[DONE] No Sound in Mageia 4

[DONE] No Sound in Mageia 4

Postby anubis » Jun 1st, '14, 23:40

No Sound please help me get this going. I am so very very new. Pulseaudio is installed.
Code: Select all
ps aux | grep pulseaudio
root     10056  0.0  0.0 103100   964 pts/1    S+   03:45   0:00 grep --color pulseaudio


Code: Select all
pactl stat
Connection failure: Connection refused
pa_context_connect() failed: Connection refused


Code: Select all
pactl list sink-inputs
Connection failure: Connection refused


Code: Select all
systemctl status osspd.service
osspd.service
   Loaded: not-found (Reason: No such file or directory)
   Active: inactive (dead)


Code: Select all
pacmd ls
No PulseAudio daemon running, or not running as session daemon.


Code: Select all
lspcidrake -v | grep -i audio
snd_hda_intel   : Intel Corporation|7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller [MULTIMEDIA_AUDIO_DEV] (vendor:8086 device:1e20 subv:1028 subd:0581) (rev: 04)

 /usr/sbin/lsmod | grep snd
snd_usb_audio         149150  3
snd_usbmidi_lib        25070  1 snd_usb_audio
snd_rawmidi            30427  1 snd_usbmidi_lib
snd_seq_device         14497  1 snd_rawmidi
snd_hda_codec_hdmi     41102  1
snd_hda_codec_conexant    57184  1
snd_hda_intel          52267  3
snd_hda_codec         192906  3 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_conexant,snd_hda_intel
snd_hwdep              17698  2 snd_usb_audio,snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm               102078  4 snd_usb_audio,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel
snd_page_alloc         18710  2 snd_pcm,snd_hda_intel
snd_timer              29378  1 snd_pcm
snd                    83274  23 snd_usb_audio,snd_hwdep,snd_timer,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_conexant,snd_pcm,snd_rawmidi,snd_usbmidi_lib,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel,snd_seq_device
soundcore              15047  1 snd
usbcore               229040  10 usblp,snd_usb_audio,uvcvideo,ums_realtek,usb_storage,snd_usbmidi_lib,ehci_hcd,ehci_pci,usbhid,xhci_hcd


Code: Select all
/usr/sbin/fuser -v /dev/snd/pcm* /dev/dsp
Specified filename /dev/dsp does not exist


Hope someone out there can help me...
I have the following desktops installed, KDE4, GNOME, RazorQt, MATE, CINNAMON
Last edited by anubis on Jun 5th, '14, 16:51, edited 4 times in total.
anubis
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Jun 1st, '14, 23:34

Re: No Sound in Mageia 4

Postby doktor5000 » Jun 1st, '14, 23:56

Please next time use code tags as explained in ftp://ftp5.gwdg.de/pub/linux/mandriva/m ... e_tags.ogv

anubis wrote:No Sound please help me get this going. I am so very very new. Pulseaudio is installed.
Code: Select all
ps aux | grep pulseaudio
root     10056  0.0  0.0 103100   964 pts/1    S+   03:45   0:00 grep --color pulseaudio


Code: Select all
pactl stat
Connection failure: Connection refused
pa_context_connect() failed: Connection refused


You could have stopped at that point. pulseaudio is not running. Which desktop do you use currently?
And please show the output of
Code: Select all
ls -al /etc/X11/xinit.d/50pulseaudio
rpm -qa | grep pulseaudio | sort
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 17630
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re:[DONE] No Sound in Mageia 4

Postby anubis » Jun 2nd, '14, 00:10

I use Mate, Kde4, primarily but I have Cinnamon, Gnome3, GnomeClassic also installed.
Code: Select all
ls -al /etc/X11/xinit.d/50pulseaudio
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 212 Dec 20 07:02 /etc/X11/xinit.d/50pulseaudio*

Code: Select all
[root@localhost bmoore]# rpm -qa | grep pulseaudio | sort
lib64alsa-plugins-pulseaudio-1.0.27-3.mga4
lib64pulseaudio0-5.0-0.20131220.1.mga4
libalsa-plugins-pulseaudio-1.0.27-3.mga4
libpulseaudio0-5.0-0.20131220.1.mga4
pulseaudio-5.0-0.20131220.1.mga4
pulseaudio-client-config-5.0-0.20131220.1.mga4
pulseaudio-module-bluetooth-5.0-0.20131220.1.mga4
pulseaudio-module-equalizer-5.0-0.20131220.1.mga4
pulseaudio-module-gconf-5.0-0.20131220.1.mga4
pulseaudio-module-x11-5.0-0.20131220.1.mga4
pulseaudio-module-zeroconf-5.0-0.20131220.1.mga4
pulseaudio-utils-5.0-0.20131220.1.mga4
task-pulseaudio-2011.0-4.mga4
Last edited by anubis on Jun 5th, '14, 17:42, edited 2 times in total.
anubis
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Jun 1st, '14, 23:34

Re: No Sound in Mageia 4

Postby colin » Jun 2nd, '14, 11:32

So there are a couple issues here.

The xinit.d/50pulseaudio file is only a fallback used when desktops don't support XDG Autostart system. Normally the PA related bits should be done via /etc/xdg/autostart/pulseaudio.desktop and Mate should be smart enough to be running those bits.

So really the problem of not processing XDG autostart stuff should really be investigated (perhaps startup items have een edited in the user account?)

As a secondary thing, I've seen a bug in the past that caused xinit.d files not to be processed when using GDM and official upstream session files were used (as opposed to our customised ones). Something similar could be happening here which would cause that problem.

The fix there was:
http://svnweb.mageia.org/packages?view= ... ion=567449

but ultimately the problem was discussed in:

https://bugs.mageia.org/show_bug.cgi?id=11582#c40

This may help point the finger as to where the problem lies....
colin
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Jul 25th, '11, 11:15

Re: No Sound in Mageia 4

Postby tarakbumba » Jun 2nd, '14, 12:59

Hi. Not likely but there is no harm to check things, do you have mate-settings-daemon-pulse and mate-media-pulse packages for MATE Desktop? If these are not installed, then you should install them.

MATE should process XDG stuff as Colin wrote, do you have PulseAudio related startup applications enabled (Mate Control Centre > Startup Applications)?
tarakbumba
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Apr 6th, '11, 22:50

Re: No Sound in Mageia 4

Postby anubis » Jun 2nd, '14, 18:45

pulse audio is enabled in Mate Control Center. Note as an aside the Mate Control Center does not appear on the menu. Found mate media pulse package and mate setting daemon pulse package that needed to be installed.
anubis
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Jun 1st, '14, 23:34

Re: No Sound in Mageia 4

Postby tarakbumba » Jun 2nd, '14, 19:19

Mate control centre is under System menu. Also, this is noted in errata, see : https://wiki.mageia.org/en/Mageia_4_Errata#Mate
You should already have mate-settings-daemon-pulse and mate-media-pulse packages by default.

Did you use "individual package selection" option while installing Mageia, if you installed Mate with installer?

Otherwise, if you installed Mate using task-mate* packages, urpmi should ask for either *-pulse or *-gstreamer packages installation.
tarakbumba
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Apr 6th, '11, 22:50

Re: No Sound in Mageia 4

Postby anubis » Jun 2nd, '14, 19:43

I individually selected all packages of every desktop except KDE4. Found Mate Control Center as Control Center. Note KDE4 has no pulse audio either.
anubis
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Jun 1st, '14, 23:34

Re: No Sound in Mageia 4

Postby anubis » Jun 2nd, '14, 22:14

This problem impacts every desktop that I have installed. In Gnome3 I ran the following commands and acheived these results. Hope this means something.
Code: Select all
start-pulseaudio-x11
W: [pulseaudio] core-util.c: Failed to open configuration file '/home/$$$$$/.config/pulse//daemon.conf': Permission denied
W: [pulseaudio] daemon-conf.c: Failed to open configuration file: Permission denied


Code: Select all
[root@localhost $$$$]# start-pulseaudio-x11
Failure: Module initialization failed

Something is preventing the module from activating. Secondly why is home/.config/pulse under root ownership? Sorry for the dumb questions but I am trying to learn and hopefully pass this knowledge along.
Last edited by doktor5000 on Jun 3rd, '14, 00:28, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: added code tags
anubis
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Jun 1st, '14, 23:34

Re: No Sound in Mageia 4

Postby doktor5000 » Jun 3rd, '14, 00:32

You should not try to run it as root. Also here ~/.config/pulse does not belong to root, but to the normal user.
You have to change the ownership of that folder. But that could be a bit tricky as you seem to use $$$$$ as your username?
If it's the first user, UID and GID should be 500. Use something like the following as root, you need to adjust the username there:

Code: Select all
chown -R 500:500 /home/username/.config/pulse
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 17630
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: No Sound in Mageia 4

Postby anubis » Jun 3rd, '14, 01:09

That last command restored sound in MATE have not checked other desktops yet. My question is why did root get assigned to that folder? Especially since it is in a user directory. Something strange is going on doing installation of pulseaudio. Thank you for your help....
anubis
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Jun 1st, '14, 23:34

Re: No Sound in Mageia 4

Postby tarakbumba » Jun 3rd, '14, 08:58

anubis wrote:That last command restored sound in MATE have not checked other desktops yet. My question is why did root get assigned to that folder?


May be you launch a graphical application as root which modifies your ~/.config/pulse folder?
tarakbumba
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Apr 6th, '11, 22:50

Re: No Sound in Mageia 4

Postby anubis » Jun 3rd, '14, 09:33

No I never use root except to install/remove rpms using MCC. Interesting though...
anubis
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Jun 1st, '14, 23:34

Re: No Sound in Mageia 4

Postby doktor5000 » Jun 4th, '14, 00:40

Please mark the thread accordingly by editing the topic of the first post and prefix it by [DONE], thanks
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 17630
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: (DONE) No Sound in Mageia 4

Postby anubis » Jun 4th, '14, 01:19

yes so happy to do so again thank you for your help.
anubis
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Jun 1st, '14, 23:34

Re: (DONE) No Sound in Mageia 4

Postby anubis » Jun 4th, '14, 02:19

It appears as though I spoke too soon. I have lost sound again. The only thing I did was su to root to use MCC then back to user. I tried chown R 500:500 on /home/bmoore/.config/pulse but it did not work. I went into the pulse folder and discovered that /home/bmoore/.config/pulse/782a70a175744b4eb78f1941322fb3b3-runtime is assigned to root and I cannot change it. HELP!!!!
anubis
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Jun 1st, '14, 23:34

Re: (DONE) No Sound in Mageia 4

Postby tarakbumba » Jun 4th, '14, 08:01

anubis wrote:It appears as though I spoke too soon. I have lost sound again. The only thing I did was su to root to use MCC then back to user. I tried chown R 500:500 on /home/bmoore/.config/pulse but it did not work. I went into the pulse folder and discovered that /home/bmoore/.config/pulse/782a70a175744b4eb78f1941322fb3b3-runtime is assigned to root and I cannot change it. HELP!!!!


What do you mean by saying " su to root to use MCC" exactly? Did you run it with "su -" or something else rather than clicking on mcc launcher?
tarakbumba
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Apr 6th, '11, 22:50

Re: No Sound in Mageia 4

Postby anubis » Jun 4th, '14, 23:28

I clicked on the MCC launcher entered the root password when requested. This occurred when I was using MATE later on I left MATE and switched to the RazorQt desktop and sound functioned again. I am using the Cinnamon desktop and sound is functioning once again. Now I am confused... Does launching MCC launcher and entering the root password cause the ownership of this file to change????
anubis
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Jun 1st, '14, 23:34


Return to Sound

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron