No audio

No audio

Postby totalnoob1 » Mar 3rd, '15, 21:18

I am not a Linux programmer, and mostly a Windows guy, which means I have no patience or skill for writing up code to make a computer do a job.

I have no sound on the 2014 edition of Mageia for videos or audio files that I have downloaded, instead I get an error message saying I don't have the right codecs. Most of these files are going to be mp3, mp4, flv or wav. This is peculiar because I get youtubes just fine.

My preference is vlc, but I will use whatever software there is if it will work properly.

Would someone walk me through the uploading of the correct drivers/codecs start to finish, premising instructions on the assumption I have never ever used "terminal" or "Konsole" before and I have no idea what drake, rpm, sodu or anything else mean or do? Thank you.

I will note in passing that the computer is an HP with 1 G RAM and a dual core processor. It is a few years old, but seems to work fine. I am using headphones rather than speakers, and plugging them into the front.
totalnoob1

Re: No audio

Postby martinw » Mar 4th, '15, 01:40

See https://wiki.mageia.org/en/Install_and_remove_software_for_beginner for a simple guide to installing software in Mageia. Type "vlc" in the "Find" box of the software installer GUI, scroll down, and you will find the "vlc" package. Select the i586 version if you are running the 32-bit version of Mageia or x86_64 if you are running the 64-bit version.

A lot of codecs are covered by patents, which make them illegal to use in some countries. Mageia keeps such packages in a separate "tainted" repository to give the user the choice of whether or not to install such software. If you want/need to use any of these codecs, you will have to enable use of the "tainted" repository. For a description of how to set up the software installer to use other repositories, see https://wiki.mageia.org/en/Software_management.