[solved] Adaptec AHA-2930CU SCSI doesn't work w/Epson GT-10k

[solved] Adaptec AHA-2930CU SCSI doesn't work w/Epson GT-10k

Postby GNUguy » Oct 2nd, '18, 02:48

Running latest Mageia distro on a Dell StudioXPS. Had been using the Adaptec AHA-2930CU card (1997 rev) with the Epson SCSI scanner for several years. No problems.

Recently purchased another Adaptec AHA-2930CU SCSI card (1999 rev for Mac) to use with a Lenovo computer and large format UMAX scanner. Lenovo computer is running latest Antergos distro. The 1999 rev card would not work with the UMAX scanner. With the scanner attached, the card would fail and go off-line.

Without the UMAX scanner attached, the card would load.

To compare, I swapped the two cards; ie, 1997 rev card into the Lenovo Antergos computer and the 1999 rev card into the Dell Mageia. Neither card worked. Same dmesg report from each (Card times out. See below).

When I returned the 1997 rev card to the Dell Mageia computer, it no longer works. Now the Adaptec card times out during boot.

dmesg clip from Dell Mageia computer

Code: Select all
$ dmesg | grep scsi
[    0.467939] scsi host0: ahci
[    0.468483] scsi host1: ahci
[    0.468826] scsi host2: ahci
[    0.469266] scsi host3: ahci
[    0.469708] scsi host4: ahci
[    0.470142] scsi host5: ahci
[    0.786524] scsi 0:0:0:0: Direct-Access     ATA      ST3750528AS      CC45 PQ: 0 ANSI: 5
[   17.375120] scsi host6: Adaptec AIC7XXX EISA/VLB/PCI SCSI HBA DRIVER, Rev 7.0
[   17.904734] scsi6:
[   38.890044] scsi 6:0:2:0: tag#0 Attempting to queue an ABORT message
[   38.890065] scsi6: At time of recovery, card was not paused
                     scsi6: Dumping Card State while idle, at SEQADDR 0x8
[   38.890221] (scsi6:A:2:0):
[   38.894326] scsi6:
[   44.004989] scsi 6:0:2:0: tag#0 Attempting to queue a TARGET RESET message
[   54.239996] scsi 6:0:2:0: tag#0 Attempting to queue an ABORT message
[   54.502017] scsi 6:0:2:0: tag#0 Command already completed
[   54.502031] scsi 6:0:2:0: Device offlined - not ready after error recovery
[   56.820108] scsi host7: usb-storage 2-1.2:1.0
[   57.823751] scsi 7:0:0:0: Direct-Access     Generic- SD/MMC           1.00 PQ: 0 ANSI: 0
[   57.825043] scsi 7:0:0:1: Direct-Access     Generic- Compact Flash    1.01 PQ: 0 ANSI: 0
[   57.827052] scsi 7:0:0:2: Direct-Access     Generic- SM/xD-Picture    1.02 PQ: 0 ANSI: 0
[   57.832897] scsi 7:0:0:3: Direct-Access     Generic- MS/MS-Pro        1.03 PQ: 0 ANSI: 0


I had not changed any SCSISelect settings and I believe all permissions are correct.

lsmod shows the aic7xxx module is loaded.

lspci reports the Adaptec card is installed. lsscsi does not.

I've checked logs. Nothing different from dmesg.
Last edited by wintpe on Oct 8th, '18, 23:47, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Placed command-output in between [CODE]-tags for better readability ;)
GNUguy
 
Posts: 12
Joined: May 6th, '12, 00:30

Re: Adaptec AHA-2930CU SCSI doesn't work w/Epson GT-10000

Postby wintpe » Oct 6th, '18, 19:40

hi GNUguy
ill try to help with some suggestions, i have some scsi controllers in some of my hosts.
if the module has loaded , and is not loaded automatically when the cards not in then whats happened is udevd had detected the card and triggered the loading of the module.
so thats good news it means that the scsi card is working as expected.

lsscsi however on its own will only list devices on the bus not the host adapter, for that you need lsscsi -H

heres an example from my file server which does not have a old style parallel scsi
Code: Select all
 lsscsi
[0:2:0:0]    disk    AVAGO    MR9341-4i        4.68  /dev/sda
[3:2:0:0]    disk    AVAGO    MR9341-4i        4.68  /dev/sdb
[4:0:0:0]    disk    HP       DG146BAAJB       HPDA  -       
[4:0:1:0]    disk    HP       DG146BAAJB       HPDA  -       
[4:1:0:0]    disk    LSILOGIC Logical Volume   3000  /dev/sdc

 lsscsi -H
[0]    megaraid_sas 
[1]    pata_serverworks 
[2]    pata_serverworks 
[3]    megaraid_sas 
[4]    mptsas       



so it maybe that cables are the issue here, because the scsi host bus is very temperamental about device termination, and of course host bus addresses.

the cables in my experience are so prone to failure, check the bins as well could be a bent pin, and ive seen that hang the scsi bus.


heres the output of those commands on my centos 6 box with the parallel scsi controller
Code: Select all
 lsscsi
[0:0:0:0]    disk    ATA      WDC WD5000AAKS-0 3B01  /dev/sda
[1:0:0:0]    disk    ATA      WDC WD5000AAKS-0 1C02  /dev/sdb
[4:0:4:0]    tape    HP       Ultrium 1-SCSI   N2CG  /dev/st0
[5:0:1:0]    tape    HP       Ultrium 1-SCSI   N27D  /dev/st1
[5:0:3:0]    tape    HP       Ultrium 1-SCSI   N27D  /dev/st2
lsscsi -H
[0]    ahci         
[1]    ahci         
[2]    ata_piix     
[3]    ata_piix     
[4]    sym53c8xx     
[5]    sym53c8xx     


regards peter
Redhat 6 Certified Engineer (RHCE)
Sometimes my posts will sound short, or snappy, however its realy not my intention to offend, so accept my apologies in advance.
wintpe
 
Posts: 1178
Joined: May 22nd, '11, 17:08
Location: Rayleigh,, Essex , UK

Re: Adaptec AHA-2930CU SCSI doesn't work w/Epson GT-10000

Postby GNUguy » Oct 7th, '18, 02:24

Hi Peter,
I appreciate you taking time to respond. I also appreciate the insight to using lsscsi. I'm embarrassed to admit that I didn't check the man page to learn more about it. Using the H option does reveal the scsi module.

Code: Select all
[0]    ahci         
[1]    ahci         
[2]    ahci         
[3]    ahci         
[4]    ahci         
[5]    ahci         
[6]    aic7xxx       
[7]    usb-storage   


I've read other suggestions about checking for bent pins. I will be checking into that. I haven't changed the termination setting from when it worked before so I would like to think that's as it should be.

If I finally have some success, I'll be sure to leave a "solved" message here.

Thanks again, Peter.

GNUguy
GNUguy
 
Posts: 12
Joined: May 6th, '12, 00:30

[SOLVED] Adaptec AHA-2930CU SCSI doesn't work w/Epson GT-100

Postby GNUguy » Oct 7th, '18, 06:10

Way to go, Peter! Bent freakin' pin! This card has a high-density, 50-pin female connector. Last time I plugged the cable into it, I was lying on the floor in an awkward position and probably twisted the connector as I plugged it in. Fortunately I was able to straighten the pin and I'm back in business.

Thanks again, Peter. Your email provided the push I needed to check the connector.
GNUguy
 
Posts: 12
Joined: May 6th, '12, 00:30

Re: Adaptec AHA-2930CU SCSI doesn't work w/Epson GT-10000

Postby wintpe » Oct 8th, '18, 23:46

yes i suspected as much , been there, done that many a time when scsi was the default disk controller connection, and my tape drive in the above listing uses the 68 way which is even worse than the 50 way.

regards peter
Redhat 6 Certified Engineer (RHCE)
Sometimes my posts will sound short, or snappy, however its realy not my intention to offend, so accept my apologies in advance.
wintpe
 
Posts: 1178
Joined: May 22nd, '11, 17:08
Location: Rayleigh,, Essex , UK


Return to Printers and Scanners

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron