[MAQeia] Add Google Apps repositories in Mageia

Here you'll find the "Mostly Asked Questions" about Mageia.

Before getting to support forum, have a look here... there are great chances that MAQeia can help...

[MAQeia] Add Google Apps repositories in Mageia

Postby fraterlinux » Jul 22nd, '12, 01:53

Repository:

google-chrome:

Code: Select all
# urpmi.addmedia --update google-chrome http://dl.google.com/linux/chrome/rpm/stable/$(uname -m | sed -e "s/i.86/i386/")


google-earth

Code: Select all
# urpmi.addmedia --update google-earth http://dl.google.com/linux/earth/rpm/stable/$(uname -m | sed -e "s/i.86/i386/")


google-music-manager

Code: Select all
# urpmi.addmedia --update google-music http://dl.google.com/linux/musicmanager/rpm/stable/$(uname -m | sed -e "s/i.86/i386/")


google-talkplugin

Code: Select all
# urpmi.addmedia --update google-talkplugin http://dl.google.com/linux/talkplugin/rpm/stable/$(uname -m | sed -e "s/i.86/i386/")


The Linux Package Signing Key
(source: http://www.google.com/linuxrepositories/ )
Google’s Linux packages are signed with a GNU Privacy Guard (GPG) key. Google’s packages will automatically configure your package manager to verify product updates with the public signing key, but you may also install it separately if, for instance, you want to verify the integrity of an initial package download. Follow the instructions below to manually configure your package manager to use the key.

Key Details

Download: https://dl-ssl.google.com/linux/linux_signing_key.pub
Key ID: Google, Inc. Linux Package Signing Key <linux-packages-keymaster@google.com>
Fingerprint: 4CCA 1EAF 950C EE4A B839 76DC A040 830F 7FAC 5991

Command line key installation for RPM

On an RPM-based system (Fedora, SUSE, Mandriva, RHEL, etc.), use rpm to download and install the key in one step.
(if sudo is not installed on your box, omit sudo from the following command and run as root)
Code: Select all
sudo rpm --import https://dl-ssl.google.com/linux/linux_signing_key.pub


You can verify the key installation by running:
Code: Select all
rpm -qi gpg-pubkey-7fac5991-*


To manually verify an RPM package, you can run the command:

rpm --checksig -v packagename.rpm
Last edited by doktor5000 on Dec 4th, '14, 20:55, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Added [MAQeia] to the title, simplified key instructions and added some markup
fraterlinux
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Jun 21st, '12, 13:15

Re: Add repositories Google in Mageia

Postby fraterlinux » Jul 22nd, '12, 03:37

If someone from the Forum trying to install google earth in x86_64 to run will display the following error:

Code: Select all
 $ google-earth
/usr/bin/google-earth: line 43:./googleearth-bin: no such file or directory not found


To resolve will need to install the package:

Code: Select all
 # urpmi libglibc_lsb


That is, although it is theoretically to 64 it asks 32 for dependency :o :shock:
fraterlinux
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Jun 21st, '12, 13:15

Re: Add repositories Google in Mageia

Postby doktor5000 » Jul 22nd, '12, 11:05

If you want, i can move this to the MAQeia subforum, and add you to that group so you can maintain it there?
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 17603
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: Add repositories Google in Mageia

Postby fraterlinux » Jul 22nd, '12, 13:05

Do what is best. If so get good, can do. I'm sharing this tip because I noticed that Mageia 2 x86_64 does not automatically add the repositories such as in Mageia 1 when we installed a google program. :D

doktor5000,

The rpm of google has scripts to automatically add the repositories to keep the program up to date. Not work in Mageia 2 x86_64 would be a bug to be reported?
fraterlinux
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Jun 21st, '12, 13:15

Re: Add repositories Google in Mageia

Postby doktor5000 » Jul 22nd, '12, 16:44

This is problem with the checks for the currently running distribution in the scripts that google uses, for Chrome i've posted a workaround in the MAQeia for Chrome/Chromium: viewtopic.php?f=36&t=2053
This should be reported to Google that they also check for Mageia as they do for Mandriva, not to Mageia bugzilla, as we can't change their scripts/packages.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 17603
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: Add repositories Google in Mageia

Postby fraterlinux » Jul 23rd, '12, 13:22

doktor5000,

I have a little time I'll report the bug in google.

If it will be better you can move this to the MAQeia subforum!
fraterlinux
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Jun 21st, '12, 13:15

Re: [MAQeia] Add Google Apps repositories in Mageia

Postby Umeaboy » Dec 19th, '13, 03:15

PROBLEM SOLVED
Umeaboy
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Nov 23rd, '11, 18:28

Re: [MAQeia] Add Google Apps repositories in Mageia

Postby doktor5000 » Dec 19th, '13, 06:19

Which problem is solved?
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 17603
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: [MAQeia] Add Google Apps repositories in Mageia

Postby Umeaboy » Dec 20th, '13, 01:17

doktor5000 wrote:Which problem is solved?


The problem about how to get rid of the signature issue when installing any of the Google packages.
Umeaboy
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Nov 23rd, '11, 18:28

Re: [MAQeia] Add Google Apps repositories in Mageia

Postby akbrian » Feb 11th, '14, 20:57

Is there any reason to remove the Google repositories before upgrading to the next version of Mageia? Then, of course, re-adding them again after the upgrade? Specifically, for a mga3 to mga4 upgrade?
akbrian
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sep 10th, '11, 01:56

Re: [MAQeia] Add Google Apps repositories in Mageia

Postby jkerr82508 » Feb 11th, '14, 23:24

I left them in place, while upgrading from mga3 to mga4, using the CLI. The upgrade process ignored them and left the packages installed. The Google apps are not specific to any particular version of Mageia, other than the architecture (32bit /64bit).

Google chrome (and other third party applications) are all working as normal after the upgrade.

Jim
jkerr82508
 
Posts: 946
Joined: Mar 26th, '11, 01:34
Location: Fife, Scotland

Re: [MAQeia] Add Google Apps repositories in Mageia

Postby doktor5000 » Feb 12th, '14, 00:20

Yep, all repositories are treated equally. If they contain newer packages, they will be installed. Other 3rd party packages (like teamviewer, spotify, chrome or whatever you have) will be left untouched from a general point of view.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 17603
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: [MAQeia] Add Google Apps repositories in Mageia

Postby doktor5000 » Jul 29th, '14, 18:20

FWIW, for chrome the issue with automatically adding the repository has been fixed upstream by one of our developers:
http://src.chromium.org/viewvc/chrome?v ... ion=270031
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 17603
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: [MAQeia] Add Google Apps repositories in Mageia

Postby jkerr82508 » Aug 27th, '14, 00:41

doktor5000 wrote:FWIW, for chrome the issue with automatically adding the repository has been fixed upstream by one of our developers:
http://src.chromium.org/viewvc/chrome?v ... ion=270031

An interesting consequence of this fix is that today, when chrome was updated, a new source was added. This presumably was because I was not using the "official" name. (I only became aware of this because I received an email from root when this was done.)

Code: Select all
# cat /etc/urpmi/urpmi.cfg | grep chrome
chrome_x86_64 http://dl.google.com/linux/chrome/rpm/stable/x86_64 {
google-chrome http://dl.google.com/linux/chrome/rpm/stable/x86_64 {

The first is the pre-existing and the second was added. The second does not
include the key, which I had added to the original. If my understanding of
/etc/cron.daily/google-chrome is correct, the key should be added when that file
is executed tonight. I'll check tomorrow.

Jim

Edit: I executed the file manually and the key has not been added, and so it seems that the addition of the key will still need to be done following the procedure described at the end of:
viewtopic.php?f=36&t=2053#p15047
jkerr82508
 
Posts: 946
Joined: Mar 26th, '11, 01:34
Location: Fife, Scotland

Re: [MAQeia] Add Google Apps repositories in Mageia

Postby doktor5000 » Aug 27th, '14, 07:29

Should probably be reported upstream, preferrably via a patch.
For comparison, this is the patch one of our developers submitted upstream so that the script will detect the correct package manager on Mageia: https://src.chromium.org/viewvc/chrome? ... w=revision
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 17603
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany


Return to MAQeia

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron