difference Debian vs. Mageia

This forum is for general chat between members about Mageia.

Technical questions are supposed to be posted in support forums. Not here !

difference Debian vs. Mageia

Postby andi89gi » Aug 14th, '18, 23:07

Hello everybody;)

I'm pretty new in using and working Mageia. Therefore I may have a simple question: What is the difference between Debian and Mageia. I know that Debian is also a community based Distro, working with .deb/apt-get. But I a not sur, if programs like Android Studio, Visual Studio are allowed to install. Same topic about using snap/flatpak in Debian.

How is it here in Mageia? Would it be okay to install programs of snap/flatpak?

Regards

Andi
andi89gi

Re: difference Debian vs. Mageia

Postby doktor5000 » Aug 15th, '18, 03:23

As already mentioned in your crosspost in the german forums, main difference is the package management/format, .deb/dpgk vs. rpm.

And I don't get the question about if any software is "allowed to install" ? You can install any software on your box as you wish, where's the relation to the distro in use?

And why shouldn't it be okay to install flatpak?
snap(d) on the other hand is not available at all.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
doktor5000

Postby morgano » Aug 17th, '18, 10:51

andi89gi wrote:Hello everybody;)Would it be okay to install programs of snap/flatpak?

There are many https://wiki.mageia.org/en/Ways_to_install_programs in Mageia :)
Mandriva since 2006, Mageia 2011 at home & work. Thinkpad T40, T43, T400, T510, Dell M4400, M6300, Acer Aspire 7. Workstation using LVM, LUKS, VirtualBox, BOINC
morgano

Postby JoesCat » Sep 3rd, '18, 02:10

Having used Mageia for a long time, and also contributing to development of FontForge and other applications I can give you some perspective.