[SOLVED] Invalid argument opening scanner

[SOLVED] Invalid argument opening scanner

Postby aguador » Aug 6th, '20, 21:35

I know this is one of the most common errors that xsane kicks out, but I have long had a working network scanner and have covered about all the steps:

    Double checked dll.conf
    ran scanimage -L (scanner found)
    plugged in a USB cable, scanner found via USB as well
    ran diagnostics for scanner (pings OK)
    found an updated driver and installed it, successfully re-ran tests
Nothing. I cannot scan from either Cauldron (where I am running most tests) or Mageia 7 machines (both up to date). If I try to use the network, xsane gives the error message from the device selection screen. If I plug a USB cable into my Cauldron machine, Xsane starts but generates the error when I try to scan or preview.

The machine in question is a Brother DCP-7055W, probably 7-8 years old.

Code: Select all
sudo brsaneconfig4 -d BigBroEscaner
-----------------------------
cat /etc/fstab
# Entry for /dev/sda9 :
UUID=597b3061-3903-4406-8108-d5fbf4ae4b9b / ext4 noatime,acl 1 1
# Entry for /dev/sda5 :
UUID=3b6e3987-a27d-4ddc-9d1b-3234a9b2a1d5 /boot ext4 noatime,acl 1 2
# Entry for /dev/sda6 :
UUID=2604686b-05cf-432a-ae3e-89e58ada8f25 /home ext4 noatime,acl 1 2
# Entry for /dev/sda8 :
UUID=01CEB56D1785CAF0 /media/win_d ntfs-3g defaults,nofail,umask=000 0 0
# Entry for /dev/sda2 :
UUID=D85627095626E7C8 /media/win_e ntfs-3g defaults,nofail,umask=000 0 0
none /proc proc defaults 0 0
# Entry for /dev/sda7 :
UUID=16816a37-51f9-459b-988a-0bab4ba47b76 swap swap defaults 0 0
-----------------------------
sane-find-scanner

  # sane-find-scanner will now attempt to detect your scanner. If the
  # result is different from what you expected, first make sure your
  # scanner is powered up and properly connected to your computer.

  # No SCSI scanners found. If you expected something different, make sure that
  # you have loaded a kernel SCSI driver for your SCSI adapter.
  # Also you need support for SCSI Generic (sg) in your operating system.
  # If using Linux, try "modprobe sg".

  # No USB scanners found. If you expected something different, make sure that
  # you have loaded a kernel driver for your USB host controller and have setup
  # the USB system correctly. See man sane-usb for details.

  # Not checking for parallel port scanners.

  # Most Scanners connected to the parallel port or other proprietary ports
  # can't be detected by this program.
-----------------------------
ls -R -all /proc/bus/usb
ls: no se puede acceder a '/proc/bus/usb': No existe el fichero o el directorio
-----------------------------
cat /proc/bus/usb/devices
cat: /proc/bus/usb/devices: No existe el fichero o el directorio
-----------------------------
scanimage -L
device `v4l:/dev/video0' is a Noname ASUS USB2.0 WebCam: ASUS USB2.0 virtual device
device `brother4:net1;dev0' is a Brother BigBroEscaner DCP-7055W
-----------------------------
-----------------------------
ping
test BigBroEscaner
ping 192.168.1.130 -w 10

PING 192.168.1.130 (192.168.1.130) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 192.168.1.130: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=2.35 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.130: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=8.19 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.130: icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=1.38 ms
^C
--- 192.168.1.130 ping statistics ---
3 packets transmitted, 3 received, 0% packet loss, time 12ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 1.375/3.970/8.188/3.009 ms
Last edited by aguador on Aug 7th, '20, 22:53, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
aguador
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Sep 22nd, '13, 12:27
Location: Mendexa, Spain

Re: Invalid argument opening scanner

Postby doktor5000 » Aug 6th, '20, 23:10

Dumb question, as far as I remember, when setting up the scanner you need to run brscan-skey once.
What does it list currently ? https://support.brother.com/g/b/faqend. ... 100611_000

You may also need to blacklist the camera ( v4l:/dev/video0 ) for sane.
See the last line in https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/SANE#Slow_startup ...
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16218
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: Invalid argument opening scanner

Postby aguador » Aug 7th, '20, 02:03

Thanks for the quick reply, doktor5000.

There are no dumb questions in this, but the fact is I have never installed the brscan-skey utility. It allows scanning to be started from the printer-scanner rather than the computer. As the machines are typically close, I have never felt the need for it and it has never impeded scanning.

Likewise, I should have blacklisted the camera for convenience, but it is just that and does not explain why I can no longer scan.
User avatar
aguador
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Sep 22nd, '13, 12:27
Location: Mendexa, Spain

Re: Invalid argument opening scanner

Postby doktor5000 » Aug 7th, '20, 17:12

Well, I just remembered vaguely what I needed to do when setting up the scanner intially.
aguador wrote:why I can no longer scan.

No longer means it worked at some point - what did you change since then ?
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16218
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: Invalid argument opening scanner

Postby aguador » Aug 7th, '20, 22:24

The only change I have made is SSID and password -- done on router, printer, computers and mobiles. Other than that the only changes have been a series of normal software updates.

However, it seems that I have disturbed the network ecosystem greatly as network printing is no longer responding either, nor am I able to get a new machine set up.

As shown, pinging works, the printer shows it is connected, cups detects the printer, drivers are correct, yet no printing or scanning.
User avatar
aguador
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Sep 22nd, '13, 12:27
Location: Mendexa, Spain

Re: Invalid argument opening scanner

Postby aguador » Aug 7th, '20, 22:52

Problem has solved itself, more or less. After entering the router to have a look at settings, changing nothing (sent a few pings to the printer-scanner), something managed to reset . . . or some sort of magic. Scanning and printing is now back from multiple machines.
User avatar
aguador
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Sep 22nd, '13, 12:27
Location: Mendexa, Spain


Return to Printers and Scanners

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest