[MAQeia] Flashplayer Plugin (32 & 64-bits)

Here you'll find the "Mostly Asked Questions" about Mageia.

Before getting to support forum, have a look here... there are great chances that MAQeia can help...

Re: [MAQeia] Flashplayer Plugin (32 & 64-bits)

Postby Lebarhon » Aug 3rd, '12, 21:31

Hi everybody,

I have also problems with web videos, on Youtube for example.
It's a friend PC: mobo K7VTA3 Elite group, CG ATI radeon 8500 (yes, pretty old)
I made a fresh install with nonfreeboot.iso and Mageia2 i586 Free (on USB stick) with KDE. Then I installed the repositories, made an update and installed flash-player-plugin and flash player-plugin-kde, as shown here:
[root@localhost ~]# rpm -qa --last | grep flash-player-plugin
flash-player-plugin-kde-11.2.202.236-1.mga2.nonfree ven. 03 août 2012 20:57:15 CEST
flash-player-plugin-11.2.202.236-1.mga2.nonfree ven. 03 août 2012 20:57:11 CEST
[root@localhost ~]#

In firefox about:plugins, I can see :
- Divx web Player
- IcedTea web
- QuickTime
- Shockwave flash
- Skype buttons for Kopete
- VLC Multimedia
- Windows Media Player

If I open now Firefox and go in Youtube, the videos remain a black square. No error message.
If I try a right click in the black square, I have the same pop up menu that anywhere in the screen, no settings.

What can I do ? any idea ?
Thank you.
Lebarhon
 
Posts: 408
Joined: Mar 22nd, '11, 22:24
Location: France

Re: [MAQeia] Flashplayer Plugin (32 & 64-bits)

Postby doktor5000 » Aug 4th, '12, 10:48

Did you read viewtopic.php?p=23697#p23697 ?

@realclive: For Chrome/Chromium, there is this MAQeia: viewtopic.php?f=36&t=2053
Please don't use this thread for Chrome problems.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16080
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: [MAQeia] Flashplayer Plugin (32 & 64-bits)

Postby Lebarhon » Aug 4th, '12, 19:09

doktor5000 wrote:Did you read viewtopic.php?p=23697#p23697 ?

Yes I did, it's why I said
If I try a right click in the black square, I have the same pop up menu that anywhere in the screen, no settings.

With another PC where the video is playing, I can see the menu/Settings/Display/Enable the hardware acceleration, but with the friend PC there is no such menu, I have the same menu that anywhere in the screen.
Lebarhon
 
Posts: 408
Joined: Mar 22nd, '11, 22:24
Location: France

Re: [MAQeia] Flashplayer Plugin (32 & 64-bits)

Postby utterlylost » Aug 5th, '12, 06:35

Sorry to threadjack, but I'm new here and don't know where to start. I tried following the readme from Adobe after downloading the .tar file, and got to the point where I had to copy libflashplayer.so into the mozilla plugins directory, but it wouldn't let me do that. I then saw the advice against installing directly from Adobe, and instead tried from:
http://rpmfind.net/linux/RPM/mageia/1/x ... 86_64.html
However, when I try to click on "Source RPM" I get the message "550 Failed to change directory"

What am I doing wrong? I can't seem to locate this package manager that was previously mentioned in this thread. Is this referring to "Install & Remove Software" in the MCC? I searched for "flash" under this condition and got no results. I've taken a programming class to try to grasp computers and I've tried to find books on learning Linux from the ground up, but it all has proven futile. As you can probably tell I am in need of severe help. I'm done with Windows but I fear Linux and programming will forever evade me. Help! Thanks in advance for your patience.
utterlylost
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Aug 5th, '12, 05:48

Re: [MAQeia] Flashplayer Plugin (32 & 64-bits)

Postby utterlylost » Aug 5th, '12, 06:46

I suppose I should've tried the big honking link at the top, first. :oops:

I now have flash, and that was WAY too easy!
utterlylost
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Aug 5th, '12, 05:48

Re: [MAQeia] Flashplayer Plugin (32 & 64-bits)

Postby realclive » Aug 5th, '12, 09:15

Thanks for all your help in this flash player issue.
I've decided to pull the plug on this and head off to another distro. Loaded up 'Crunchbang' last night and I got 'Iceweasel' with fully functioning flash straight away.
I will wait for Mageia 2.x or whatever to be released and have another look because I like the look, feel and functionality of the distro.
Unfortunately I don't have the time or knowledge to be chasing issues like this.
Ta again,
Realclive
realclive
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Jul 26th, '12, 17:09

Re: [MAQeia] Flashplayer Plugin (32 & 64-bits)

Postby demonseth17 » Mar 13th, '13, 09:45

this helped a lot as well as using the Maegia wiki, thanks a lot :D
demonseth17
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Oct 16th, '11, 10:34

Re: [MAQeia] Flashplayer Plugin (32 & 64-bits)

Postby doktor5000 » Mar 13th, '13, 22:59

You're welcome.
Nice that someone actually reads this ... :|
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16080
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: [MAQeia] Flashplayer Plugin (32 & 64-bits)

Postby dedanna1029 » Mar 14th, '13, 16:25

Sorry, I'm just now getting to this thread. A misnomer here:
doktor5000 wrote:Also depending on which sort of an mageia installation you want to add it,
you will need additional dependencies which the adobe tarball / RPM package will not install for you.

IF you download the rpm from the site (as I do), save it to your Downloads (or whatever) folder, then do:
Code: Select all
su
password
urpmi /path/to/file/filename.rpm

it SHOULD bring in needed dependencies.
This is the method I use.

If it's already been mentioned in this thread, apologies. It is a lot to read here.
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
dedanna1029
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Jan 1st, '13, 17:35

Re: [MAQeia] Flashplayer Plugin (32 & 64-bits)

Postby doktor5000 » Mar 14th, '13, 21:03

dedanna1029 wrote:Sorry, I'm just now getting to this thread. A misnomer here:
doktor5000 wrote:Also depending on which sort of an mageia installation you want to add it,
you will need additional dependencies which the adobe tarball / RPM package will not install for you.

IF you download the rpm from the site (as I do), save it to your Downloads (or whatever) folder, then do:
[...]
it SHOULD bring in needed dependencies.


Nope, it does not bring all, also urpmi will only install what dependencies the package in question has.
That's why our Flash maintainer explicitly added those, after some detective work.


Just take a look at http://svnweb.mageia.org/packages/cauld ... iew=markup
and look at lines 17 to 50 and lines 52 to 57 and 94 to 113. Not even counting the Conflicts which where added, to make sure you
don't install two flash plugins at the same time.

Only because Flash rpm works on most default installation, does not mean it is perfect.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16080
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: [MAQeia] Flashplayer Plugin (32 & 64-bits)

Postby filip » Sep 12th, '13, 10:07

doktor5000 wrote:Alternatives to Adobes Flashplayer plugin
- gnash
- lightspark
- for some websites, you can switch/opt-in to HTML5, like for youtube: http://www.youtube.com/html5
- copy URL from Flash video, open with a media player like VLC -> menu File -> open URL from clipboard

For last alternative you also need vlc-plugin-lua.
filip
 
Posts: 431
Joined: May 4th, '11, 22:10
Location: Kranj, Slovenia

Re: [MAQeia] Flashplayer Plugin (32 & 64-bits)

Postby doktor5000 » Sep 12th, '13, 21:00

Good point, I've added that to the original post.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16080
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: [MAQeia] Flashplayer Plugin (32 & 64-bits)

Postby Weatherlawyer » Apr 22nd, '15, 12:07

doktor5000 wrote:If you have a KDE system, you should additionally install the -kde subpackage, so that you get an
entry in KDE's systemsettings, allowing you to change Flash Player settings nicely integrated into KDE.
Can be installed f.ex. with:
Code: Select all
urpmi flash-player-plugin-kde

Stable Flashplayer plugin is the preferred solution.


That gets me the error message:
Code: Select all
me@localhost ~]$ urpmi flash-player-plugin-kde
bash: urpmi: command not found
Last edited by doktor5000 on Apr 24th, '15, 21:42, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: added code tags
Weatherlawyer
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Mar 21st, '14, 00:04

Re: [MAQeia] Flashplayer Plugin (32 & 64-bits)

Postby jkerr82508 » Apr 22nd, '15, 15:44

urpmi must be run as root. To become root
Code: Select all
su -
and enter the root password when asked.

Alternatively, use MCC/Software Management

Jim
jkerr82508
 
Posts: 945
Joined: Mar 26th, '11, 01:34
Location: Fife, Scotland

Re: [MAQeia] Flashplayer Plugin (32 & 64-bits)

Postby morgano » Jan 21st, '16, 16:18

Here is another note on "no sound with flash", Mageia 5 x86_64, KDE4
For unknown reason flash video content in firefox Firefox went silent some time in November.
For sites like youtube html5 still worked nicely.
I checked the "-- no sound with flash --" in th efirst post in this thread, was OK.
Even uninstalled and reinstalled that, Firefox, flash plugin, deleted ~/.adobe/Flash_Player/, checked sound settings, and everything else play sound OK.
Then I uninstalled all that, and installed 32-bit packages of them instead.
Still no sound, BUT now, *when playing flash video*, Kmix now - when clicked open for more controls - show a new control: ALSA plug in container.
It was set at zero, but adjusting that there is now sound!
I reinstalled all mentioned back to 64-bit and now it works in 64 bit.
Note: that ALSA volume control in Kmix only shows (after a delay) when a flash video is played in Firefox.
Also note: it is connected to master volume control - but not firmly.
Anyhow all this uninstall/install somehow made the pieced fall in place again.
No idea what exactly made it, or why it stopped working in the first place...
But i hope this post is helpful if other experience the same.

EDIT: The only thing i did that i think may have it broken, is I tried wine, qt4wine and other tools /EDIT
Mandriva since 2006, then Mageia since 2011 at home & work. Thinkpad T42p T43 T60 T61 T400. Aspire 7. Workstation using LVM, LUKS, VirtualBox, BOINC, CAD
morgano
 
Posts: 615
Joined: Jun 15th, '11, 17:51
Location: Kivik, Sweden


Re: [MAQeia] Flashplayer Plugin (32 & 64-bits)

Postby Ken-Bergen » Jan 3rd, '17, 06:53

It's interesting that Adobe has included Linux in their newest version of Flash Player.

It's also interesting that all older versions of Flash Player seem to be missing on their site which makes our install scripts useless.

I'm not implying that we do anything to include their latest and greatest as it might be better to let it die quietly.
Ken
Ken-Bergen
 
Posts: 1019
Joined: Mar 30th, '11, 02:45
Location: Chilliwack, BC, Canada

Re: [MAQeia] Flashplayer Plugin (32 & 64-bits)

Postby PauloCreto » Jan 11th, '17, 03:11

Or remove the Flash Player Plugin from the mageia, since it does not install itself

T+ = See you later
User avatar
PauloCreto
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sep 15th, '16, 23:39
Location: São Caetano de Odivelas, Pará, Brasil

Previous

Return to MAQeia

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest