Can't dual screen with HDMI

Can't dual screen with HDMI

Postby jaggy429 » Nov 8th, '18, 17:51

Hi!

I'm having an issue where if I connect my TV to my laptop, my laptop goes black and the TV is auto set to my primary screen.

Looking at the display settings in Plasma, it seems my laptop is disabled and I can't select it in any way.

If I disconnect the HDMI, my laptop remains black.

It worked fine before I did some updates and restarted before this.

I must stress I'm quite new to linux and have mostly no idea what I'm doing.

However, here is the output of xrandr -q as I saw another user post it on another thread.

Code: Select all
Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 1280 x 720, maximum 32767 x 32767
eDP1 connected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
   1366x768      60.00 +
   1280x720      60.00 
   1152x768      68.35 
   1024x768      98.16    74.81    60.00    60.00 
   1024x576      60.00 
   832x624       74.18 
   960x540       60.00 
   800x600      186.01    94.87    60.32    56.25 
   768x576       99.99    79.37 
   864x486       60.00 
   640x480      116.65    59.94 
   720x405       60.00 
   680x384       60.00 
   640x360       60.00 
DP1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI1 connected primary 1280x720+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 0mm x 0mm
   1280x720      50.00 +  60.00*   59.94 
   1920x1080     60.00    50.00    59.94    24.00    23.98 
   1920x1080i    60.00    50.00    59.94 
   720x576       50.00 
   720x576i      50.00 
   720x480       60.00    59.94 
   720x480i      60.00    59.94 
   640x480       60.00    59.94 
VGA1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
VIRTUAL1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)


Cheers!
jaggy429
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Nov 8th, '18, 17:42

Re: Can't dual screen with HDMI

Postby doktor5000 » Nov 8th, '18, 20:15

xrandr output looks fine, both the ldaptop display and the HDMI TV are listed as connected with the TV being the primary monitor.

What laptop make/model and graphics chips are you using currently, and what driver?
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 14527
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: Can't dual screen with HDMI

Postby jaggy429 » Nov 10th, '18, 04:50

I have an Acer Aspire E1-470G.

According to the Control Center, my grahpical server is Intel 810 or later. I don't know how to check specifically. Looking at the options, I noticed Enable Duplicate Display is unchecked but when I try and check it, it unchecks its self on close or reboot.
jaggy429
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Nov 8th, '18, 17:42

Re: Can't dual screen with HDMI

Postby doktor5000 » Nov 10th, '18, 16:35

Can you please post the output of
Code: Select all
lspcidrake -v
grep -i driver /var/log/Xorg.0.log
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 14527
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany


Return to Video

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest