Powercolor Powerdevil HDX 7.1 support

Powercolor Powerdevil HDX 7.1 support

Postby pete910 » Nov 28th, '15, 02:06

Does anyone know why the Powercolor powerdevil hdx sound card refuses to play sound :cry:

It uses the C-media CM8888 [Oxygen Express] chip.

According to alsa + pulse its all there but no sound.

Code: Select all
card 1: CMedia [HDA C-Media], device 0: CMI8888 Analog [CMI8888 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: CMedia [HDA C-Media], device 1: CMI8888 Digital [CMI8888 Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0


Code: Select all
lspci |grep -i audio
01:00.1 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Hawaii HDMI Audio
06:00.0 Audio device: C-Media Electronics Inc CM8888 [Oxygen Express]


Code: Select all
lspci -nn
01:00.1 Audio device [0403]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Hawaii HDMI Audio [1002:aac8]
06:00.0 Audio device [0403]: C-Media Electronics Inc CM8888 [Oxygen Express] [13f6:5011]

Now I've done the usual and run alsamixer to make sure it hadn't defaulted to digital like what the old SB audigy cards do and to make sure it wasn't muted.

Everything shows both in pulsauido settings, even see the bar bouncing up and down when testing but still no sound.

Module that it's using is snd_hda_intel

Is there a switch/flag or something I've missed ?
User avatar
pete910
 
Posts: 357
Joined: Jan 8th, '12, 18:53

Re: Powercolor Powerdevil HDX 7.1 support

Postby Germ » Nov 28th, '15, 15:17

From what I've read in the alsa forum nobody knows yet why that driver doesn't work. In the past, I've had to disable pulse audio to get some cards to work. Unfortunately, that's the only thing I can suggest you try.
Starting in 1999: Mandrake > Mandriva > Mageia
Linux User #274693
User avatar
Germ
 
Posts: 582
Joined: Mar 30th, '11, 13:16
Location: Chelsea, Oklahoma USA

Re: Powercolor Powerdevil HDX 7.1 support

Postby pete910 » Nov 28th, '15, 15:33

Germ wrote:From what I've read in the alsa forum nobody knows yet why that driver doesn't work. In the past, I've had to disable pulse audio to get some cards to work. Unfortunately, that's the only thing I can suggest you try.



Yea, it is a weird one as all the things that should be there are it just dont work. I'll try the pulse trick and see.

Have you a link to the forum post germ?

I've seen references to the ROG phoebus which had issues last year but thats all, The powercolor HDX is a fairly new card unfortunately :oops:
User avatar
pete910
 
Posts: 357
Joined: Jan 8th, '12, 18:53

Re: Powercolor Powerdevil HDX 7.1 support

Postby doktor5000 » Nov 28th, '15, 19:23

You could try running
Code: Select all
pasuspender bash

to get a shell where pulseaudio won't touch the hardware, basically pure alsa.

Then try playing something like
Code: Select all
aplay -D hw:0 /usr/share/sounds/something.wav


And to get some verbose information about the card, used codec and whatnot try
Code: Select all
wget -O alsa-info.sh http://www.alsa-project.org/alsa-info.sh && chmod +x ./alsa-info.sh && ./alsa-info.sh
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 17659
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: Powercolor Powerdevil HDX 7.1 support

Postby pete910 » Nov 28th, '15, 20:36

Done the alsa-info thing all ready

http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=0c6e3be1e67a01ab11a1ab63082ba646d83c9c3f

aplay shows this

Code: Select all
aplay -D hw:1 -vv /home/pete/Music/NeroSoundTrax_test2_PCM_Stereo_CBR_16SS_22050Hz.wav
Playing WAVE '/home/pete/Music/NeroSoundTrax_test2_PCM_Stereo_CBR_16SS_22050Hz.wav' : Signed 16 bit Little Endian, Rate 22050 Hz, Stereo
Warning: rate is not accurate (requested = 22050Hz, got = 44100Hz)
         please, try the plug plugin
Hardware PCM card 1 'HDA C-Media' device 0 subdevice 0
Its setup is:
  stream       : PLAYBACK
  access       : RW_INTERLEAVED
  format       : S16_LE
  subformat    : STD
  channels     : 2
  rate         : 44100
  exact rate   : 44100 (44100/1)
  msbits       : 16
  buffer_size  : 22016
  period_size  : 5504
  period_time  : 124807
  tstamp_mode  : NONE
  period_step  : 1
  avail_min    : 5504
  period_event : 0
  start_threshold  : 22016
  stop_threshold   : 22016
  silence_threshold: 0
  silence_size : 0
  boundary     : 6196953087261802496
  appl_ptr     : 0
  hw_ptr       : 0
#+                                                 | 00%aplay: pcm_write:1939: write error: Input/output error


Though if I do the same with the HDMI ouput it fails with aplay to but that works fine

Thing is if I point VLC to it, it seems to be playing as the bar is bouncing in pavucontrol
User avatar
pete910
 
Posts: 357
Joined: Jan 8th, '12, 18:53

Re: Powercolor Powerdevil HDX 7.1 support

Postby Germ » Nov 28th, '15, 22:45

Starting in 1999: Mandrake > Mandriva > Mageia
Linux User #274693
User avatar
Germ
 
Posts: 582
Joined: Mar 30th, '11, 13:16
Location: Chelsea, Oklahoma USA

Re: Powercolor Powerdevil HDX 7.1 support

Postby pete910 » Nov 28th, '15, 23:20



Ah, yes all ready seen that, Is the same chip but unlike them I get no errors at boot up/instillation + it's all there in pulse ect :?

I have a feeling it has some sort of software/hardware switch that the driver needs to do upon initialling, think that because I see no reason why sound dont come out when all other things are in place .
I may do a bug report on the alsa page, I dont see anything else I've left to check

Edit, looking again it's a different chip on the diamond. I just read his lspci output :oops:
User avatar
pete910
 
Posts: 357
Joined: Jan 8th, '12, 18:53

Re: Powercolor Powerdevil HDX 7.1 support

Postby pete910 » Nov 29th, '15, 01:40

Well I've found a problem whilst messing, If I try and use VLC with the sc journalctl shows this,

Code: Select all
 E: [alsa-sink-CMI8888 Analog] alsa-sink.c: Error opening PCM device surround51:1: Device or resource busy
pulseaudio[2201]: E: [alsa-sink-CMI8888 Analog] alsa-sink.c: Error opening PCM device surround51:1: Device or resource busy


If I try ardour the same output. Searching the journal it's referenced a lot.
User avatar
pete910
 
Posts: 357
Joined: Jan 8th, '12, 18:53


Return to Sound

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest