Systems is corrupted

This forum is dedicated to basic help and support :

Ask here your questions about basic installation and usage of Mageia. For example you may post here all your questions about getting Mageia isos and installing it, configuring your printer, using your word processor etc.

Try to ask your questions in the right sub-forum with as much details as you can gather. the more precise the question will be, the more likely you are to get a useful answer

Systems is corrupted

Postby nigelc » Jan 6th, '21, 07:50

My system has been corrupted.
my system is /was/running magieia .7.1
The spare disk is bad.
Can I install version 7 or 8?
I have a release 6.disk with a few utilities on it.
Is there a network installer.
Somewhere?


Thank you.
Nigelc
nigelc
 
Posts: 216
Joined: Aug 28th, '11, 09:35

Re: Systems is corrupted

Postby doktor5000 » Jan 6th, '21, 19:30

Hi there, it would help if you add some context information. What / how was actually corrupted, what is the current effect ?

And if you reinstall, as 8 has not been released, reinstall using 7.1 image and keep your /home partition.
I'd not use a network installer (which is always available, simply select "Network Installation" on the downloads page https://www.mageia.org/downloads/ ) but get a regular DVD image and install using an USB drive as it's much quicker to get your system going again.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16224
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: Systems is corrupted

Postby benmc » Jan 7th, '21, 04:46

nigelc wrote:I have a release 6.disk with a few utilities on it.
Is there a network installer.


yes, you already have one - your release 6 DISK.
if it is an actual Classical Install DISK, not a Live Install disk, boot it up and then, when the *looking for USB Devices* screen pops up, eject the disk.

if it is a USB, you can do the same, but there is some risk of corruption to the device, as it may be active when you remove it.

Then navigate the menu to network choices, and manually choose the mirror and type *7* over the *6*.
eg:
Code: Select all
http://mirror.internode.on.net/pub/mageia/distrib/6/i586
becomes
Code: Select all
http://mirror.internode.on.net/pub/mageia/distrib/7/i586


proceed with your recovery
benmc
 
Posts: 937
Joined: Sep 2nd, '11, 12:45
Location: Pirongia, New Zealand

Re: Systems is corrupted

Postby nigelc » Jan 17th, '21, 01:55

Hello,

My system does not like booting from usb just dvd or cdrom.
nigelc.
nigelc
 
Posts: 216
Joined: Aug 28th, '11, 09:35

Re: Systems is corrupted

Postby benmc » Jan 17th, '21, 02:27

ok,

so you have your Mageia6 DVD.
boot up to it and start the install.
when the screen comes up searching for the dvd eject the disk.
you can then set the installation to behave as a net install- choose nfs server, ftp server or http server,
use *tab* to shift the highlight , *up / down / left / right* arrows to navigate and *enter* to move to the next window

as previously mentioned, you will have to change the target mirror from *6* to *7*

regards
benmc
 
Posts: 937
Joined: Sep 2nd, '11, 12:45
Location: Pirongia, New Zealand

Re: Systems is corrupted

Postby nigelc » Jan 17th, '21, 02:50

an other error:
know how to find the errors.
ALT F3
No network connexion!
Installed Updates: failed ro add Media

Disk activity light flashing.
nigelc
 
Posts: 216
Joined: Aug 28th, '11, 09:35

Re: Systems is corrupted

Postby nigelc » Jan 17th, '21, 03:23

benmc,
I can't seem to get it.
I could call you in NZ.
Phoned calls are cheap using the nbn if you give me youre phone. number.
0011 61 2 4759 2695.
nigel
nigelc
 
Posts: 216
Joined: Aug 28th, '11, 09:35

Re: Systems is corrupted

Postby nigelc » Jan 17th, '21, 05:18

nigelc
 
Posts: 216
Joined: Aug 28th, '11, 09:35

Re: Systems is corrupted

Postby doktor5000 » Jan 17th, '21, 12:26

Please don't just reference another thread. Could you at least describe which of the particular issues you encounter ?
I did not expect the grub boot-loader password question and tried the root password.
On the restart it could not log-in and it froze at the "Welcome to localhost" dialog.

Do you have an issue with the grub bootloader password, or is it the login manager screen that is freezing?

Also, I'd suggest to not install updates from the network during installation, as those are mga6 updates and the install would take a really long time.
Simply do a default install of mga6 without updates, as you later would have to upgrade to mga7 anyways.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16224
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany


Return to Basic support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest