[MAQeia] Flashplayer Plugin (32 & 64-bits)

Here you'll find the "Mostly Asked Questions" about Mageia.

Before getting to support forum, have a look here... there are great chances that MAQeia can help...

Re: [MAQeia] Flashplayer Plugin (32 & 64-bits)

Postby dwhite » Jan 2nd, '12, 00:11

Typically I enable a full set of sources and tick them all but don't remember in that case
Last edited by dwhite on Jan 2nd, '12, 00:22, edited 1 time in total.
Now I've assembled a GA 320M-H AMD Chip and an ASUS Geforce GT 710
User avatar
dwhite
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Dec 8th, '11, 18:29
Location: Falmouth, Cornwall

Re: [MAQeia] Flashplayer Plugin (32 & 64-bits)

Postby dwhite » Jan 2nd, '12, 01:20

Just a few minuets ago the I couldn't play video, Mozilla said download flash, this time I checked I had a full set of sources and installed via MCC needless to say I had to install the rpm in my /home folder and the video works
Now I've assembled a GA 320M-H AMD Chip and an ASUS Geforce GT 710
User avatar
dwhite
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Dec 8th, '11, 18:29
Location: Falmouth, Cornwall

Re: [MAQeia] Flashplayer Plugin (32 & 64-bits)

Postby doktor5000 » Jan 2nd, '12, 01:29

dwhite wrote:Mozilla said download flash, this time I checked I had a full set of sources and installed via MCC needless to say I had to install the rpm in my /home folder and the video works

Would you please explain that a bit more? You had to install the RPM package from adobe to be able to watch flash?
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16080
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: [MAQeia] Flashplayer Plugin (32 & 64-bits)

Postby dwhite » Jan 2nd, '12, 08:20

I had to follow the link you to Macromedia's download site, you get the choice whether to download it and install it or (as I do) download it to your default folder and save it there.

To re-iterate for whatever reason the flash-player plug-in in the sources doesn't work on my Hardware To get Flash to work I need to install a new one either way video then works.
sound is low but aumix cures that all the levels are set by default to zero
Now I've assembled a GA 320M-H AMD Chip and an ASUS Geforce GT 710
User avatar
dwhite
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Dec 8th, '11, 18:29
Location: Falmouth, Cornwall

Re: [MAQeia] Flashplayer Plugin (32 & 64-bits)

Postby doktor5000 » Jan 2nd, '12, 10:06

dwhite wrote:To re-iterate for whatever reason the flash-player plug-in in the sources doesn't work on my Hardware To get Flash to work I need to install a new one either way video then works.

Nope, that's not the case, because the flash-player-plugin also only downloads the exact same plugin directly from Adobe.
Would you mind to post the output of the command i've asked you earlier for?
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16080
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: [MAQeia] Flashplayer Plugin (32 & 64-bits)

Postby dwhite » Jan 2nd, '12, 14:49

Code: Select all
# rpm -qa --last | grep flash-player-plugin
That code
Code: Select all
#
nothing
Now I've assembled a GA 320M-H AMD Chip and an ASUS Geforce GT 710
User avatar
dwhite
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Dec 8th, '11, 18:29
Location: Falmouth, Cornwall

Re: [MAQeia] Flashplayer Plugin (32 & 64-bits)

Postby doktor5000 » Jan 2nd, '12, 16:46

That means you've never had it installed, that's the simple reason why flash didn't work before.
So it's not the package or your hardware at fault, you just never installed it.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16080
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: [MAQeia] Flashplayer Plugin (32 & 64-bits)

Postby dwhite » Jan 3rd, '12, 00:13

But I did, the readout says I didn't but I'm able to watch flash films strange very strange
Now I've assembled a GA 320M-H AMD Chip and an ASUS Geforce GT 710
User avatar
dwhite
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Dec 8th, '11, 18:29
Location: Falmouth, Cornwall

Re: [MAQeia] Flashplayer Plugin (32 & 64-bits)

Postby wobo » Jan 3rd, '12, 16:20

Please open your browser, type in the adress field:
about:plugins
Look for the plugin for flash and please report here.
wobo
---
And a new day will dawn for those who stand long
And the forests will echo with laughter
(Stairway to Heaven, Led Zeppelin)
User avatar
wobo
 
Posts: 1649
Joined: Mar 22nd, '11, 17:13

Re: [MAQeia] Flashplayer Plugin (32 & 64-bits)

