Page 1 of 1

Secure Remote Desktop

PostPosted: Sep 13th, '11, 18:24
by msdobrescu
Hello,

I need to access Mageia 1 desktop using a secure desktop connection.
What are the available solutions?

Thank you,
Mike

Re: Secure Remote Desktop

PostPosted: Sep 13th, '11, 19:13
by doktor5000
I'm using TeamViewer for that, as it's hassle-free, does not require firewall or router-configuration and it's easy to use.
It's not open source, it's proprietary, but what's more important to me, it just works. You can also connect to machines
running under windows or whatever, as long as they have TeamViewer running.

Also it's really easy to give somebody the instructions who's not into computers, and to connect to their computer.

Re: Secure Remote Desktop

PostPosted: Sep 13th, '11, 19:54
by msdobrescu
Why there is no freenx package anymore?

Re: Secure Remote Desktop

PostPosted: Sep 13th, '11, 20:05
by isadora
Use FreeNX myself for many years.
Always downloaded it from their site:
http://www.nomachine.com/select-package ... linux&id=1

Re: Secure Remote Desktop

PostPosted: Sep 13th, '11, 21:44
by msdobrescu
isadora wrote:Use FreeNX myself for many years.
Always downloaded it from their site:
http://www.nomachine.com/select-package ... linux&id=1


Did you manage to build the client?
I've got:

Code: Select all
notQt.cpp:58:75: error: 'malloc' was not declared in this scope


Thank you.

Re: Secure Remote Desktop

PostPosted: Sep 13th, '11, 21:49
by isadora
Why building a client, i just downloaded everything in RPM.
http://www.nomachine.com/download-client-linux.php

Re: Secure Remote Desktop

PostPosted: Sep 13th, '11, 21:52
by msdobrescu
isadora wrote:Why building a client, i just downloaded everything in RPM.
http://www.nomachine.com/download-client-linux.php


Will it work? Which one? As Mageia is not listed, I took the hard path...

Re: Secure Remote Desktop

PostPosted: Sep 13th, '11, 21:55
by isadora
Well yes, it works for me, no issue whatsoever. Even where Mageia is not mentioned.
And they have quite some good documentation as well.

Re: Secure Remote Desktop

PostPosted: Sep 13th, '11, 22:05
by msdobrescu
Do I have to copy nxssh & nxssh-64 somewhere?

Re: Secure Remote Desktop

PostPosted: Sep 13th, '11, 22:12
by isadora
The only parts i downloaded and installed were: nxclient, nxnode and nxserver (all RPM's).
Besides you need openssh installed, which can be done through Mageia's Control Centre.

Re: Secure Remote Desktop

PostPosted: Sep 13th, '11, 22:29
by msdobrescu
isadora wrote:The only parts i downloaded and installed were: nxclient, nxnode and nxserver (all RPM's).
Besides you need openssh installed, which can be done through Mageia's Control Centre.

It's already there.

Now I face this:
Code: Select all
nxserver: command not found


...although installed here: /usr/NX/bin

Re: Secure Remote Desktop

PostPosted: Sep 13th, '11, 23:14
by msdobrescu
Fixed the path.

I have:
Code: Select all
500 ERROR: The NX password database is disabled.


but ENABLE_PASSDB_AUTHENTICATION="1"

How could I solve it?

Thanks.

Re: Secure Remote Desktop

PostPosted: Sep 14th, '11, 09:17
by isadora
On the server-site i installed the earlier named three RPM's, and openssh-server.
Then created a new keygen for ssh to authenticate the user:

Code: Select all
nxserver --keygen


...and copy the key to the user/client:

The generated key is located in:
/var/lib/nxserver/nxhome/.ssh/client.id_dsa.keygen
and should be copied to the client-machine, during configuration of the client you will need to import this key into the client.


(to add a user, named username in this case, to the allowed users to connect to nxserver (should be a valid username in the system and must be able to login via ssh))

Code: Select all
nxserver --useradd username


(to add a password to aforementioned user)

Code: Select all
nxserver --passwd username


restart nxserver

Code: Select all
nxserver --restart


and off you go....should be able to start a session.

If you run nxserver and a command not found is displayed you need to put /usr/NX/bin/ in your PATH.

Good luck, you are right on track. Maybe also be sure the firewall on the server-site allows SSH-traffic (port 22) coming through.

Re: Secure Remote Desktop

PostPosted: Sep 17th, '11, 16:50
by msdobrescu
In my case, it doesn't create /etc/nxserver/ nor /var/lib/nxserver/
node.conf is created in / (as node.conf.sample).

Also:

nxserver --passwd <my-user>
NX> 113 Changing NX password for user: <my-user>.
NX> 500 ERROR: The NX password database is disabled.
NX> 500 ERROR: Password for user: <my-user> not changed.
NX> 999 Bye.

Why?

Re: Secure Remote Desktop

PostPosted: Nov 3rd, '13, 08:51
by isadora
Last night i checked the "NoMachine"-site, and found out about version 4.
Maybe worth taking a look for those interested.
Installed it on my machines and works just great.

https://www.nomachine.com/people