(SOLVED)Rpmdrake broke

This forum is dedicated to basic help and support :

Ask here your questions about basic installation and usage of Mageia. For example you may post here all your questions about getting Mageia isos and installing it, configuring your printer, using your word processor etc.

Try to ask your questions in the right sub-forum with as much details as you can gather. the more precise the question will be, the more likely you are to get a useful answer

(SOLVED)Rpmdrake broke

Postby philr » Apr 10th, '18, 01:46

Have started to get this error,

A fatal error occurred: couldn't open RPM DB () at /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.20.1/Rpmdrake/open_db.pm line 74

cant update any thing not even if I download rpm package and then try to install

if any more info needed post here will check back daily
still using mag 5 as not skilled enough to get mag 6 to work, hangs at login screen after both trying to upgrade from mag5
and when I try fresh install, Any help gratefully taken
Last edited by philr on Apr 12th, '18, 20:15, edited 1 time in total.
philr
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Apr 10th, '18, 01:44

Re: Rpmdrake broke

Postby Lebarhon » Apr 10th, '18, 14:02

Hi and Welcome,

For your DB, try in a console with root rights:
Code: Select all
#rm -f /var/lib/rpm/__db*     (two underscores)
#rpm --rebuilddb
Lebarhon
 
Posts: 408
Joined: Mar 22nd, '11, 22:24
Location: France

Re: Rpmdrake broke

Postby philr » Apr 10th, '18, 20:54

hi how do you get console with root rites, got console typed all in, did not work must not have root rights, am total noob soz
philr
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Apr 10th, '18, 01:44

Re: Rpmdrake broke

Postby benmc » Apr 10th, '18, 22:08

philr wrote:still using mag 5 as not skilled enough to get mag 6 to work, hangs at login screen after both trying to upgrade from mag5
and when I try fresh install, Any help gratefully taken


(really should start a new thread regarding this problem.)

how much spare space do you have on your / partition?
which Desktop Environment (and or Display Manager) are you using?

please advise graphics card / mobo / ram ...etc.
benmc
 
Posts: 771
Joined: Sep 2nd, '11, 12:45
Location: Pirongia, New Zealand

Re: Rpmdrake broke

Postby benmc » Apr 10th, '18, 22:35

philr wrote:how do you get console with root rites


choices are:
open MCC (Mageia Control Centre), chooses system tab and there is an option to launch a root terminal.

open a standard terminal and enter
Code: Select all
 su -
then your password.

the $ will change to #.
then run the commands provided by Lebarhon
benmc
 
Posts: 771
Joined: Sep 2nd, '11, 12:45
Location: Pirongia, New Zealand

Re: Rpmdrake broke

Postby philr » Apr 12th, '18, 20:14

Thank you updating fine now
philr
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Apr 10th, '18, 01:44


Return to Basic support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest

cron