Postby dwhite » Jan 3rd, '12, 20:01

Thanks to all, on this current installation the flash player must be installed somewhere, because films play. I've installed Kompozer and Libre write so I can administer my web sites So I guess I'm happy.
Now I've assembled a GA 320M-H AMD Chip and an ASUS Geforce GT 710
User avatar
dwhite
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Dec 8th, '11, 18:29
Location: Falmouth, Cornwall

Re: [MAQeia] Flashplayer Plugin (32 & 64-bits)

Postby dwhite » Jan 3rd, '12, 20:11

Wobo

I'm using Firefox now so up to edit> preferences>clicking add-ons> lists following a lego block Shockwave flash.
Now I've assembled a GA 320M-H AMD Chip and an ASUS Geforce GT 710
User avatar
dwhite
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Dec 8th, '11, 18:29
Location: Falmouth, Cornwall

Re: [MAQeia] Flashplayer Plugin (32 & 64-bits)

Postby doktor5000 » Jan 3rd, '12, 20:33

My only point was, that you told in the beginning you had the Mageia flash-player-plugin package installed,
and it didn't work (you said due to your hardware or maybe because it was faulty) but the package directly from Adobe worked.
The output tells that you never had the Mageia flash-player-plugin installed (the package from Adobe is called flash-plugin IIRC).
So actually i wanted to find out why the package didn't work, but if it's not installed it can't work.
Next time you do a fresh installation, please enable the nonfree repo and just install the flash-player-plugin ;)
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16080
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: [MAQeia] Flashplayer Plugin (32 & 64-bits)

Postby dwhite » Jan 4th, '12, 13:37

Because I routinely do a partially clean install (Formatting only /,and /usr partitions of /, /usr, /var, /home, /tmp. ). Then when I booted the dual 32 and 64 installed rebooted, logged-on as dwhite in LXde, migrated to root, MCC removed the dual CD as the only source and replaced it with a full set of sources. Then installed KDE with #urpmi task-kde could not some indication that the Shockwave Flash plug-in be installed be in the /var the /home partition or the /tmp I configure my disk like this because I shared a house with a Unix Guru from Sussex uni. He was of the opinion that a system with the disks partitioned went faster. He had a MSc in electronics too His Phd was incomplete, he hadn't turned in his thesis, He went sailing in the Med instead, but he had a Yachtmasters certificate and a pilots licence. Oh the Red Task bar indicator typically tells me I need to update then.
Now I've assembled a GA 320M-H AMD Chip and an ASUS Geforce GT 710
User avatar
dwhite
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Dec 8th, '11, 18:29
Location: Falmouth, Cornwall

Re: [MAQeia] Flashplayer Plugin (32 & 64-bits)

Postby doktor5000 » Jan 4th, '12, 16:35

dwhite wrote:Then installed KDE with #urpmi task-kde could not some indication that the Shockwave Flash plug-in be installed be in the /var the /home partition or the /tmp I configure my disk like this because I shared a house with a Unix Guru from Sussex uni.

Sorry, that's a wrong expectation of yours that task-kde would install a flash plugin. You need to install this seperately.

For the partitioning, it does not matter regarding speed, instead for traditional harddisks (doesn't apply to flash-based storage solutions)
but merely the physical layout on the disk could affect the speed, but that's not worth taking into account, and it's offtopic here.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16080
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: [MAQeia] Flashplayer Plugin (32 & 64-bits)

Postby dwhite » Jan 4th, '12, 17:41

It doesn't really matter if all those partitions were a waste it was someone else's theory and in reference to 20mb HD twenty years ago, the installation I put in the other day works now. I would like to know why it works, but I can live with not knowing.(isn't anything you download put into the /tmp partition)? I didn't format that, the flash plug-in would still be in there
Now I've assembled a GA 320M-H AMD Chip and an ASUS Geforce GT 710
User avatar
dwhite
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Dec 8th, '11, 18:29
Location: Falmouth, Cornwall

Re: [MAQeia] Flashplayer Plugin (32 & 64-bits)

Postby doktor5000 » Jan 4th, '12, 22:44

dwhite wrote:I would like to know why it works, but I can live with not knowing.(isn't anything you download put into the /tmp partition)? I didn't format that, the flash plug-in would still be in there

Generally everything you download is not put into /tmp. The flash-plugin is extracted during the download
into /tmp (maketmp is used during the process) and it's removed after it's completely installed.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16080
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: [MAQeia] Flashplayer Plugin (32 & 64-bits)

Postby ColinWhite » Apr 6th, '12, 00:14

If it's any help, when I installed Mageia, Firefox didn't find Flash and when I tried to install it from the repository it seemed to take an age to download and then it froze during installation. I then installed Chrome and now the flash player works on all packages correctly.
ColinWhite
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Dec 4th, '11, 02:20

Re: [MAQeia] Flashplayer Plugin (32 & 64-bits)

Postby doktor5000 » Apr 6th, '12, 17:54

Well, that's no real help, as it only comes down to the mirror your selected for your software repositories and maybe Adobe's server where Flash is downloaded.
FWIW Chrome already contains Flash Plugin, but you get no updates for Chrome automatically without further adjustments. See the MAQeia for Chrome/Chromium on that matter: viewtopic.php?f=36&t=2053
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16080
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: [MAQeia] Flashplayer Plugin (32 & 64-bits)

Postby wobo » Apr 6th, '12, 21:38

doktor5000 wrote:FWIW Chrome already contains Flash Plugin,

Chrome does, chromium-browser does not - although it pretends it does (when you start chromium-browser without the normal flash-plugin installed, starting youtube will give you the message that you have to install the plugin. If you then go to Adobe it will say "Already installed". So you have to install the plugin without having chromium-browser open.
wobo
---
And a new day will dawn for those who stand long
And the forests will echo with laughter
(Stairway to Heaven, Led Zeppelin)
User avatar
wobo
 
Posts: 1649
Joined: Mar 22nd, '11, 17:13

Re: [MAQeia] Flashplayer Plugin (32 & 64-bits)

Postby doktor5000 » Apr 7th, '12, 18:44

wobo wrote:So you have to install the plugin without having chromium-browser open.

Should possibly be reported as a bug against chromium.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16080
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: [MAQeia] Flashplayer Plugin (32 & 64-bits)

Postby wobo » Apr 7th, '12, 19:32

doktor5000 wrote:
wobo wrote:So you have to install the plugin without having chromium-browser open.

Should possibly be reported as a bug against chromium.

Ok, but the bug is upstream and it only hits those who try to install Flash plugin from Adobe via link on a 3rd party website (such as youtube "Please install Flashplayer plugin").
Those who install the plugin via Mageia's script rpm are not touched.
So maybe a bug reported upstream would be more promising.
wobo
---
And a new day will dawn for those who stand long
And the forests will echo with laughter
(Stairway to Heaven, Led Zeppelin)
User avatar
wobo
 
Posts: 1649
Joined: Mar 22nd, '11, 17:13

Re: [MAQeia] Flashplayer Plugin (32 & 64-bits)

Postby doktor5000 » Apr 7th, '12, 19:44

Well, is see the bug more in Mageia distro integration of Chromium, it should be fixed there and then sent upstream, if possible.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16080
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: [MAQeia] Flashplayer Plugin (32 & 64-bits)

Postby wobo » Apr 7th, '12, 19:50

Ok, you could see it from this POV, sure. Moreso if it is easy to fix (could be only a parameter in the config).
But then you have to fix it in each new version until it get fixed upstream
wobo
---
And a new day will dawn for those who stand long
And the forests will echo with laughter
(Stairway to Heaven, Led Zeppelin)
User avatar
wobo
 
Posts: 1649
Joined: Mar 22nd, '11, 17:13

Re: [MAQeia] Flashplayer Plugin (32 & 64-bits)

Postby doktor5000 » Apr 7th, '12, 19:58

Well, normally first you should provide a proof of concept to propose upstream, that's the way it works unless it is some sort of "real" bugfix or security thing.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16080
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: [MAQeia] Flashplayer Plugin (32 & 64-bits)

Postby wobo » Apr 7th, '12, 20:07

doktor5000 wrote:Well, normally first you should provide a proof of concept to propose upstream, that's the way it works unless it is some sort of "real" bugfix or security thing.
That's what I meant. A bug report upstream where the situation is described - it is reproducable. or do you mean "fix the bug and send it upstream" with your "proof of concept"?
wobo
---
And a new day will dawn for those who stand long
And the forests will echo with laughter
(Stairway to Heaven, Led Zeppelin)
User avatar
wobo
 
Posts: 1649
Joined: Mar 22nd, '11, 17:13

PreviousNext

Return to MAQeia

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest