[SOLVED] Hplip plugin

[SOLVED] Hplip plugin

Postby paulcbrennan2001 » Mar 2nd, '21, 04:41

Installed Mageia 8. Had to do a complete install as trying to just upgrade failed due to nvidia clashes. Installed hplip for my combined printer-scanner but it requires the driver plugin to scan. Keeps failing as it says checksum error. Anybody any ideas?
Thanks.
Last edited by paulcbrennan2001 on Mar 6th, '21, 22:35, edited 4 times in total.
paulcbrennan2001
 
Posts: 101
Joined: May 23rd, '12, 18:42

Re: Hplip plugin

Postby banjo » Mar 2nd, '21, 05:44

I had that same problem on Mageia 8. To get the plugin installed, I had to run “hp-plugin”. I ran that as root, and it complained that I should not run it as root.

Code: Select all
[poobah@BSKMageia8 ~]$ su
Password:
[root@BSKMageia8 poobah]# hp-plugin

HP Linux Imaging and Printing System (ver. 3.20.6)
Plugin Download and Install Utility ver. 2.1

Copyright (c) 2001-18 HP Development Company, LP
This software comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY.
This is free software, and you are welcome to distribute it
under certain conditions. See COPYING file for more details.

warning: It is not recommended to run 'hp-plugin' in a root mode.

HP Linux Imaging and Printing System (ver. 3.20.6)
Plugin Download and Install Utility ver. 2.1



So I hung up on it, logged out of root, and ran it as a regular user. When I did that, it posted a GUI instead of the CLI interface.

In the dialog, select the checkbox for "Download and install the plug-in from an HP authorized server (recommended)"

It threw the usual error about the plugin keys. I said to download and install anyway.

After it downloads the plugin, it demands the root password anyway…. after warning that it should not be run as root. Go figure. I guess they are pushing the use of the GUI tool. I don’t know.

After supplying the root password, hp-plugin declares success, and the printer works.

Try running hp-plugin

Banjo
(_)=='=~
If only the best bird sang, the forest would be a very quiet place.
User avatar
banjo
 
Posts: 338
Joined: May 4th, '11, 03:50
Location: Reading, Massachusetts

Re: Hplip plugin

Postby paulcbrennan2001 » Mar 2nd, '21, 13:56

Many thanks. I will try later and see how I get on.
paulcbrennan2001
 
Posts: 101
Joined: May 23rd, '12, 18:42

Re: Hplip plugin

Postby banjo » Mar 2nd, '21, 16:43

Here is the GUI dialog box that hp-plugin posted when I ran it as a regular user.

Hp-pluginDialog.png
Hp Plugin GUI Dialog
Hp-pluginDialog.png (43.58 KiB) Viewed 835 times
If only the best bird sang, the forest would be a very quiet place.
User avatar
banjo
 
Posts: 338
Joined: May 4th, '11, 03:50
Location: Reading, Massachusetts

Re: Hplip plugin

Postby paulcbrennan2001 » Mar 3rd, '21, 00:09

No chance given to carry on with installation as it just exited. Don't know where to download the plugin from the websit.
paulcbrennan2001
 
Posts: 101
Joined: May 23rd, '12, 18:42

Re: Hplip plugin

Postby banjo » Mar 3rd, '21, 00:48

Did you install the printer from the MCC? I have had issues with that in the past when the printer required the plugin. The MCC would install the printer, but then the printer would not work. I had to install the printer from the command line using hp-setup. In past version of the OS that would automatically download and install the plugin, but it didn't do that on Mageia 8, so I ran hp-plugin to install the plugin.

You could try uninstalling the printer and then re-installing it from the command line using hp-setup. Here is how I have done it.

    Make sure the internet is live.
    Make sure the printer is on, connected to the wifi and not asleep.
    Connectivity can be confirmed and printer awakened by pinging it.
    Log in as root
    # hp-setup -i 192.168.1.252 – must give the IP of the printer or the printer will not be found
    Answer all the questions. The defaults work OK. Go ahead and give it a location.

The -i switch causes hp-setup to run in “interactive” mode, which means purely text based. If run as root using the -i switch, it might work.

Then, if hp-setup didn't install the plugin try hp-plugin again.

Don't know where to download the plugin from the websit.


I have no idea how to download the plugin from the website. I have always installed it using the hp tools, which download the plugin and install it.
If only the best bird sang, the forest would be a very quiet place.
User avatar
banjo
 
Posts: 338
Joined: May 4th, '11, 03:50
Location: Reading, Massachusetts

Re: Hplip plugin

Postby paulcbrennan2001 » Mar 4th, '21, 22:13

Tried everything you suggested, still no luck.
paulcbrennan2001
 
Posts: 101
Joined: May 23rd, '12, 18:42

Re: Hplip plugin

Postby banjo » Mar 4th, '21, 23:18

Exactly where is it failing? Crashing? Seems to install but then doesn't work? Which program doesn't work?

What are the error messages?
If only the best bird sang, the forest would be a very quiet place.
User avatar
banjo
 
Posts: 338
Joined: May 4th, '11, 03:50
Location: Reading, Massachusetts

Re: Hplip plugin

Postby paulcbrennan2001 » Mar 5th, '21, 22:05

I have an hp printer/scanner. It prints fine but scanning needs the plugin. Worked fine on Mageia 7.1 but not on 8. When I attempt using GUI or konsole, checksum error, can't continue with installation, won't let me.

Thanks.
paulcbrennan2001
 
Posts: 101
Joined: May 23rd, '12, 18:42

Re: Hplip plugin

Postby doktor5000 » Mar 6th, '21, 00:06

Please run either hp-setup or hp-plugin in debug mode from a terminal as root, go through the normal installation process, and post the whole output here. So either
Code: Select all
hp-setup -i -g

or
Code: Select all
hp-plugin -i -g


FWIW, the plugin can also be downloaded directly from https://developers.hp.com/hp-linux-imag ... ng/plugins or https://www.openprinting.org/download/p ... P/plugins/
https://developers.hp.com/hp-linux-imag ... lugin.html has information which driver requires what min. plugin version.
Which is exactly what hp-plugin is intented to do automatically.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16728
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: Hplip plugin

Postby paulcbrennan2001 » Mar 6th, '21, 03:50

error: /home/paul/.hplip/hplip-3.20.11-plugin.run file does not match its checksum. File may have been corrupted or altered

The output was to big to copy but the above line is the result hp-plugin -i -g.

I hope this helps.

Thanks
paulcbrennan2001
 
Posts: 101
Joined: May 23rd, '12, 18:42

Re: Hplip plugin

Postby sturmvogel » Mar 6th, '21, 10:26

sturmvogel
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Jul 30th, '12, 00:39

Re: Hplip plugin

Postby doktor5000 » Mar 6th, '21, 12:18

FWIW, you should be able to manually download and install https://developers.hp.com/sites/default ... plugin.run
After that is install, you can run hp-setup -i
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16728
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: Hplip plugin

Postby paulcbrennan2001 » Mar 6th, '21, 13:11

Hi Doctor5000,
It seems to be a script. How would you download it and where would you put it?
Thanks.
paulcbrennan2001
 
Posts: 101
Joined: May 23rd, '12, 18:42

Re: Hplip plugin

Postby doktor5000 » Mar 6th, '21, 16:06

You can download it via your brower or in terminal with wget or curl or whatever you prefer. It does not matter where you put it, you just need to install it via hp-plugin afterwards.

Code: Select all
cd ~/Downloads
wget https://developers.hp.com/sites/default/files/hplip-3.20.11-plugin.run
hp-plugin -i -p .


You can also install it manually:
Code: Select all
chmod +x hplip-3.20.11-plugin.run
./hplip-3.20.11-plugin.run
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16728
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: [SOLVED] Hplip plugin

Postby paulcbrennan2001 » Mar 6th, '21, 19:36

It worked!!!
Many thanks
paulcbrennan2001
 
Posts: 101
Joined: May 23rd, '12, 18:42

Re: Hplip plugin

Postby isadora » Mar 6th, '21, 20:45

Please, don't forget to mark the topic [SOLVED].
You can do so, by editing the subject/title in the first message in this topic.
Write [SOLVED] to the left of subject/title, thanks ahead. ;)a
..........bird from paradise..........

Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.
—Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
User avatar
isadora
 
Posts: 2681
Joined: Mar 25th, '11, 16:03
Location: Amsterdam, the Netherlands


Return to Printers and Scanners

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron