in Mageia 6, you could only try to install current chrome by ignoring this dependency via urpmi --allow-nodeps.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16212
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: Cannot install chrome.

Postby tis » Jan 11th, '21, 10:34

Thanks,

As I see it is Mageia 6 so you have to use older chrome or the better solution is to update Mageia 7.
Before update please read https://wiki.mageia.org/en/Mageia_7_Rel ... _.28CLI.29

Another not supported!! solution if you try install vulkan library... Maybe You have to install/update not just this library so it could be not easy. If you do it you may make wrong any other app on the system. Even if everything will work well you could make a hidden error which can send to fault e.g. system upgrade.
So Please do not try it, use standard upgrade!
tis
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sep 30th, '19, 20:19

Re: Cannot install chrome.

Postby nigelc » Jan 12th, '21, 05:05

I have installed mGA 7.1.
But,, it comes to the point where it says "login unlock-session c2.
At this point the whole system has hung no nothing...

I can't get into mate
Any suggestions??

Nigelc.
nigelc
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Aug 28th, '11, 09:35

Re: Cannot install chrome.

Postby tis » Jan 12th, '21, 09:33

hi,

What upgrade method did you chose? GUI/MCC, urpmi(CLI), dnf(CLI)
Did you switched off screen-saver before started the upgrade?

Did you get a black screen with a text to log in as root on tty2 (CTRL+ALT+F2) and then unlock session? similar post: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=13182
If yes nothing else happens, just while upgrading the screen-saver cannot be start, because in the background still updating.... if you would like your screen back you have to switch to terminal and unlock as written.... if upgrade stopped then try urpmi --auto-update --auto --force to continue the update https://wiki.mageia.org/en/Mageia_7_Rel ... _.28CLI.29

ps. the correct definition of screen-saver I've mentioned is Lock-Screen, it is automatic in 5min by default when key/mouse inactive, the default lock-screen cannot be run because plasma is still updating... and the update is much more than 5min...
tis
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sep 30th, '19, 20:19

Re: Cannot install chrome.

Postby nigelc » Jan 13th, '21, 02:17

I have tryed just about all options on the dvd.
upgrade, install erc.

how do i turn of the screensaver ?
nigelc
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Aug 28th, '11, 09:35

Re: Cannot install chrome.

Postby tis » Jan 13th, '21, 13:02

hi,

I've never tried to update from DVD, but I think the story is the same, when you've booted Mageia 6 and logged in, you could disable lock-screen... but please don't deal with this. If the system asks to lock out the screen, please do that.

Could you please specify everything!? (viewtopic.php?f=7&t=2731)
- What's your system,
- what have you done,
- where are the story now,
....
tis
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sep 30th, '19, 20:19

Re: Cannot install chrome.

Postby tis » Jan 13th, '21, 14:10

And sorry,

I'm a similar user than you, and I would like to help you. My opinion from my experience that it was because the screen-lock but I rethinked it. While upgrading you may need to login to GUI after files copied and maybe before the upgrade finished, in this case the login screen similar then lock screen cannot be run. But as I sad it is just my opinion.

I've updated 2 mga6 to 7 and the first asked this when I started uprmi update I've linked, there weren't any errors. The test mga6 with lot of packages maybe with externals went to failure when i did a GUI upgrade. I repaired with urpmi, maybe you need to do the same....

Thanks,
And please specify where are you now and what exactly you have done...
tis
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sep 30th, '19, 20:19

Re: Cannot install chrome.

Postby doktor5000 » Jan 13th, '21, 18:30

If you do an upgrade from the DVD, then your normal system is not running and the problem with the screenlock does not exist at all.

@nigelc: Could you please explain what your current issue is with the screensaver?
Also, if you did an install, why not directly install 7.1? Then you don't need to upgrade and don't run into the issue with the screen lock.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16212
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: Cannot install chrome.

Postby tis » Jan 13th, '21, 18:38

Ty,

but after booting DVD and installing updates, the system will restart... :-) the first run!
And we don't know if it is booted from DVD or run install from DVD under mga6....

But you're right.

I don't see clear, what happened, and when appeared:
- Is it the similar screen I've got when I'd updated (Found in here https://forums.opensuse.org/showthread. ... le-anymore)
- how was it updated
- when was it appeared
...
tis
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sep 30th, '19, 20:19

Re: Cannot install chrome.

Postby doktor5000 » Jan 13th, '21, 19:16

Would be appreciated if you would let the OP reply. And the DVD does not have a screenlocker, so this has to be after the install/upgrade, so that part is pointless.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16212
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: Cannot install chrome.

Postby tis » Jan 13th, '21, 19:57

Ok,

I won't try to help and share my exp. I'll just ask in a new topic if I have questions....
tis
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sep 30th, '19, 20:19

Re: Cannot install chrome.

Postby nigelc » Jan 15th, '21, 02:40

Hello,
I cannot see what effect the screensaver would have.
Remember the The Red hat disk Druid Then the Xconfigurator all text and it was lovely.
This seems to be rushed through too quickly.
After the last boot I gave up.
This has caused me to pause for a while with mageia.

cheers /nigelc.
nigelc
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Aug 28th, '11, 09:35

Re: Cannot install chrome.

Postby tis » Jan 15th, '21, 09:18

Thanks for sharing that Mageia 6 is not compatible with Chrome 87.
Thanks for sharing you have tried to update somehow and got a message somewhere.
Thanks for sharing you did something and you have given up.
tis
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sep 30th, '19, 20:19


Return to Basic support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest