Frequent plasmashell freeze on dual monitor setup

Frequent plasmashell freeze on dual monitor setup

Postby mrigs » Oct 26th, '20, 08:16

Hello All,

I have recently started using a Dual Monitor setup hooking up an LG monitor to my Laptop on the latest Mageia. Ever since then my plasmashell seems to be freezing - the panels become unusable, application menu does not work. Although I can switch through the open windows using alt+tab. Only way to get back to a working state is to do a killall plasmashell and then run plasmashell again (found this workaround while searching forums). I haven't really found a solution to the problem.

Kindly help if you have come across this problem, or know how to resolve it.

This is my video card information -

Identification
Vendor: ‎Intel Corporation
Description: ‎UHD Graphics 620
Media class: ‎VGA compatible controller
Connection
Bus: ‎PCI Express
PCI domain: ‎0
Bus PCI #: ‎0
PCI device #: ‎2
PCI function #: ‎0
PCI revision: ‎0x07
Vendor ID: ‎0x8086
Device ID: ‎0x5917
Sub vendor ID: ‎0x1854
Sub device ID: ‎0x0298
Misc
Module: ‎Card:Intel 810 and later


Thank you
M
mrigs
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Jun 28th, '11, 03:25
Location: California, US

Re: Frequent plasmashell freeze on dual monitor setup

Postby doktor5000 » Oct 26th, '20, 17:45

Hi there, what does latest Mageia mean, is this Mageia 7?

Also, what resolution are your monitors, and how are they connected? HDMI, DisplayPort, ... ?
And when does plasmashell freeze? As soon as you login, every now and then, or only after quite some time when the system has been running a while ?
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16792
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: Frequent plasmashell freeze on dual monitor setup

Postby mrigs » Oct 26th, '20, 18:20

Hello doktor5000, thank you for responding.

My Mageia version -

Code: Select all
$ uname -or
5.7.19-desktop-3.mga7 GNU/Linux


Also, what resolution are your monitors
LG Monitor is 2560x1440 [max is 3840x2160], laptop is 1920x1080

how are they connected? HDMI, DisplayPort, ... ?
I am connecting using HDMI.

And when does plasmashell freeze? As soon as you login, every now and then, or only after quite some time when the system has been running a while ?
It is very random. It does not freeze as soon as I log in. But I can say within 15 minutes of login and regular using (browsing, terminal, GIMP). After that it is unpredictable. But I haven't had a session longer than 30 minutes without freezing.

Please do let me know if any other information is required.

-M
mrigs
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Jun 28th, '11, 03:25
Location: California, US

Re: Frequent plasmashell freeze on dual monitor setup

Postby doktor5000 » Oct 26th, '20, 18:41

mrigs wrote:plasmashell seems to be freezing - the panels become unusable, application menu does not work. Although I can switch through the open windows using alt+tab.

So running applications are not affected and are not frozen, and you can also use Alt+F2 to start krunner ?

Also, do those freezes also happen with older kernels, e.g. kernel-desktop-5.3.7 or prior ?
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16792
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: Frequent plasmashell freeze on dual monitor setup

Postby mrigs » Oct 26th, '20, 18:48

Right, running applications keep running. Only the panels become unusable. Alt+F2 works fine. And I can switch between different apps.

I tried the earlier kernel. And even tried with a fresh plasma profile (by renaming the plasma* folders in ~/.config/, and renaming the kde folders too).

But let me try a few earlier versions of the kernel as well like you suggested, and I will let you know.

-M
mrigs
Mageia on LG Gram 15
mrigs
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Jun 28th, '11, 03:25
Location: California, US

Re: Frequent plasmashell freeze on dual monitor setup

Postby mrigs » Oct 26th, '20, 20:31

Hi doktor5000,

It did fail just now on this earlier version too -

Code: Select all
uname -or
5.1.14-desktop-1.mga7 GNU/Linux
mrigs
Mageia on LG Gram 15
mrigs
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Jun 28th, '11, 03:25
Location: California, US


Return to Video

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron