Useful packages disappearing for each release

This forum is for general chat between members about Mageia.

Technical questions are supposed to be posted in support forums. Not here !

Useful packages disappearing for each release

Postby pernel » Nov 24th, '20, 11:32

I have been using Mandrake, Mandriva an Mageia for many years. For each new release, support for some useful programs/packages that that i needed is removed from the distro. Most recent examples are between 5 and 6 iwatch, and between 6 and 7 syncthing.
For both of these I filed bugs. For both packages exist simple workarounds. For iwatch I rebuit with Suse open build service and it was only required to change the name of one dependency and it worked. For syncthing I found http://www.mageia-gr.org/rpm/7/x86_64/ at the Greek support forum. Why not include these two packages in the repos for Cauldron? Should be very quick and easy to do this.

Anyhow, I am very greatful for all the the effort that volunteers put into maintaining the distro.
Thank you all!

But I hope anything more will not be broken when it is time to upgrade from Mga 7 to 8...
pernel

Re: Useful packages disappearing for each release

Postby doktor5000 » Nov 24th, '20, 18:33

pernel wrote:Why not include these two packages in the repos for Cauldron? Should be very quick and easy to do this.

If it's quick and easy to do this, why not become a packager and help with that? https://wiki.mageia.org/en/Packagers_Team_portal

From a quick search in bugzilla, there are over 500 requests for new packages. Apart from the open bugreports for existing packages.
If you take a look for the bigger picture, then you may notice that this might be quick and easy for your 2 packages,
but now take hundreds of such requests and it's suddenly not quick and easy to do anymore and a lot of work.

Apart from that, I don't see an open bugreport for syncthing. And iwatch was never imported into Mageia, so it's not "disappearing".