<DONE> Mageia 5 and Release 6

This forum is for general chat between members about Mageia.

Technical questions are supposed to be posted in support forums. Not here !

<DONE> Mageia 5 and Release 6

Postby rbeltz48 » Aug 25th, '16, 21:36

I have been using Linux since 2006, mostly Debian and Ubuntu flavors. Plus I test many distros as well. I just installed Mageia 5 MATE 32-bit yesterday and I was pleasantly surprised. It seems to be a well polished distro. I have managed to install virtually everything I currently have on my Linux Mint MATE & Ubuntu MATE laptops (4 Lenovo Thinkpads T61 & T400). I have tested other RPM based distros in the past. But Mageia 5 seems to be easier to use and more user friendly than any of them, although installation did take considerably longer than Mint or Ubuntu MATE.

My one suggestion to the developers is to make installation of various packages easier than it currently is with Mageia. I had to go on the web and take considerable time to find a couple of the packages I use, rather than finding them in the package manager as I do with Mint & Ubuntu MATE.

As far as Mageia 6 goes, how does one do a release upgrade? Can it be done straight from the web or does one have to do a fresh install from media such as a DVD iso? Thanks in advance.
Last edited by rbeltz48 on Aug 28th, '16, 14:51, edited 1 time in total.
rbeltz48

Re: Mageia 5 and Release 6

Postby doktor5000 » Aug 25th, '16, 23:06

rbeltz48 wrote:My one suggestion to the developers is to make installation of various packages easier than it currently is with Mageia. I had to go on the web and take considerable time to find a couple of the packages I use, rather than finding them in the package manager as I do with Mint & Ubuntu MATE.

Hi there :)
Please be a little more verbose, and describe
  • what particular issues you had to find packages
  • why you needed to go to the web to find packages
  • which packages you were looking for