konsole running at 100% cpu

This forum is dedicated to basic help and support :

Ask here your questions about basic installation and usage of Mageia. For example you may post here all your questions about getting Mageia isos and installing it, configuring your printer, using your word processor etc.

Try to ask your questions in the right sub-forum with as much details as you can gather. the more precise the question will be, the more likely you are to get a useful answer

konsole running at 100% cpu

Postby nigelc » Aug 26th, '17, 08:40

Sometimes konsole is running 100% cpu
It did a few moments after exiting from htop, but is not consistent.

cheers.
nigelc
 
Posts: 179
Joined: Aug 28th, '11, 09:35

Re: konsole running at 100% cpu

Postby doktor5000 » Aug 26th, '17, 11:33

You're missing all essential details.
Like what Mageia release, what is konsole doing at that time (strace -p can help with that), what is the full command for konsole at that time (ps auxwww can help with that) are there any children or threads spawned by konsole (pstree -pas can help with that) and does this also happen with a freshly created user?

EDIT: If you're using nvidia driver and this is with mga6, the following might be relevant (which is not a konsole issue):
https://devtalk.nvidia.com/default/topi ... dia-driver
https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=343803
https://forum.kde.org/viewtopic.php?f=289&t=121533
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 14539
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: konsole running at 100% cpu

Postby nigelc » Sep 4th, '17, 10:02

I have found out how to make it do it.
If the konsole is started via the right mouse button it will go at 100% after a few moments.

Code: Select all
nigel@endor ~]$ ps axu |grep konsole
nigel      599  0.0  0.0  12292   872 pts/0    S+   17:57   0:00 grep --color konsole
nigel    32635  0.7  0.2 552628 53184 ?        Sl   17:57   0:00 konsole [kdeinit5] --workdir /home/nigel


normally it is this:
Code: Select all
nigel@endor ~]$ ps axu |grep konsole
nigel     2151  5.6  0.2 550800 59904 ?        Sl   17:59   0:00 /bin/konsole
nigel     2191  0.0  0.0  12288   984 pts/0    S+   17:59   0:00 grep --color konsole
[nigel@endor ~]$


cheers
nigelc
 
Posts: 179
Joined: Aug 28th, '11, 09:35

Re: konsole running at 100% cpu

Postby wintpe » Sep 4th, '17, 12:34

makes no difference, without us being aware what version it is you are having this issue with.

regards peter
Redhat 6 Certified Engineer (RHCE)
Sometimes my posts will sound short, or snappy, however its realy not my intention to offend, so accept my apologies in advance.
wintpe
 
Posts: 1177
Joined: May 22nd, '11, 17:08
Location: Rayleigh,, Essex , UK

Re: konsole running at 100% cpu

Postby nigelc » Sep 4th, '17, 13:40

I am using mageia 6.
Well it does make a difference. I can get it to do it within few seconds.
cheers.
nigelc
 
Posts: 179
Joined: Aug 28th, '11, 09:35

Re: konsole running at 100% cpu

Postby doktor5000 » Sep 4th, '17, 18:34

Well, you only provided one part of the information, unless you provide the rest there's not much we can do ...
Also your ps outputs don't show the 100% cpu usage, on the contrary the lower one shows ~6% cpu usage and the other one 0.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 14539
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: konsole running at 100% cpu

Postby nigelc » Sep 5th, '17, 08:35

It has done it now:

Code: Select all
Tasks: 243 total,   2 running, 241 sleeping,   0 stopped,   0 zombie
%Cpu(s): 12.8 us,  0.2 sy,  0.0 ni, 86.9 id,  0.1 wa,  0.0 hi,  0.0 si,  0.0 st
KiB Mem : 24609820 total, 20641820 free,  1127212 used,  2840788 buff/cache
KiB Swap:  8424412 total,  8424412 free,        0 used. 23083024 avail Mem

  PID USER      PR  NI    VIRT    RES    SHR S  %CPU %MEM     TIME+ COMMAND                       
 7845 nigel     20   0  538204  54384  41076 R 100.0  0.2   1:19.74 konsole                       
 6836 nigel     20   0 3136704 106848  81540 S   1.0  0.4   1:38.77 kwin_x11



This was running top.

cat /etc/issue
Mageia release 6 (Official) for x86_64
Kernel 4.9.43-desktop-1.mga6 on an 8-processor x86_64 / \l


cheers
nigelc
 
Posts: 179
Joined: Aug 28th, '11, 09:35

Re: konsole running at 100% cpu

Postby doktor5000 » Sep 5th, '17, 18:04

The important parts are still missing:
doktor5000 wrote:what is konsole doing at that time (strace -p can help with that), what is the full command for konsole at that time (ps auxwww can help with that) are there any children or threads spawned by konsole (pstree -pas can help with that) and does this also happen with a freshly created user?
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 14539
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: konsole running at 100% cpu

Postby nigelc » Sep 7th, '17, 06:58

Hello,
When I first installed Mageia 6 It asked for root user and then the first user "nigel"
Later on when I added the second user "user1" it wanted a user ID of 1000, but it was 500 as that what it was before.
I tried to add another user "paul" and the system wanted it be 1000. So something is wrong.
Here is a copy of the /home dir:
Some of the stuff is from puppy linux and skype.


Code: Select all
[nigel@endor home]$ ls -l
total 232760
-rw-r--r--  1 root  root        302 Nov 26  2015 fstab
-rw-r--r--  1 root  root        294 Nov 26  2015 fstab.1
drwxr-xr-x 18 nigel nigel      4096 Aug 30  2014 live/
drwx------  2 root  root      16384 May  1  2014 lost+found/
drwxr-xr-x 83 nigel nigel     20480 Sep  7 09:53 nigel/
drwx------ 21  1000  1000      4096 Aug  1 17:56 paul/
drwxr-xr-x  3 root  root       4096 Nov  6  2014 puppy/
-rw-r--r--  1 root  root  170680352 Nov  6  2014 puppy_tahr_6.0.sfs
-rw-r--r--  1 root  root   36794368 Sep 26  2014 skype-4.3.0.37.sfs
drwx------ 31 user1   501      4096 Sep  7 14:33 user1/
-rw-r--r--  1 root  root   30801920 Nov  6  2014 zdrv_tahr_6.0.sfs

should I change all the user ids ?
nigelc
 
Posts: 179
Joined: Aug 28th, '11, 09:35

Re: konsole running at 100% cpu

Postby wintpe » Sep 7th, '17, 11:18

All linux distributions, made this change at around 2 releases ago.

so this was true for mageia 5 and 6.

500 is no longer the base userid for new users to be created at.

all systems now start at 1000.

Does it make any difference.

yes and No

In many linux distributions, but not mageia at present

there is a setting in the kernel and pam stack that restricts users over id 1000

pam_succeed_if.so uid > 1000

the idea of this pam module, is to restrict access to the system by users bellow that ID.

as it is deemed those users are system accounts.

So what mageia is doing is shifting its starting id to be in line with other linux's as there could be a conflict if for example your userid was 500, and on centos, debian or other that is assigned to a system or application account.

over NFS you would have system level privileges of any files that were inadvertently shared by that uid.

However this is off topic/not related to your original post.

regards peter
Redhat 6 Certified Engineer (RHCE)
Sometimes my posts will sound short, or snappy, however its realy not my intention to offend, so accept my apologies in advance.
wintpe
 
Posts: 1177
Joined: May 22nd, '11, 17:08
Location: Rayleigh,, Essex , UK

Re: konsole running at 100% cpu

Postby doktor5000 » Sep 7th, '17, 17:18

nigelc wrote:Hello,
When I first installed Mageia 6 It asked for root user and then the first user "nigel"
Later on when I added the second user "user1" it wanted a user ID of 1000, but it was 500 as that what it was before.
I tried to add another user "paul" and the system wanted it be 1000. So something is wrong.
[...]
should I change all the user ids ?


No you should please stick to the topic, this one is about konsole using 100% CPU. If you have a question regarding your userids then please open a separate thread for that.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 14539
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: konsole running at 100% cpu

Postby AstorBG » Nov 28th, '18, 19:51

I am infected by the same problem also described by op. Konsole takes 100% CPU of one of my cores.
Such annoying bug! So, back to M5.
Mageia 5.1, KDE4, x86_64
AstorBG
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Jan 29th, '13, 21:31

Re: konsole running at 100% cpu

Postby nigelc » Nov 29th, '18, 02:48

Hello,
I solved the problem by switching to MATE desktop.
nigelc
 
Posts: 179
Joined: Aug 28th, '11, 09:35

Re: konsole running at 100% cpu

Postby AstorBG » Nov 29th, '18, 10:14

nigelc wrote:Hello,
I solved the problem by switching to MATE desktop.


Yes, the problem (as doctor5000 pointed) has to do something with nVidia drivers, konsole fonts/glyphs rendering and KF5 version.
I have nVidia GTX 750ti and as soon as I install proprietary driver and it appears. The problem does not appear in Kubuntu 18.04 though.
However, I cant use anything else but Mageia :D.
Mageia 5.1, KDE4, x86_64
AstorBG
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Jan 29th, '13, 21:31


Return to Basic support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest