LXQt feedback & collection thread

This forum is dedicated to testing early releases and cauldron : Howtos, tips, tricks and user global feedback and thoughts...

Helpful tip :
For bugs tracking we use : https://bugs.mageia.org = The Mageia Bug Tracker
In this bug tracker you'll find already reported bugs and you'll be able to report those you have found....

Re: Should the LXQT desktop be included in Mageia?

Postby saptech » Mar 10th, '15, 07:07

Can the option, "Switch User" be included in the Leave menu? Instead of logging out, the choice to switch to another user's profile (log in). Just a thought.
Each One Teach One
--------------------------------
Mageia 7 & Debian 10
HP Compaq Elite 8300 | Intel Core i5 | 8gb | 120gb SSD
--------------------------
Mageia 7 & Debian 10
Dell Optiplex 760 | Quad Core | 4gb | 250gb HDD
User avatar
saptech
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Apr 5th, '11, 08:36
Location: STL

Re: Re: Should the LXQT desktop be included in Mageia?

Postby doktor5000 » Mar 10th, '15, 21:35

You would have to ask about that upstream or provide a patch so that the functionality provided by the lxqt-leave binary is enhanced.
Something similar was already requested, maybe it will come with 1.0: https://github.com/lxde/lxqt/issues/380
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16072
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: Re: Should the LXQT desktop be included in Mageia?

Postby dglent » Apr 29th, '15, 06:49

dglent wrote:For the menus previously, i think that i have a problem with my computer.
I find many times this in the syslog:
Jan 21 19:37:02 localhost kernel: [ 1251.102075] menu-cached[6114]: segfault at 1 ip 00007fd864d54b37 sp 00007fff04033118 error 4 in libglib-2.0.so.0.4200.1[7fd864d1e000+10b000]

and since yesterday i have a problem when i log in , if i open the terminal (any) it crashes and brings me again to kdm. I loggin again and it is ok, but now i cannot open the main menu. I click on and nothing happens.
Also, i have these errors:
Jan 21 19:59:52 localhost kernel: [ 215.784752] lxqt-session[4795]: segfault at 0 ip 00007f74b6f9a533 sp 00007fff04ce79b8 error 4 in libQt5Core.so.5.4.0[7f74b6e94000+4af000]
Jan 21 19:59:52 localhost kernel: [ 215.790613] lxqt-notificati[4971]: segfault at 69 ip 00007fe266a7355f sp 00007ffffbdf5dd8 error 4 in libQt5Core.so.5.4.0[7fe26696d000+4af000]

it smells like a hardware problem but i am not sure...


Before buy a new motherboard i will wait qt 5.4.1:
https://github.com/lxde/lxqt/issues/499
User avatar
dglent
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Mar 30th, '11, 07:04
Location: Paris region, France

Re: Re: Should the LXQT desktop be included in Mageia?

Postby dglent » Jun 6th, '15, 14:16

I am ok with 79€, i changed the HDD (TOSHIBA DT01ACA1)
Now everything works fine (i have the menu, the applications don't crash) even if i see errors as above in dmesg :shock:

A question: i noticed that after installing the task-lxqt DE i didn't have the countries flag for the keyboard layout in the system tray.
So i installed the qxkb in addition, or is something else that i should use with lxqt ?
If not, we could in the future provide also the qxkb ?
Last edited by doktor5000 on Jun 9th, '15, 01:53, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: removed fullquote
User avatar
dglent
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Mar 30th, '11, 07:04
Location: Paris region, France

Re: Re: Should the LXQT desktop be included in Mageia?

Postby dglent » Jun 10th, '15, 12:32

Ok, i don't have anymore any of the above messages. It was just the first day after the hdd replacement.
--
Do you have any problem with the default browser ?
I have defined the qupzilla as default and some applications (quiterss, trojita) open always the firefox.
I will investigate it better...
User avatar
dglent
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Mar 30th, '11, 07:04
Location: Paris region, France

Re: Re: Should the LXQT desktop be included in Mageia?

Postby doktor5000 » Jun 10th, '15, 13:21

You can have a look at https://wiki.mageia.org/en/User:Doktor5000#to_check and https://wiki.mageia.org/en/User:Doktor5 ... me_handler to verify if any setting is not correctly poiting to qupzilla.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16072
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: Re: Should the LXQT desktop be included in Mageia?

Postby dglent » Jun 11th, '15, 05:34

doktor5000 wrote:You can have a look at https://wiki.mageia.org/en/User:Doktor5000#to_check and https://wiki.mageia.org/en/User:Doktor5 ... me_handler to verify if any setting is not correctly poiting to qupzilla.


It is much better now, thanks !
User avatar
dglent
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Mar 30th, '11, 07:04
Location: Paris region, France

Re: Re: Should the LXQT desktop be included in Mageia?

Postby doktor5000 » Jun 11th, '15, 11:30

Only much better or fixed?

Out of curiosity, which configuration did not point to qupzilla? x-scheme-handler/http(s) ?
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16072
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: Re: Should the LXQT desktop be included in Mageia?

Postby dglent » Jun 11th, '15, 11:41

Fixed

firstly i tried xdg-mime default qupzilla.desktop x-text/html
Then everything was ok except the links open from trojita and quiterss
Then i tried with the x-scheme-html and after reboot it worked for these two applications too
I run the above command as user and as root ...
User avatar
dglent
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Mar 30th, '11, 07:04
Location: Paris region, France

Re: Re: Should the LXQT desktop be included in Mageia?

Postby doktor5000 » Jun 11th, '15, 11:51

It's only required as user :)
Please feel free to read through https://bugs.mageia.org/show_bug.cgi?id=2051 and provide feedback there, but only for fresh installations.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16072
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: Re: Should the LXQT desktop be included in Mageia?

Postby ozky » Jul 5th, '15, 01:10

I try to run it with kde but it sucks very much. Then i try to use xcompmgr but it have lot of problem with effects and find out from google no distros use it,almost every distros have moved to forked version compton what have fixed all xcompmgr problems so we should move to it soon too.
Image
Just leave me alone i know what i'm drinking.
User avatar
ozky
 
Posts: 569
Joined: Jul 2nd, '11, 08:48
Location: Ulvila Finland

Re: Should the LXQT desktop be included in Mageia?

Postby ozky » Jul 5th, '15, 09:29

I know i cross post this but couldn't delete this message.
Last edited by ozky on Jul 6th, '15, 11:23, edited 2 times in total.
Image
Just leave me alone i know what i'm drinking.
User avatar
ozky
 
Posts: 569
Joined: Jul 2nd, '11, 08:48
Location: Ulvila Finland

Re: Re: Should the LXQT desktop be included in Mageia?

Postby doktor5000 » Jul 6th, '15, 10:53

Please refrain from crossposting, you already asked here: viewtopic.php?f=8&t=9991
And again, that's not an lxqt issue.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16072
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: Re: Should the LXQT desktop be included in Mageia?

Postby ozky » Jul 6th, '15, 14:56

I found this xcompmgr problem what cause this kind of problem what compton is fixed it's only happend with openbox not with kwin 5 or 4.
http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=114490
http://postimg.org/image/exhpxzzoz/
Compton is lxqt default composite manager so it would be nice to get it.
Image
Just leave me alone i know what i'm drinking.
User avatar
ozky
 
Posts: 569
Joined: Jul 2nd, '11, 08:48
Location: Ulvila Finland

Re: Re: Should the LXQT desktop be included in Mageia?

Postby doktor5000 » Jul 7th, '15, 08:12

ozky wrote:Compton is lxqt default composite manager so it would be nice to get it.

Nope, sorry to disappoint yout.
Soon there will be wayland, and I won't add another compositor in between just for cauldron, you can easily compile that yourself.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16072
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: Should the LXQT desktop be included in Mageia?

Postby ozky » Jul 7th, '15, 09:19

I mean they suggest to use it as default,they will change to kwin as default when they change to wayland.
Here is info about that change.
https://github.com/lxde/lxqt/issues/645
Image
Just leave me alone i know what i'm drinking.
User avatar
ozky
 
Posts: 569
Joined: Jul 2nd, '11, 08:48
Location: Ulvila Finland

Re: Re: Should the LXQT desktop be included in Mageia?

Postby doktor5000 » Jul 7th, '15, 09:27

I've already replied for compton.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16072
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: LXQt feedback & collection thread

Postby ozky » Jul 20th, '15, 12:49

There is no file search in lxqt could we add this qtfind,it's manjaro linux app to search files from pcmanfm-qt as there is no official tools yet.
https://forum.manjaro.org/index.php?topic=16371.0
Image
Just leave me alone i know what i'm drinking.
User avatar
ozky
 
Posts: 569
Joined: Jul 2nd, '11, 08:48
Location: Ulvila Finland

Re: LXQt feedback & collection thread

Postby ozky » Jul 23rd, '15, 15:19

Lxqt one of dev have ported/forked qps to qt5 would be nice to have qt5 based system monitor.
https://github.com/qtdesktop/qps
Image
Just leave me alone i know what i'm drinking.
User avatar
ozky
 
Posts: 569
Joined: Jul 2nd, '11, 08:48
Location: Ulvila Finland

Re: LXQt feedback & collection thread

Postby doktor5000 » Jul 25th, '15, 17:43

Already on my todo list since quite some time. https://wiki.mageia.org/en/User:Doktor5000#TODO
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16072
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: LXQt feedback & collection thread

Postby ozky » Jul 25th, '15, 22:18

My bad there is too much info in one page so i didn't notice when i read your page.
Image
Just leave me alone i know what i'm drinking.
User avatar
ozky
 
Posts: 569
Joined: Jul 2nd, '11, 08:48
Location: Ulvila Finland

Re: LXQt feedback & collection thread

Postby ozky » Jul 28th, '15, 10:36

I found bug using kdesu inside lxqt session it edits root access home folder settings files i added screenshot to proof that,i have to use it kdesu out from .

Edit:i edited post i wan't to get back my comment.:)
Attachments
sceenshot.png
sceenshot.png (102.63 KiB) Viewed 4605 times
Last edited by ozky on Jul 29th, '15, 19:50, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Just leave me alone i know what i'm drinking.
User avatar
ozky
 
Posts: 569
Joined: Jul 2nd, '11, 08:48
Location: Ulvila Finland

Re: LXQt feedback & collection thread

Postby doktor5000 » Jul 28th, '15, 20:20

ozky wrote:I found bug using kdesu inside lxqt session it edits root access home folder settings files i added screenshot to proof that,i have to use gksu.

Your writing is confusing. What does kdesu edit? But more important, what did you run with kdesu?

And yes, kdebase4-runtime is only recommended, so you do not have to install it. And KDE is much closer to LXQt then GTK.
Other people complain to get rid of GTK things in LXQt, you want to add them.
And FWIW, for kwin4 (contained in kdebase4-workspace ) you would also need to have kdebase4-runtime.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16072
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: LXQt feedback & collection thread

Postby ozky » Jul 29th, '15, 05:56

Edit empty post take this comment back too.:)
Last edited by ozky on Jul 29th, '15, 19:51, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Just leave me alone i know what i'm drinking.
User avatar
ozky
 
Posts: 569
Joined: Jul 2nd, '11, 08:48
Location: Ulvila Finland

Re: LXQt feedback & collection thread

Postby ozky » Jul 29th, '15, 08:38

Just going to test lxqt install with kde without gtk gui stuff installed.
Image
Just leave me alone i know what i'm drinking.
User avatar
ozky
 
Posts: 569
Joined: Jul 2nd, '11, 08:48
Location: Ulvila Finland

PreviousNext

Return to Testing : Alpha, Beta, RC and Cauldron

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest