How To get your Realtek RTL8111/RTL8168 working

How To get your Realtek RTL8111/RTL8168 working

Postby lmh1 » Jun 15th, '20, 21:49

How To get your Realtek RTL8111/RTL8168 working (updated guide)

Code: Select all
deb http://de.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ xenial main restricted universe
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install r8168-dkms


How be it on mageia 7.1?
Because fedora 23 works this out of the box so why did magia did not works?
lmh1
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sep 7th, '19, 15:21

Re: How To get your Realtek RTL8111/RTL8168 working

Postby doktor5000 » Jun 15th, '20, 23:02

Could you at least post the PCI vendor/product ID for the network device that "did not work" ?

Also, if you use the search function you'll see that there are a lot of people with Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 that are driven by the r8169 and not r8168.
So you might also add some information on why you think that you need r8168 in particular, and what's actually not working.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16072
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: How To get your Realtek RTL8111/RTL8168 working

Postby lmh1 » Jun 16th, '20, 08:07

lmh1
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sep 7th, '19, 15:21

Re: How To get your Realtek RTL8111/RTL8168 working

Postby doktor5000 » Jun 16th, '20, 17:33

I'm confused. Initially you asked about drivers for RTL8111/RTL8168 and mentioned it's not working. Now you ask about RTL8125 ?
Maybe you can add some context information. You don't have a wired network adapter yet, or do you want to buy an additional one? Also, what's the use case, what do you want to do with it?
And do you already have that card or not ?
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16072
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: How To get your Realtek RTL8111/RTL8168 working

Postby lmh1 » Jun 16th, '20, 18:52

I want documentation how to set up an install drivers or its it impossible?
I have this card, its works nice with windows 10, but may update make some issue with other things.
Why its works with fedora but not in ubuntu\mint i dont know?

that is also ustanable is mellanox connect x1 SFP+ works nice?
Its only intel and mellanox full support for linux?

Hopeful i think its 2,5 times faster than 1 gigabit lan. its possible to use SFP+ instead. But i want option if that is to hard.
I think its soon will come 2.5 gigabit switch\router.
lmh1
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sep 7th, '19, 15:21

Re: How To get your Realtek RTL8111/RTL8168 working

Postby doktor5000 » Jun 16th, '20, 22:00

lmh1 wrote:I want documentation how to set up an install drivers or its it impossible?


doktor5000 wrote:Could you at least post the PCI vendor/product ID for the network device that "did not work" ?

If you don't provide the PCI ID's can't really help you any further.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16072
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: How To get your Realtek RTL8111/RTL8168 working

Postby lmh1 » Jun 16th, '20, 22:08

Code: Select all
Realtek semiconductor co LTD device 8125
subsystem Device 0123
ID=0002 REV=4 LEN = 100

04:00.0
lmh1
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sep 7th, '19, 15:21

Re: How To get your Realtek RTL8111/RTL8168 working

Postby doktor5000 » Jun 16th, '20, 23:47

Please post either the output of
Code: Select all
lspci -nn

or
Code: Select all
lspcidrake -v
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16072
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: How To get your Realtek RTL8111/RTL8168 working

Postby lmh1 » Jun 17th, '20, 16:21

04:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200] Realtek Semicoductor co., Ltd RTL8125 2.5 gbE controller [10ec:8125]
lmh1
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sep 7th, '19, 15:21

Re: How To get your Realtek RTL8111/RTL8168 working

Postby doktor5000 » Jun 17th, '20, 17:47

That is supported by the r8169 driver that comes with the kernel:

Code: Select all
[doktor5000@Mageia7]─[17:45:20]─[~] sudo modprobe -c | grep -i "10ec.*8125"
alias pci:v000010ECd00008125sv*sd*bc*sc*i* r8169
[doktor5000@Mageia7]─[17:45:22]─[~]


As you don't mention what the actual problem is with that card under Mageia, can't help you any further.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16072
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: How To get your Realtek RTL8111/RTL8168 working

Postby lmh1 » Jul 19th, '20, 16:36

I did not get any networks working so i must use other networks card, its did not look its setting to set default networks card?
lmh1
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sep 7th, '19, 15:21

Re: How To get your Realtek RTL8111/RTL8168 working

Postby jeevanism » Jul 23rd, '20, 17:58

lmh1 wrote:I want documentation how to set up an install drivers or its it impossible?
I have this card, its works nice with windows 10, but may update make some issue with other things.
Why its works with fedora but not in ubuntu\mint i dont know?

that is also ustanable is mellanox connect x1 SFP+ works nice?
Its only intel and mellanox full support for linux?

Hopeful i think its 2,5 times faster than 1 gigabit lan. its possible to use SFP+ instead. But i want option if that is to hard.
I think its soon will come 2.5 gigabit switch\router.


First of all, explain whats going on wrong on your machine.
1. Is that card detected by the system but not listing in the Network Applet ?
2. Is the card softblocked ? ( try this command - rfkill list all )
jeevanism
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Sep 1st, '12, 05:28

Re: How To get your Realtek RTL8111/RTL8168 working

Postby lmh1 » Jul 29th, '20, 15:45

https://i.ibb.co/LCGGK4B/IMG-1748.jpg
tryed with rfkill list all but not happing with root account.
lmh1
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sep 7th, '19, 15:21

Re: How To get your Realtek RTL8111/RTL8168 working

Postby doktor5000 » Jul 29th, '20, 17:32

@jeevanism: rfkill does not apply to regular wired / ethernet cards.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16072
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: How To get your Realtek RTL8111/RTL8168 working

Postby lmh1 » Jul 29th, '20, 21:03

But how to confirm its setting or drives that make issue? because i did not find setting to set default networks card?
lmh1
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sep 7th, '19, 15:21

Re: How To get your Realtek RTL8111/RTL8168 working

Postby lmh1 » Aug 2nd, '20, 20:02

Most say its poor support:

If you are running the target kernel, then you should be able to do :

# ./autorun.sh (as root or with sudo)

You can check whether the driver is loaded by using following commands.

# lsmod | grep r8125
# ifconfig -a

If there is a device name, ethX, shown on the monitor, the linux
driver is loaded. Then, you can use the following command to activate
the ethX.

# ifconfig ethX up

,where X=0,1,2,...


https://www.realtek.com/en/component/zoo/category/network-interface-controllers-10-100-1000m-gigabit-ethernet-pci-express-software
So why did not mageia add this? Fedora and ubuntu have it.
lmh1
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sep 7th, '19, 15:21


Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest