Post your desktop

Here wizards, magicians, sorcerers and everybody can rest a bit and talk about anything they like.

Just remember to respect the rules.

Re: Post your desktop

Postby djohnston » May 10th, '13, 22:58

isadora wrote:Very nice djohnston, i love this serene minimalism. 8-)

Thanks. You probably know Agust designs most of the themes for e17. He does excellent work.
djohnston
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Jun 26th, '11, 06:27

Re: Post your desktop

Postby VoodooDali » May 11th, '13, 01:22

That's a gorgeous desktop. How are you liking e17?
Image
Voo #557749
running "Celene"
ASUS G73Jh
Intel Core i7 720QM
AMD (ATi) Mobility Radeon HD 5870
Mageia 4
User avatar
VoodooDali
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Mar 24th, '13, 18:11
Location: Chicago, IL, US

Re: Post your desktop

Postby djohnston » May 11th, '13, 06:14

VoodooDali wrote:That's a gorgeous desktop. How are you liking e17?

Thanks. I've been running e17 for some years now. I like it because it's light on resources, yet can be very "blingy". Mageia's implementation is very good, although not all the modules are working. The devs have a lot on their plate right now.

By the way, the conky configs take a lot of tweaking, testing and patience. I can't just take that one and slap it on a RazorQt desktop with xcompmgr, compton or cairo. Well I can, but not everything will work the same way without some adjustments. Conky will do true transparency, as long as you have a composite manager running, and are willing to experiment.
djohnston
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Jun 26th, '11, 06:27

Re: Post your desktop

Postby VoodooDali » May 11th, '13, 16:21

I may re-visit e17 after the devs have had a chance to rebuild the modules. :)

As for conky and the pseudo-transparency issue, I just got that info from conky's project page on sourceforge. Maybe it's old info? In any case, I tried the transparency settings and I just got a black box on both KDE and e17. :lol: I'll try it again, but I'm tired and frustrated from tweaking and taking a break from it. :)
Image
Voo #557749
running "Celene"
ASUS G73Jh
Intel Core i7 720QM
AMD (ATi) Mobility Radeon HD 5870
Mageia 4
User avatar
VoodooDali
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Mar 24th, '13, 18:11
Location: Chicago, IL, US

Re: Post your desktop

Postby djohnston » May 11th, '13, 19:02

VoodooDali wrote:I may re-visit e17 after the devs have had a chance to rebuild the modules. :)

Well, I just did an update. Most, if not all, e17 packages are in the updates. But, all failed to update, so I'll have to post the transaction list.

VoodooDali wrote:As for conky and the pseudo-transparency issue, I just got that info from conky's project page on sourceforge. Maybe it's old info? In any case, I tried the transparency settings and I just got a black box on both KDE and e17.

If the conky authors say it's not "true" transparency, they're probably right and I'm probably wrong. I think I know a way to test that later on. I am just a lowly grasshopper, consuming digital electrons. ;)

Anyway, FWIW, here are the config files for what you see in the screenshot. First, .conkyrc:

Code: Select all
# set to yes if you want Conky to be forked in the background
background yes
use_xft yes
xftfont sans:size=10
xftalpha 0.5
update_interval 1.0
total_run_times 0

own_window yes
# ARGB can be used for real transparency, note that a composite manager is required for real transparency
own_window_argb_visual true
# Set the transparency alpha value from 0 to 255
own_window_argb_value 0
own_window_type desktop
own_window_transparent yes
own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager
double_buffer yes

minimum_size 500 5
maximum_width 242
draw_shades no
draw_outline no
draw_borders no
draw_graph_borders yes
   
default_color Gold
default_shade_color black
default_outline_color white

alignment top_right
gap_x 10
gap_y 20
no_buffers yes
uppercase no
cpu_avg_samples 2
override_utf8_locale no

TEXT
${color orange}${hr 2}
${color}${alignc}System
${color orange}${hr 2}   
${color}$sysname $alignr $kernel
${time %A %b %d, %Y %I:%M %p %Z}
Uptime: $uptime
Processes: $processes ${alignr}Running:$running_processes
${color orange}${hr 2}
${color}CPU: ${alignr}${cpu}%
${color green}${cpubar 6 cpu1}
${color}RAM: $mem of $memmax  ${alignr}$memperc%
${color green}${membar 6}
${color}SWAP: $swap of $swapmax  ${alignr}$swapperc%
${color green}${swapbar 6}
${color}Root: ${fs_used /} of ${fs_size /}${alignr}${fs_used_perc /}%
${color green}${fs_bar 6 /}
${color}${goto 50}AVAILABLE${goto 150}USED
ZRAM: ${exec cat /proc/swaps |grep zram |cut -f 2}KB         ${goto 150}${exec cat /proc/swaps |grep zram |cut -f 3}KB
${color orange}${hr 2}
${color}${alignc}Network
${color orange}${hr 2}
${color}${alignc}  eth0 ${addr eth0}
Inbound $alignr ${downspeed eth0} kb/s
${downspeedgraph eth0 00ff00 00ff00}
Outbound $alignr ${upspeed eth0} kb/s
${upspeedgraph eth0 00ff00 00ff00}
${color orange}${hr 2}
${color}${alignc}Timezones:
${color orange}${hr 2}
${color}London ${alignr}${tztime Europe/London %-I:%M %p}
Paris ${alignr}${tztime Europe/Paris %-I:%M %p}
Calcutta ${alignr}${tztime Asia/Kolkata %-I:%M %p}
Tokyo ${alignr}${tztime Asia/Tokyo %-I:%M %p}
Sydney ${alignr}${tztime Australia/Sydney %-I:%M %p}
Honolulu ${alignr}${tztime US/Hawaii %-I:%M %p}
Los Angeles ${alignr}${tztime America/Los_Angeles %-I:%M %p}
New York ${alignr}${tztime America/New_York %-I:%M %p}
${color orange}${hr 2}
${color}${alignc}${execi 300 ~/scripts/weather.sh 73013}
${color orange}${hr 2}

The own_window parameters at the top of the file are the keys. Whether the same will work in Kwin or not, I don't know. e17 needs a desktop file to autostart a program at login. There's another way, but a desktop file is the easiest. So, here's the desktop file I use to autostart conky at login:

Code: Select all
[Desktop Entry]
Type=Application
Name=conky
Exec=sleep 10;conky
Icon=
Categories=System;

The sleep 10 seconds command is there because conky will start in the upper left corner without it, instead of the upper right corner, where I want it. The weather.sh script is called from .conkyrc in the next to the last line. It just displays basic info for current weather for your location.

Code: Select all
#!/bin/sh
#AccuWeather (r) RSS weather tool for conky
#
#USAGE: weather.sh <locationcode>
#
#(c) Michael Seiler 2007

METRIC=0 #Should be 0 or 1; 0 for F, 1 for C

if [ -z $1 ]; then
    echo
    echo "USAGE: weather.sh <locationcode>"
    echo
    exit 0;
fi

curl -s http://rss.accuweather.com/rss/liveweather_rss.asp\?metric\=${METRIC}\&locCode\=$1 | perl -ne 'if (/Currently/) {chomp;/\<title\>Currently: (.*)?\<\/title\>/; print "$1"; }'

Change the ZIP code in the next to the last line of .conkyrc to match your location in the U.S. If you are outside the U.S., go to http://accuweather.com to find your corresponding weather code.
djohnston
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Jun 26th, '11, 06:27

Re: Post your desktop

Postby VoodooDali » May 11th, '13, 19:59

Wow :shock: that's a gold mine of information, and I'm gonna take a little time to study it. Thanks! :mrgreen:
Image
Voo #557749
running "Celene"
ASUS G73Jh
Intel Core i7 720QM
AMD (ATi) Mobility Radeon HD 5870
Mageia 4
User avatar
VoodooDali
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Mar 24th, '13, 18:11
Location: Chicago, IL, US

Re: Post your desktop

Postby djohnston » May 15th, '13, 07:22

@VoodooDali,

I found this on Sourceforge's conky page under Configuration Settings:

own_window_argb_visual
Boolean, use ARGB visual? ARGB can be used for real transparency, note that a composite manager is required for real transparency. This option will not work as desired (in most cases) in conjunction with 'own_window_type override'.

own_window_argb_value
When ARGB visuals are enabled, this use this to modify the alpha value used. Valid range is 0-255, where 0 is 0% opacity, and 255 is 100% opacity.

I haven't found a way to show conky above an application window, so I did the next best thing. I set one of conky's window parameters to "decorated", which gave me a way to drag conky's window around the screen. In the screenshot below, you see it above two e17 desktop gadgets. They're the same concept as KDE plasma widgets. Anyway, you can clearly see the Places and clock gadgets below conky's display.

Image
djohnston
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Jun 26th, '11, 06:27

Re: Post your desktop

Postby VoodooDali » May 15th, '13, 15:58

Well, interesting. Experimenting a little with my conkyrc file, using your own-window settings, I do indeed get transparency without using feh. So I wonder if the previous statement about pseudo-transparency is reflecting old info. Thanks for looking into this. :D cheers
Image
Voo #557749
running "Celene"
ASUS G73Jh
Intel Core i7 720QM
AMD (ATi) Mobility Radeon HD 5870
Mageia 4
User avatar
VoodooDali
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Mar 24th, '13, 18:11
Location: Chicago, IL, US

Re: Post your desktop

Postby VoodooDali » May 15th, '13, 19:40

With your help, I have a working conky now. :) I'm pretty happy with it, except that when I click on the empty KDE desktop it disappears. :/

I'm sure that this must have something to do with my own-window settings, but I can't figure out what. Any ideas?

EDIT: Nevermind; I figured it out :) I just needed to set my own_window_type to "normal" instead of "desktop".
Image
Voo #557749
running "Celene"
ASUS G73Jh
Intel Core i7 720QM
AMD (ATi) Mobility Radeon HD 5870
Mageia 4
User avatar
VoodooDali
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Mar 24th, '13, 18:11
Location: Chicago, IL, US

Re: Post your desktop

Postby djohnston » May 16th, '13, 05:46

VoodooDali wrote:EDIT: Nevermind; I figured it out :) I just needed to set my own_window_type to "normal" instead of "desktop".


That's what I meant by experimentation with the settings. Sometimes, it's the other way around. On an Openbox desktop, setting it to "normal" will cause conky's display to disappear when right-clicking the desktop to get the Openbox menu. Setting it to "desktop" corrects that. Glad you figured it out. Closest thing I've found to conky is gkrellm with the "invisible" theme. And gkrellm doesn't have all the capabilities.
djohnston
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Jun 26th, '11, 06:27

Re: Post your desktop

Postby jiml8 » Jul 14th, '13, 05:44

snapshot129.jpg
snapshot129.jpg (724.55 KiB) Viewed 3217 times

Here is my desktop in expo mode. The host is 64 bit Mageia 3 with KDE and compiz.

I also run VMware Workstation, and presently have 4 virtual machines loaded. In the bottom row, the two left-hand desktops are occupied by "virtual LinkIPs". This is a satellite communications network management product produced by a company I am partners with based on a highly customized OpenSUSE 11.2 distro. I have two of them running because they are connected by a virtual network and I am doing some development and testing on them prior to deployment in real LinkIPs.

In the lower right desktop is Windows 7 Pro (32 bit). Just above it is Windows 2000.
jiml8
 
Posts: 1028
Joined: Jul 7th, '13, 18:09

Re: Post your desktop

Postby VoodooDali » Jul 14th, '13, 15:04

Wow :shock: that is one impressive setup. Thanks for sharing :ugeek:
Image
Voo #557749
running "Celene"
ASUS G73Jh
Intel Core i7 720QM
AMD (ATi) Mobility Radeon HD 5870
Mageia 4
User avatar
VoodooDali
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Mar 24th, '13, 18:11
Location: Chicago, IL, US

Re: Post your desktop

Postby loutch » Oct 1st, '13, 15:09

Bonjour

Mine at October

Image

Mageia 2 KDE X64

Theme fenêtre = Cristal
Style = Qt curve with opacity windows :0%
Icon theme = DB sylver
Theme = Diamond

With 2 conky and cwp .


Bye
loutch
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Oct 1st, '13, 14:57

Re: Post your desktop

Postby Samsun » Jun 5th, '14, 12:04

Hey guys this is my current desktop wallpaper: Image

edit doktor5000: removed advertising link
Samsun
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Jun 5th, '14, 12:00

Re: Post your desktop

Postby doktor5000 » Jun 5th, '14, 14:30

You understood this is not about wallpapers, but about complete desktops?
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 15015
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: Post your desktop

Postby ozky » Jun 21st, '14, 01:19

I want show my desktop too.
Attachments
mageia.jpg
mageia.jpg (271.01 KiB) Viewed 2751 times
Image
Just leave me alone i know what i'm drinking.
User avatar
ozky
 
Posts: 569
Joined: Jul 2nd, '11, 08:48
Location: Ulvila Finland

Re: Post your desktop

Postby doktor5000 » Jun 21st, '14, 01:23

Where's that wallpaper from?
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 15015
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: Post your desktop

Postby ozky » Jun 21st, '14, 07:51

Yes sure it's name is Forgotten Dream and you can find it here.
http://hyperdude111.deviantart.com/art/ ... 92433&qo=0
Image
Just leave me alone i know what i'm drinking.
User avatar
ozky
 
Posts: 569
Joined: Jul 2nd, '11, 08:48
Location: Ulvila Finland

Re: Post your desktop

Postby Samsun » Jun 24th, '14, 16:54

Hey Guys it's me again :) I thought in keeping with the ongoing, and brilliant World Cup I would change my wallpaper.
Image

edit doktor5000: removed advertising link
Samsun
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Jun 5th, '14, 12:00

Re: Post your desktop

Postby jarygaricke » Jul 15th, '14, 07:48

There are desktop wallpapers free download offered in different categories like flowers, animals, cars, celebrities, logo and many more that you shall surely be amazed with the collection available for your downloads

edit doktor5000: removed advertising link, user deactivated and banned
jarygaricke
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Apr 10th, '14, 14:39

Re: Post your desktop

Postby smithy » Jul 24th, '14, 00:23

Image

Mga4 on my ThinkPad T61. Simple XFCE4 :)
smithy
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Jul 24th, '14, 00:17

Re: Post your desktop

Postby benmc » Jul 25th, '14, 07:49

Hi all,

desktop.png
desktop.png (1.76 MiB) Viewed 2610 times


Mga4 / kde

Image is from Hubble telescope.
benmc
 
Posts: 806
Joined: Sep 2nd, '11, 12:45
Location: Pirongia, New Zealand

Re: Post your desktop

Postby xxblx » Aug 26th, '14, 12:58

Mageia 4, E17
Image Image Image
Mageia x86_64, E17, PekWM
Oleg (xxblx) | Mageia Russian Community
User avatar
xxblx
 
Posts: 70
Joined: May 23rd, '12, 21:32
Location: Russia, Vologda

Re: Post your desktop

Postby ozky » Aug 28th, '14, 13:49

Attachments
kde.png
kde.png (559.42 KiB) Viewed 2531 times
Image
Just leave me alone i know what i'm drinking.
User avatar
ozky
 
Posts: 569
Joined: Jul 2nd, '11, 08:48
Location: Ulvila Finland

Re: Post your desktop

Postby nelliediddle » Sep 18th, '14, 18:55

snapshot6.jpeg
Yes. I'm an amateur. All the other desktops up here put me to shame..but hey ho I like it....
snapshot6.jpeg (289.38 KiB) Viewed 2458 times
nelliediddle
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sep 16th, '14, 18:33

PreviousNext

Return to The Wizards Lair

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest