SOLVED: Resize problem for VBox client

This forum is dedicated to testing early releases and cauldron : Howtos, tips, tricks and user global feedback and thoughts...

Helpful tip :
For bugs tracking we use : https://bugs.mageia.org = The Mageia Bug Tracker
In this bug tracker you'll find already reported bugs and you'll be able to report those you have found....

SOLVED: Resize problem for VBox client

Postby WetGeek » Jun 13th, '19, 22:30

I'm new to Mageia, but not to Linux. I always install betas and RCs in a VirtualBox VM, and did so with RC1.

When I tried to install the VB guest additions for Linux, I got a message saying "Failed to register resizing support, rc=VERR_INVALID_FUNCTION".
Is this because I'm attempting to resize an RC, or should this be working by now?

It's hard to work with the original size VM ... I REALLY want to use it full-screen.

Thanks,
Jerry
Last edited by WetGeek on Jun 15th, '19, 00:44, edited 1 time in total.
WetGeek

Re: Resize problem for VBox client

Postby doktor5000 » Jun 13th, '19, 23:18

How in particular did you try to install the guest additions? Because usually the packages for guest additions are already installed.
Also, what installation media are you using and what about the virtualbox host, some more details on that would be appreciated (virtualbox version, OS)
Can you also check whether xrandr is available in your RC1 installation ?
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
doktor5000

Postby WetGeek » Jun 13th, '19, 23:36

VBox version is: Version 6.0.8 r130520 (Qt5.6.2), running on fully updated Windows 10 Pro.
I installed it by loading the VBox guest additions ISO into the VM's CD drive, then started an elevated terminal and cd'd to the device in /run/media/my login name.

There, I commanded
Code: Select all
./VBoxLinuxAddition.run