Page 1 of 1

drakconf segfaults.

PostPosted: May 14th, '18, 19:09
by jiml8
I have just completed the "great upgrade" and now I can't start drakconf.

Trying it from a terminal yields the following messages:
Code: Select all
Too late to run INIT block at /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.22.2/x86_64-linux-thread-multi/Glib/Object/Introspection.pm line 257.
Ignore the following Glib::Object::Introspection & Gtk3 warnings
Subroutine Gtk3::main redefined at /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.22.3/Gtk3.pm line 525.
FATAL: Could not allocate gigacage memory with maxAlignment = 34359738368, totalSize = 103079215104.
(Make sure you have not set a virtual memory limit.)
Ignore the following Glib::Object::Introspection & Gtk3 warnings
Subroutine Gtk3::main redefined at /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.22.3/Gtk3.pm line 525.

Re: drakconf segfaults.

PostPosted: May 14th, '18, 21:03
by martinw
Looks like that may come from the updated webkit libraries:
https://bugs.webkit.org/show_bug.cgi?id=183329
What does
Code: Select all
ulimit -v

and (as root)
Code: Select all
sysctl vm.overcommit_memory

show?

Re: drakconf segfaults.

PostPosted: May 15th, '18, 01:20
by jiml8
ulimit returns unlimited, and I have set vm.overcommit_memory to 2. Did that a long time ago.

Re: drakconf segfaults.

PostPosted: May 15th, '18, 08:06
by doktor5000
jiml8 wrote:ulimit returns unlimited, and I have set vm.overcommit_memory to 2. Did that a long time ago.

See https://bugs.webkit.org/show_bug.cgi?id=183329#c30

Re: drakconf segfaults.

PostPosted: May 15th, '18, 08:47
by jiml8
yes that appears to be it.

My reasons for keeping overcommit =2 are very similar to Daniel Kondor's, and I don't plan to change it. I'll just have to find another way.

Re: drakconf segfaults.

PostPosted: May 15th, '18, 09:44
by martinw
Try the workaround in https://bugs.webkit.org/show_bug.cgi?id=183329#c38:
Setting the environment variable GIGACAGE_ENABLED=0 is a good workaround.

I suggest filing a bug in the Mageia Bugzilla, in case other users hit this problem, and also to alert the Mageia maintainer that an update is needed when the bug is fixed upstream.

Re: drakconf segfaults.

PostPosted: May 15th, '18, 17:05
by jiml8
Doesn't work.
Code: Select all
root@dadsbox:samba> printenv | grep GIGACAGE
GIGACAGE_ENABLED=0
root@dadsbox:samba> drakconf
Too late to run INIT block at /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.22.2/x86_64-linux-thread-multi/Glib/Object/Introspection.pm line 257.
Ignore the following Glib::Object::Introspection & Gtk3 warnings
Subroutine Gtk3::main redefined at /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.22.3/Gtk3.pm line 525.
FATAL: Could not allocate gigacage memory with maxAlignment = 34359738368, totalSize = 103079215104.
(Make sure you have not set a virtual memory limit.)
Ignore the following Glib::Object::Introspection & Gtk3 warnings
Subroutine Gtk3::main redefined at /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.22.3/Gtk3.pm line 525.

Re: drakconf segfaults.

PostPosted: May 16th, '18, 18:33
by doktor5000
martinw wrote:I suggest filing a bug in the Mageia Bugzilla, in case other users hit this problem, and also to alert the Mageia maintainer that an update is needed when the bug is fixed upstream.

Re: drakconf segfaults.

PostPosted: May 25th, '18, 20:23
by jiml8
I am sufficiently fed up with kmail that I am determined to migrate away from it. Too bad; I have been using it for 20 years now, but it has become a troublesome POS for the last few years. I'm through with it. Cannot deal with this any more.

So, I have to get evolution working.

So, I looked again at this GIGACAGE_ENABLED=0 workaround, and with evolution it works. I have now set that environment variable in my KDE startup and, when I restart KDE, I can invoke evolution within KDE. I also set it in my .bashrc file, and I can invoke evolution that way.

Drakconf still won't start, though, even though I put that export within my /root/.bashrc file as well.

Re: drakconf segfaults.

PostPosted: May 25th, '18, 20:50
by jiml8
Sorry, I guess my previous comment would be unclear to most people.

Along about the time I was filing a bug at bugzilla, I was trying to get evolution to start and was encountering the identical error in evolution. So I appended to my bugzilla report that I had just discovered that evolution did the same thing.

Now, a few days later, I have fiddled with this some more and discovered that I can get evolution to start.

So, for those reading this, this is why the references to evolution appeared. It was not really just out of thin air. :D

Re: drakconf segfaults.

PostPosted: May 25th, '18, 21:31
by martinw
The reason setting GIGACACHE=0 doesn't work with drakconf is that /usr/bin/drakconf is a wrapper that runs the main drakconf program via pkexec. From the pkexec man page:
The environment that PROGRAM will run it[sic], will be set to a minimal known and safe environment in order to avoid injecting code through LD_LIBRARY_PATH or similar mechanisms.

You can work around this by running the main drakconf program via su:
Code: Select all
su -c /usr/libexec/drakconf