visual studio code not available in any repo?

This forum is dedicated to basic help and support :

Ask here your questions about basic installation and usage of Mageia. For example you may post here all your questions about getting Mageia isos and installing it, configuring your printer, using your word processor etc.

Try to ask your questions in the right sub-forum with as much details as you can gather. the more precise the question will be, the more likely you are to get a useful answer

visual studio code not available in any repo?

Postby setlec » Nov 16th, '20, 14:37

Hello there,

how are you doing ? So i've installed mageia after a long while and after installing mageia and adding all the repos (tainted, backport and so on) and i wanted to install 2 things docker and visual studio code. But i can't find visual studio code in the repos and I haven't found a tutorial to install from rpm made by MS on mageia.

Any suggestion or tutorials?

Thank you
setlec
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Apr 12th, '11, 06:10

Re: visual studio code not available in any repo?

Postby setlec » Nov 16th, '20, 14:45

I've found an installer script that should help https://github.com/fusion809/vscode-installer , I'm trying it now so I will let you guys know of it later.
setlec
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Apr 12th, '11, 06:10

Re: visual studio code not available in any repo?

Postby doktor5000 » Nov 17th, '20, 02:49

Have you tried to install via the upstream repositories? https://code.visualstudio.com/docs/setu ... tributions
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16131
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: visual studio code not available in any repo?

Postby forlesen » Nov 20th, '20, 02:18

I'm running Mageia 7, and have Visual Studio Code installed (from the repos I believe).

Package name: code
Version: 1.45.0
Release: 1588868440.el7
Arch: x86_64

What might be confusing and making it hard to find, is that one would expect the package to be named vscode or visual studio or similar.
forlesen
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Nov 20th, '20, 02:11

Re: visual studio code not available in any repo?

Postby doktor5000 » Nov 20th, '20, 18:12

Check the distsuffix (el7) - this is not a package from Mageia repos, it's directly from Microsoft, the upstream repos I've linked to above.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16131
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: visual studio code not available in any repo?

Postby forlesen » Nov 23rd, '20, 23:15

doktor5000 you are quite correct. My mistake.

Installing on a fresh install of Mageia 7, it seems to be quite straightforward:
1. Go to https://code.visualstudio.com/
2. Select Download (top right)
3. Click on the 64 bit RPM, download it. The current version is code-1.51.1-1605051791.el7.x86_64.rpm
4. Install it. You'll need root privileges, e.g.
sudo rpm -i code-1.51.1-1605051791.el7.x86_64.rpm
Installs it under development tools, development environments

Being a manual install, Visual Studio will not auto-update.

5. For subsequent updates, you'll download the latest rpm
sudo rpm -U <rpm for update>

As far as my notes indicate, this is all I did to get a working copy.
forlesen
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Nov 20th, '20, 02:11

Re: visual studio code not available in any repo?

Postby doktor5000 » Nov 23rd, '20, 23:25

forlesen wrote:Being a manual install, Visual Studio will not auto-update.

Why not simply follow the documentation ? https://code.visualstudio.com/docs/setu ... tributions
Will add this as a regular repo so you will automatically get updates via dnf once they are released.
Cauldron is not for the faint of heart!
Caution: Hot, bubbling magic inside. May explode or cook your kittens!
----
Disclaimer: Beware of allergic reactions in answer to unconstructive complaint-type posts
User avatar
doktor5000
 
Posts: 16131
Joined: Jun 4th, '11, 10:10
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: visual studio code not available in any repo?

Postby forlesen » Nov 24th, '20, 04:02

Adding the repo and getting getting updates is how it should be done.
forlesen
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Nov 20th, '20, 02:11


Return to Basic support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest